Singapore Chinese Girls School (Secondary)
cyberpie:
Then again, the positives of sending her to SCGS far outweigh this inconsequential \"little negatives\".Thanks for your advice and reassurances ... I guess we are all social creatures and to compare (whether upwards or downwards) is natural.
Maybe the fact is I was a \"victim\" of this comparision thing in school myself, although I never bothered my parents as my family comes from a humble background. It does feel lousy when after sch hols your classmates came back with stories of their wonderful overseas vacation and all you did the entire sch hols was work at McDs. In a way, elite schs tend to have more of such well-to-do classmates (and sometimes they are loud and brag about it too!)
I keep this humble attitude all this while with my kids, but sometimes, as I say, it is a battle that I would like to avoid ...
Not many has the chance to go there ... Remember when your girl is in SCGS, she will change \"from a face in the crowd to the one the crowd faces !!\"
I will repeat again that you will be thanking me 4 years from now for listening to me to send her to SCGS.
Remember this post, ok ?
Just a fact. Yesterday, when I asked my Sec 1 daughter about this ostentatious tendency in SCGS, my daughter told me some girls are really show off. She overheard one girl saying, "That’s my father’s ferrari." Another said, "That’s my father’s lambo (I don’t know how to spell lah)" Then they started comparing.
My daughter said, "Wu liao lor, what’s the big deal? I just continue doing what I am doing. Expensive car only ma… Wu liao." She then went on to do what she was doing.
There are always such people in every school, one of her team mates from PLMGS is also like that, always boasting about her iPhone. Those from CGS also have a handful who like to boast, needless to say, there are also MGS girls who like to compare. Don’t mention RGS and NYHS, Dunman etc. So, where should we send our daughters?
School starts at home, I feel.
Reiterate what Vito says, SCGS is as good as it can get for my daughters so I’ll teach them to be sieves and not sponges. Absorb the good and sieve out the bad. -
2ppaamm:
You mean both the Ferrari & Lambo arrived together ?JShe overheard one girl saying, \"That's my father's ferrari.\" Another said, \"That's my father's lambo (I don't know how to spell lah)\" Then they started comparing.
I don't know leh... didn't ask my daughter whether they were in the car park or showing photographs. She didn't care to elaborate and I didn't care enough to ask.
You mean both the Ferrari & Lambo arrived together ?2ppaamm:
JShe overheard one girl saying, \"That's my father's ferrari.\" Another said, \"That's my father's lambo (I don't know how to spell lah)\" Then they started comparing.
Just glad we didn't feel we have a need to compare. Some people like to drive their condominiums around town, some keep it in their big fat bank accounts, while some invest in condos. To each his own. :lol: -
My goodness vito! I just saw the number of posts you have!!!! :faint: What have you been writing and have you slept recently? :shock:
2ppaamm:
Don't faint. dont :faint:, we need your input in this forumMy goodness vito! I just saw the number of posts you have!!!! :faint:
[quote]What have you been writing[/quote]Mostly rubbish, I suppose !!
[quote]... and have you slept recently? :shock:[/quote]Yes, I have ... very sleepy leh ...
Mostly rubbish, I suppose !!
Don't faint. dont :faint:, we need your input in this forum2ppaamm:
My goodness vito! I just saw the number of posts you have!!!! :faint:
[quote]What have you been writing
[quote]... and have you slept recently? :shock:[/quote]Yes, I have ... very sleepy leh ... :D[/quote]All I can say is.... you are amazing! And the rate you are going, looks like you will have many stars soon - like buds and jedamum!
O, do you have a daughter in SCGS? -
I really like SCGS, but didn’t get to go because it’s too far.
The people there are really nice. Compared to MGS (it’s true that they are really rich, and tend to be snobby. A tuition mate in MGS boasted that she had an LV bag, they said "so?" And now she’s not popular).
Most of my friends are from SCGS, they are gentle, ladylike, and intelligent. They also won’t bully you even if you’re fat, like my friends told me. Everyone from there missed their schools, and they do really well at o levels. -
Serafiel:
A tuition mate in MGS boasted that she had an LV bag, they said \"so?\" And now she's not popular.
I like that. It goes to show that young people know how to handle these things. Better yet, tell that MGS girl that it is not good to boast. Every bag works, not just LV bags, so she knows and learns. She will then have friends as well!
Serafiel:
I must be quite blur when I was a student....I really like SCGS, but didn't get to go because it's too far.
The people there are really nice. Compared to MGS (it's true that they are really rich, and tend to be snobby. A tuition mate in MGS boasted that she had an LV bag, they said \"so?\" And now she's not popular).
Most of my friends are from SCGS, they are gentle, ladylike, and intelligent. They also won't bully you even if you're fat, like my friends told me. Everyone from there missed their schools, and they do really well at o levels.
I only got to know about LV after I went over 30s? late bloomer la...
So if anyone had shown me an LV bag, it would have been wasted...cos no :idea: leh..
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.