Comparing Chinese Enrichment (Primary/Preschool)
Hi hquek, I managed to register my gal for SHHK's S&D Sat class... slot in 1/2 term cos' got vacancy... hope it's good... quite tiring to source for enrichment classes
Hi Daddy D,
Yes, someone (you/spouse) need to be HK to be SHHK member. But non-member also can join the S&D classes. Although registration is long over (around Oct time), but they still have vacancies for some classes. Understand that the next term is starting in March. You can always call up the office to enquire about the available timings/fees (this info also available on their webpage http://www.shhkact.com.sg).
Note. Classes only at Toa Payoh (near Lor 1). But I've seen my kids' classmates coming from Sengkang....and twice in the same day also.
Oei? Odd leh, my friend whose kids are in Berries get very good service. Apparently they forgot to attend one lesson due to confusion about CNY holidays....teacher did makeup for them; another time prior they were going on long holiday, teacher also did a special makeup.... Was musing that Berries offer very good make up service.Ljas1370:
They charge 12 lessons per term if I'm not wrong got to check. Those whose kid takes the friday tuition will lose out as this year there are quite a no. of holiday falls on Friday. I still think they should do something about it. After all their fee per lesson doesn't come cheap also as compare with other chinese tutition centre.
yes. the new system is a pain. considering that i now have 2 kids, one lesson on public holiday is like $60 free for the centre.
for berries bukit batok, i think they gave the friday kids 3 make up lessons out of the 5 holidays due to complaints/feedback from parents. -

Hi hquek, I managed to register my gal for SHHK's S&D Sat class... slot in 1/2 term cos' got vacancy... hope it's good... quite tiring to source for enrichment classes

Hi Daddy D, hope it works out for you. Thus far, I'm very happy with my kids' teachers. Some I initially wasn't impressed with at all, but have kinda grown used to them.
Free parking onsite, but if it's peak days/hours, it may be a bit crazy - our classes always on Sunday, so we experienced the peak. -
titank:
Hi titank, I get the public holidays from MOM website, but the ones for 2011 and 2012 we won't know so fast. You will be able to get the ones with fixed dates...but those that are dependent on lunar/whatever calendar, a bit difficult leh, eg date for Deepavali can only be confirmed in the middle of the same year.Hi All,
Any idea to get the public holidays of 2011 & 2012? Now Berries come out this type of pattern where lesson fall on public holiday there is no free makeup.
Still deciding whether to signup with Berries as I had took the trail on last weekend. :!: -
Cool... The S&D K1 level requires parent to sit in during lesson?
Hi Daddy D, hope it works out for you. Thus far, I'm very happy with my kids' teachers. Some I initially wasn't impressed with at all, but have kinda grown used to them.
Free parking onsite, but if it's peak days/hours, it may be a bit crazy - our classes always on Sunday, so we experienced the peak.
So far, my gal's other classes need us to sit in... so tiring....
Only N1 needs to sit in. N2 onwards cannot sit in. DS2 who's N2 this year had difficulty adjusting...he was constantly bawling before class started. But the teachers were very good with picking him up, distracting him etc...end of lesson come out ok; next lesson again got problem. Happy to say that he's passed this phase.
You can opt to go downstairs to wait for her....some powerpoints available (portable dvd players - self provide/laptops), chairs and tables also there.
I'm not sure how popular Sat classes are. But at kindy level, there are 2/3 teachers - one for each aspect. They are constantly changing classrooms.
BTW, I wasn't too impressed with their K1 class cos didn't know what they were teaching. But after some time I feel my kid reads better in chinese, speaks better. At K2 level, they will incorporate hanyu pinyin. Classes very dynamic and DS1 enjoys it. Just let you know in case I unfairly raised your expectations....
Noted... prefer to have 1 parent sit in during 1st lesson so that we can gauge the standard of the lesson.... do they allow that? If not... have to try bluff our way in
Only N1 needs to sit in. N2 onwards cannot sit in. DS2 who's N2 this year had difficulty adjusting...he was constantly bawling before class started. But the teachers were very good with picking him up, distracting him etc...end of lesson come out ok; next lesson again got problem. Happy to say that he's passed this phase.Daddy

You can opt to go downstairs to wait for her....some powerpoints available (portable dvd players - self provide/laptops), chairs and tables also there.
I'm not sure how popular Sat classes are. But at kindy level, there are 2/3 teachers - one for each aspect. They are constantly changing classrooms.
BTW, I wasn't too impressed with their K1 class cos didn't know what they were teaching. But after some time I feel my kid reads better in chinese, speaks better. At K2 level, they will incorporate hanyu pinyin. Classes very dynamic and DS1 enjoys it. Just let you know in case I unfairly raised your expectations....

Noted... prefer to have 1 parent sit in during 1st lesson so that we can gauge the standard of the lesson.... do they allow that? If not... have to try bluff our way in

Nope, door is closed. DS1's classroom use to have a peephole for a couple of weeks (a piece of hardboard over the glass window on the door) but that was closed prior to CNY - the peepholes for all other classrooms also covered up.
I dun mind that way (locked) cos it would be fairly distracting to the kids - cos some buey zi dong parents will open the door to peep. if the door is in your favour (think it's classroom #03-02), the door may be left slightly ajar - but the other rooms (#03-06 and counting back) cannot. Sometimes teachers will lock the doors during class times.
if you are minded, can stand next to the door; usually can hear what's going on.
For S&D, they will have takeaway sheets that kids can read off. One sheet per week. But I see the value add as how they get the kids to move, to recite - it's S&D afterall. -
So far for Tien Hsia, having been with them for so many years, they seem to continue to have lessons even on public holidays, with the exception of CNY. Even CNY, they will break for one whole week and continue from where they stop the following week, so no one misses any lesson.
cafelatte:
Class size is close to 10acforfamily
Your P4 is in the enrichment class then. Not the WOL :
http://www.berriesworld.com/3programmes_primary_oralwriting.php
For enrichment class, typically they'll do oral near end of the term and also include 1 compo per term. It is the same in Tien Hsia's enrichment class.
Yes, Tien Hsia has compo and compre class (call it creative writing class) but no oral component for that class.
May I know the class size ? more than 10 children ?
I called them up yesterday to ask about the WOL, they said that it is only for P5. They have not started for the other levels yet.
Is your child in p5?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.