ST My Points - 6 A1s 4A2s can't get into Hwa Chong

121 Posts 20 Posters 36.4k Views 1 Watching
      VitoRelax

[quote=\"tankee\"]:? wonder why Vito so passionate about this topic :?

It is your fault, you start this thread & seek comments mah ...

But hor, once I start writing cannot stop leh ..

Maybe I ate wrong medicine πŸ˜„

Tell you a secret, ....... πŸ˜„

:!: you better edit this before she somehow finds out. πŸ˜‰[/quote]No need to be scared lah, let her finds out lah ... i think she will be more embarassed than me ... πŸ˜„

MLR

MLR:

Back to topic.

Any idea if theres a reply from HCJC or MOE?

Thanks.

Reply at Page 3 of this thread

Thanks Dom.

James Ang

radiantmum:
          Eh ... folks, what are we saying here? A 6A1s student need to take a road less travelled? It sure sounds like that at one glance :shock: Honestly I did not interpret her messgage as MOE/Hwa Chong owes her kid a place, I am actually apalled too that 6A1s is still considered as NOT GOOD ENOUGH :shock:

6A1s must include the critical L1(EL1 or HMT) and H1(Humanity) plus must deduct 2 points for CCA and 2 points for HMT. In short, perfect scorer! πŸ˜„

6-2-2 = 2 point to get a sure chance since COP is 3 and there are thousands who can get 3 point and not all can get in.

Serafiel

lol, I got 7A1s and 3A2s and barely managed to squeeze into HC. I’m already feeling stressed from being like the "dumbest" in HC.

True, it seems like stellar results.
            But it’s still worse than those who get 6A1s and 3 C6s, just because their L1R5 is still lower than yours. Too bad lah.
            She should have taken CLEP.
            Plus, this year HC only admits around 150 by JAE, then like 30 from appeal?

Serafiel:
              lol, I got 7A1s and 3A2s and barely managed to squeeze into HC. I'm already feeling stressed from being like the \"dumbest\" in HC.

But it's still worse than those who get 6A1s and 3 C6s, just because their L1R5 is still lower than yours. Too bad lah.
              Hey I shared with my dh that you are stressed....and his advice for you is:

\"It's not how you get into HC, it's how you get out...\" So surge forward and don't look back now. πŸ˜‰

Serafiel

Hey I shared with my dh that you are stressed....and his advice for you is:

\"It's not how you get into HC, it's how you get out...\" So surge forward and don't look back now. πŸ˜‰
                hey thanks a lot for your encouragement. I want to get 8As for my Alevels too, but not sure how I will achieve that, especially since only the top in HC seems to get that, lol.

• X Offline
                  xxjustakidxx

Serafiel:
                  lol, I got 7A1s and 3A2s and barely managed to squeeze into HC. I'm already feeling stressed from being like the \"dumbest\" in HC.

But it's still worse than those who get 6A1s and 3 C6s, just because their L1R5 is still lower than yours. Too bad lah.
                  Me too :x although I only in High School section.

• X Offline
                    xxjustakidxx

keroppi:
                    Copied from ST Forum:

'The cut-off point is calculated using the L1R5 scoring system, and not the number of distinctions attained.'

DR HON CHIEW WENG, principal, Hwa Chong Institution: 'I refer to Ms Toh Siew Tin's letter on Saturday, 'O-level disadvantage: Six A1s and four A2s - but failed to win a place in first-choice JC'. We congratulate Ms Toh's daughter on her good performance. The cut-off point is calculated using the L1R5 scoring system, and not the number of distinctions attained. This scoring system takes into account the student's first language (L1) and five relevant subjects (R5), which must include at least one from Mathematics, Science and Humanities. Each school's cut-off point varies from year to year, depending on the number and quality of applicants who apply under the Joint Admission Exercise. This year, Hwa Chong's cut-off point for both the Arts and Science streams is 3. This includes bonus deductions for passing Higher Mother Tongue and outstanding Co-Curricular Activities records. We regret that not everyone who puts Hwa Chong as his first-choice school was posted to us. We wish Ms Toh's daughter all the best.'
                    Three Cheers for Dr Hon (lol)

James Ang

xxjustakidxx:
                      keroppi:

Copied from ST Forum:

'The cut-off point is calculated using the L1R5 scoring system, and not the number of distinctions attained.'

DR HON CHIEW WENG, principal, Hwa Chong Institution: 'I refer to Ms Toh Siew Tin's letter on Saturday, 'O-level disadvantage: Six A1s and four A2s - but failed to win a place in first-choice JC'. We congratulate Ms Toh's daughter on her good performance. The cut-off point is calculated using the L1R5 scoring system, and not the number of distinctions attained. This scoring system takes into account the student's first language (L1) and five relevant subjects (R5), which must include at least one from Mathematics, Science and Humanities. Each school's cut-off point varies from year to year, depending on the number and quality of applicants who apply under the Joint Admission Exercise. This year, Hwa Chong's cut-off point for both the Arts and Science streams is 3. This includes bonus deductions for passing Higher Mother Tongue and outstanding Co-Curricular Activities records. We regret that not everyone who puts Hwa Chong as his first-choice school was posted to us. We wish Ms Toh's daughter all the best.'

The L1R5 is the sole criteria, then it is very important to cover the compulsory L1 and H1 components because these are the weakest links in the L1R5 chain of subject combination.

For risk mitigation, a double science double humanities combination is higher chance of achieving a better L1R5 than a triple science with sole humanities combination. Furthermore, the student should try to take HMT to get a 2-point advantage, and get 2 CCA bonus point and mitigate risk of doing badly (not getting A1) in EL1. This is the stress of doing O levels to get into top 5 JCs.

For those students who want to get into poly though, it is not so stressful, but still they must do well in EL1, E Maths and Science.

skunk

xxjustakidxx:

when I was in The Chinese High School, he was still not a \"Dr\" yet lol. I still prefer the school as it was run in the old days, like a military school. We were not boys, but little men. We marched from building to building, every Saturday, the whole school had to go back to run 4.8km.

We were tough, mind, body and spirit. Students who did not do homework, had to carry their desk and run around the field. Real men were brought up that way.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 11 / 13