Secondary School Chinese
Hi mintleaf, i asked dd to try, She got no 3 & 4 wrong. According to her this look too easy for O lvl. She said in general, the words are not difficult. Tell your son no need be discouraged. Starting its like that and i
feel, in sec, simply read chinese storybooks is not enough, newspaper, chi readers digest, listen to news can help. Jia you!!! Dont worry, i am sure under the good guidance n intensive training of his sch, he sure would improve n do well. -
mathsparks:
hi mathsparks, i dun use the translator. I google for keywords n look at how it is phrased. I feel direct translator doesnt really work well for chinese.daisyt:
Hi mathsparks, I am not expert, so using google to search keywords, here is what I have found. 炸鱼捕捞

Thankyou, daisy. Strange hor, I also use google translator but got fried fish homework instead. :? -
You are pretty strong at languages too, aren't you? Essentially effectively bilingual, which is what the nation wants. I have geared myself totally towards Science so much so that my command of the English language has gone down the drains long ago. I thought my Chinese was still manageable, but it seems I am going through a reality check now.Honestly, you know what's my opinion for this? I think firstly, the author is a creative one and once there is prowess in language, they will coin their own phrases and there is no right or wrong. I say that because I write like that too. I have the tendency to put what I know together to form new phrases, both in English and in Chinese.
xxjustakidxx:
Since you are from PRC, we need to raise the bar a bit. You are allowed only one mistake.Okay lah, HCL standard still higher though :X

daisyt:
你的女儿好棒噢! Given she will sit for the O Level Chinese at the same time as my DS, I thought of using her as a benchmark. Thanks for getting her feedback for me.Hi mintleaf, i asked dd to try, She got no 3 & 4 wrong. According to her this look too easy for O lvl. She said in general, the words are not difficult.
daisyt:
And thanks for this tip and the encouragement. Last night, my plan of action was only going to be reading story books and working through more assessments books. But there is this nagging fear that story books alone won't be sufficient. Looks like I do not have the luxury of time to neglect leveraging news.Tell your son no need be discouraged. Starting its like that and i
feel, in sec, simply read chinese storybooks is not enough, newspaper, chi readers digest, listen to news can help. Jia you!!! Dont worry, i am sure under the good guidance n intensive training of his sch, he sure would improve n do well. -
Hi mintleaf, my dd only slightly above average but she sure improved over the years. Btw she is taking O lvl CL in 2012. Same as yr ds? She is quite stress because recently the principal just told them, his target for them is at least an A2 for O lvl CL. :roll:
Oh yes, i forget to mention, tang poems n song ci also great help but have to learn thru the hard way - memorise .... -
MintLeaf:
You are pretty strong at languages too, aren't you? Essentially effectively bilingual, which is what the nation wants. I have geared myself totally towards Science so much so that my command of the English language has gone down the drains long ago. I thought my Chinese was still manageable, but it seems I am going through a reality check now.
I won't say I am strong in Chinese since I took it as a second language instead of HCL. However, I like the language very much. -
daisyt:
Daisyt, yr dd's Chinese seems strong enough so don't stress over results, it will come naturally.Hi mintleaf, my dd only slightly above average but she sure improved over the years. Btw she is taking O lvl CL in 2012. Same as yr ds? She is quite stress because recently the principal just told them, his target for them is at least an A2 for O lvl CL. :roll:
Oh yes, i forget to mention, tang poems n song ci also great help but have to learn thru the hard way - memorise .... -
Ks2, thanks for your consol.
BTW, us it correct just a C6 pass in O lvl CL would do so that no need take A lvl CL? With C6, wont affect the choice of faculty choosimg, maybe except those related to study of CL in uni? -
daisyt:
No Diasyt, they need to pass O level Higher chinese to skip A level chinese.Ks2, thanks for your consol.
BTW, us it correct just a C6 pass in O lvl CL would do so that no need take A lvl CL? With C6, wont affect the choice of faculty choosimg, maybe except those related to study of CL in uni?
BTW all students in our school are taking HCL, which means a pass is sufficient (provided pass English as well) to skip it in year 5 & 6. -
daisyt:
Your daughter did well for this pasage considering she is just beginning of S2. :rahrah:Hi mintleaf, i asked dd to try, She got no 3 & 4 wrong. According to her this look too easy for O lvl. She said in general, the words are not difficult. Tell your son no need be discouraged. Starting its like that and i
daisyt:
My frank opinion is that this passage is easy compared to last year end's o level. I remembered they have 1 question like 伤心的人没有悲伤的权利,是什么含义? 5 marks.Hi mintleaf, i asked dd to try, She got no 3 & 4 wrong. According to her this look too easy for O lvl. She said in general, the words are not difficult. Tell your son no need be discouraged. Starting its like that and i
feel, in sec, simply read chinese storybooks is not enough, newspaper, chi readers digest, listen to news can help. Jia you!!! Dont worry, i am sure under the good guidance n intensive training of his sch, he sure would improve n do well.
However, last year mid year's paper was much easier and not to worry too much, they can have 2 chances to take O level CL.
My dd2 came back with article on 冰心散文 during her 3rd week of S1 and asked me to explain. That wasn't easy. :faint:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.