Mummy AuntieM: Hi I'm new and I'm AuntieM
HI all
I blur siah, so happening
I'm almost 'pure' bred hakka, with only great-grandmother non-hakka...
I grew up speaking hakka almost daily...
I think hakka women talk got 'thunder' effect, so I avoid getting too excited when talking with my mum in public :oops: .
Unfortunately amidst all my cousins in my generation,I am the only one that speaks the language........
Imagine everytime I attend funeral or ching ming time I will be the only rep thrown to the table of old Hakka clan relatives......
arghhhhh....... -
Hi markfch,
Your question too chiam lah
According to old folks that I yakked with,the hakka wife back in China is the head of the family. She goes out to work and make major decisions. So they are quite 'fierce'. If hubby lazy they have to do more work at home so they are known to be very 'hardworking'. Thus they are considered unglam and unladylike compared to the other ladies..... -
auntieM:
My qn not cheem at all. Hint: Who is the most influential person in the history of Singapore?Hi markfch,
Your question too chiam lah
markfch,
You referring to SM Lee ah⦠-
Ya lor, who else β¦
Welcome!!!

:welcome: :welcome:
auntieM:
Hi auntieM,HI all
I blur siah, so happening
I'm almost 'pure' bred hakka, with only great-grandmother non-hakka...
I grew up speaking hakka almost daily...
I think hakka women talk got 'thunder' effect, so I avoid getting too excited when talking with my mum in public :oops: .
Unfortunately amidst all my cousins in my generation,I am the only one that speaks the language........
Imagine everytime I attend funeral or ching ming time I will be the only rep thrown to the table of old Hakka clan relatives......
arghhhhh.......
I am \"pure\" hakka too.. Currently teaching my kids to speak hakka too,
My brother kids, speak hakka at home, power right?
During CNY, my cousin's daugther who is age 11 y/o, told my kids that she cant understand Mandarin....??? :? just wonder how my aunt to communicate with them (My aunt dont know English)....
Hiya fussyMummy,
Wow, good to hear that there are still families speaking hakka
I am 'tai bu' khek, supposedly the most un-chim one.
My DS always kena corner to speak hakka with us
auntieM:
Alamak, me too...Hiya fussyMummy,
I am 'tai bu' khek
Are you one of my relatives??? :?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.