2016 P1 Registration Exercise for 2017 In-Take

1.9k Posts 1 Posters 447.6k Views 1 Watching
      bubbleblue

By the way, can I seek for advise here? Everyone seems to be flocking to do PV or finding means to get into a "good" school? Is there very big significant difference in education standard between neighbourhood pri school and "famous, good" primary school?

Power Puff

mumto2:

My nephew born in 2010 will register at his dad's former school - NYPS under the alumni phase. Phew...

going forward -
        in future, next time Nanyang primary Phase 2A1 alumni may also face balloting, one day.
        esp. if the figure set aside for combined (Phases 2B + 2C) were to increase one day :
        from current starting figure 40, to a higher number allocated, next time.

With the new ruling -
        all Phase 2A1 alumni from Mainstream schools -
        should not be complacent, anymore.

Because if the number allocated (reserved) goes up to a higher number one day -
        It means more 2A1 will be squeezed out, to make more space
        for (2B + 2C).

That may happen..am getting jittery for my little Tiger even though I'm alumni member...I don't think I can afford or want to take the drastic action of moving 1 km within the school..risky and not practical as elder child's school is not nearby....

bubbleblue:
          By the way, can I seek for advise here? Everyone seems to be flocking to do PV or finding means to get into a \"good\" school?

Is there very big significant difference in education standard between neighbourhood pri school and \"famous, good\" primary school?
          it is not easy to get into a good Secondary school, nowadays.
          our Sg education system is fast paced, a bit stressful.

based on PSLE T-score -
          the child must do very well, in order to get into Top Tier 1 or Tier 2 good, Secondary schools.

if a child fail to receive any DSA Offer before PSLE results are released -
          then the only way to enter good, Secondary schools, is by ranking of PSLE T-score, nation wide.
          All P6 cohort students' PSLE T-score are computed, up to minute decimal points.
          sorted and ranked accordingly (one by one), by computer.
          from the first Top student (nation wide), to the lowest T-score last student.

a)
          So, if can get into \"famous, good\" primary schools that are affliated to good Secondary schools, people tend to flock to them.
          These schools thus become highly sought after.

once a child get in, child can study \"in peace\", for the next 10 years
          (from P1 to GCE O level)

if child able to do very well with high PSLE above 260, child can go to Top Tier Secondary schools.
          else, child can remain back in good, affliated Secondary schools to do O level Track, if can meet discounted Cut off Point (difference can be wide), due to affliation relationship.

example of \"famous, good\" primary schools that're affliated to good Secondary schools include :-

- Catholic High
          - CHIJ St Nicholas
          - SCGS

- Maris Stella

- MGS (Blackmore drive)
          - Paya Lebar MGS
          - ACS Barker

- CHIJ Toa Payoh
          - St Joseph Junior

demand is high, in each school, above.
          every year, under Phase 2C (open to public) :-
          balloting occurred for SC children, within 1 km.

b) another category of good, primary schools that're not affliated to Secondary schools but are still very hot and popular, are SAP schools.

in SAP schools : overall academic rigor is deemed to be high.

example
          Pei Chun (Toa Payoh)
          Poi Ching (Tampines)

Hong Wen (Bendeemer)

CHIJ St Nicholas (Ang Mo Kio)

Red Swastika (Bedok)

Hokkien Huay Kuan affliated schools also included, like -
          Ai Tong
          Chong Fu

Nan Chiau

Kong Hua
          Tao Nan

Buddhist affliated schools also included, like -
          Maha Bodhi
          Mee Toh

c) some GEP schools may not be affliated to any Secondary school.
          Yet they are highly sought after, due to the attraction and lure of the presense of GEP programme
          (from P4 to P6).

example of (non-SAP + GEP) schools :-
          Henry Park
          RGPS
          Rosyth

St Hilda
          ACS Barker

example of (SAP + GEP) schools :-
          Nan Hua
          Nanyang
          Tao Nan

Catholic High

d) some new neighbourhood schools that are getting popular -
          are those helmed by leadership coming from new Principal(s) who were ex Principal(s) before, from good, primary schools in the past.

parents believe that since this new Principal was an ex Principal of some \"famous\" primary school before -
          then this Principal should have the leadership capability to scale this new, Neighbourhood school, to greater height(s) & glory.

example
          Alexandra primary

current Principal and VP of Alexandra primary were ex Principals from -
          CHIJ St Nicholas and Maha Bodhi primary.

as such, in parents' mindset -
          demand for \"famous, good\" primary schools is always high,
          vs. neigbourhood primary schools.

\"good\" schools are often over-subscribed :-
          http://www.edvantage.com.sg/content/pri ... nts-places

bubbleblue

hi phtthp,

Thank you very much for the detailed explanation and details of the classification of primary schools!!! Looks like I have to read to understand our education system more.

• sembgalS Offline
              sembgal

bubbleblue:

By the way, can I seek for advise here? Everyone seems to be flocking to do PV or finding means to get into a \"good\" school?

Is there very big significant difference in education standard between neighbourhood pri school and \"famous, good\" primary school?

it is not easy to get into a good Secondary school, nowadays.
              our Sg education system is fast paced, a bit stressful.

based on PSLE T-score -
              the child must do very well, in order to get into Top Tier 1 or Tier 2 good, Secondary schools.

if a child fail to receive any DSA Offer before PSLE results are released -
              then the only way to enter good, Secondary schools, is by ranking of PSLE T-score, nation wide.
              All P6 cohort students' PSLE T-score are computed, up to minute decimal points.
              sorted and ranked accordingly (one by one), by computer.
              from the first Top student (nation wide), to the lowest T-score last student.

a)
              So, if can get into \"famous, good\" primary schools that are affliated to good Secondary schools, people tend to flock to them.
              These schools thus become highly sought after.

once a child get in, child can study \"in peace\", for the next 10 years
              (from P1 to GCE O level)

if child able to do very well with high PSLE above 260, child can go to Top Tier Secondary schools.
              else, child can remain back in good, affliated Secondary schools to do O level Track, if can meet discounted Cut off Point (difference can be wide), due to affliation relationship.

example of \"famous, good\" primary schools that're affliated to good Secondary schools include :-

- Catholic High
              - CHIJ St Nicholas
              - SCGS

- Maris Stella

- MGS (Blackmore drive)
              - Paya Lebar MGS
              - ACS Barker

- CHIJ Toa Payoh
              - St Joseph Junior

demand is high, in each school, above.
              every year, under Phase 2C (open to public) :-
              balloting occurred for SC children, within 1 km.

b) another category of good, primary schools that're not affliated to Secondary schools but are still very hot and popular, are SAP schools.

in SAP schools : overall academic rigor is deemed to be high.

example
              Pei Chun (Toa Payoh)
              Poi Ching (Tampines)

Hong Wen (Bendeemer)

CHIJ St Nicholas (Ang Mo Kio)

Red Swastika (Bedok)

Hokkien Huay Kuan affliated schools also included, like -
              Ai Tong
              Chong Fu

Nan Chiau

Kong Hua
              Tao Nan

Buddhist affliated schools also included, like -
              Maha Bodhi
              Mee Toh

c) some GEP schools may not be affliated to any Secondary school.
              Yet they are highly sought after, due to the attraction and lure of the presense of GEP programme
              (from P4 to P6).

example of (non-SAP + GEP) schools :-
              Henry Park
              RGPS
              Rosyth

St Hilda
              ACS Barker

example of (SAP + GEP) schools :-
              Nan Hua
              Nanyang
              Tao Nan

Catholic High

d) some new neighbourhood schools that are getting popular -
              are those helmed by leadership coming from new Principal(s) who were ex Principal(s) before, from good, primary schools in the past.

parents believe that since this new Principal was an ex Principal of some \"famous\" primary school before -
              then this Principal should have the leadership capability to scale this new, Neighbourhood school, to greater height(s) & glory.

example
              Alexandra primary

current Principal and VP of Alexandra primary were ex Principals from -
              CHIJ St Nicholas and Maha Bodhi primary.

as such, in parents' mindset -
              demand for \"famous, good\" primary schools is always high,
              vs. neigbourhood primary schools.

\"good\" schools are often over-subscribed :-
              http://www.edvantage.com.sg/content/pri ... nts-places

:goodpost:

butterwaffles

:goodpost: phtthp, very enlightening post there.

Am also in a dilemma, as I do not know if i will regret one day, for not trying my best to get my boy into a 'good' primary school. But 'good' primary schools are not near my place. But if my boy studies in a nearby primary school, i can imagine he would have more time to rest, no need to spend so much time on travelling. Would be so tiring on him if he has to travel to and fro everyday.

Anyone here contemplating a nearby primary school just so your child can sleep more and waste less time on travelling? But I also have not submitted my PV application yet. Dateline is October. It is most likely I won't be picked since I do not have any special skills 😄 Just wondering if there are any like-minded parents here? That if your child studies smart, he or she will flourish. No matter which school he/she attends.

bubbleblue

Hi butterwaffles,

I am in the same dilemma as you!! That’s the reason why I asked that question. I had exchanged heated conversations with my spouse who is old boy of Nan Hua Primary school. As parents, we always want the best for our kid and hope he can do well in future. However, I prefer my boy to be able to rest, sleep and play with a balanced lifestyle when he reaches Primary school level. I had witnessed kids getting up wee hours in the morning to wait for school buses and reached home when the sun set. That is almost more than 12hrs away from home!!! (maybe the kids attend student care which I am not sure).

Secondly, my preference is because I learnt from some of my colleagues & friends whom spent time & efforts for the past 6 years to chauffeur their kids from west to east (cos they are in really "good" primary schools), sent the kids for tuition classes and other enrichment classes during weekends. End up the kids’ PSLE score couldnt even get them into affiliated secondary schools and they had to register neighbourhood sec schools. I can feel that it’s really a big setback for the parents and affected the kid’s confidence level.

Thirdly, I observed that my boy is not the "scholar" type. But a lot of pple told me that my kid is still young so I shouldnt jump to conclusions yet. I believe our kid is about the same age… Do you know of any way to measure/tell if the kid is academically inclined?

I was never from "good" schools before. In fact, I was from what pple believed "the worst & hooligan" secondary school in that area. So I worried that I may not be able to catch up my boy’s work if he needs help although I read that I can hire a tutor in future.

Do your spouse agree tog on your choice to put your kid at neighbourhood schools within walking distance? Please share more with me on your thoughts. I would appreciate feedbacks from other parents too…

butterwaffles

Nan Hua very far from your place? My husband's colleague's wife was from Nan Hua too. She ended up opting for the nearest primary school from her place at Woodlands. Both her boys are now doing well in the neighbourhood school.

My boy will definitely attend studentcare. I'm a FTWM with no other help. Part of the reason why i'm feeling more inclined towards kicking him to the nearest primary school is also because of my younger girl. I also need to fetch her from childcare after work. I don't know how to tear myself into two when my boy is in P1 and she is in K1 especially if he is in a primary school that's too far from our home.

My husband is all for the nearest primary school. The nearer the better. It's me lar, I can't get over all the 'what-ifs'. My husband's view is, if he is good, he will do well. No matter where he goes. If he sucks, he will suck, even if he starts from a 'good' school 😓 Personally i feel the environment is important. If your classmates are the hardworking type, you will be more likely to push yourself too isn't it? If the classmates are the slack types, then the child must be those independent kind and not easily influenced by those lalala types 😄

There are late bloomers. Like my brother and a friend. Didn't do well for PSLE but blossomed during the upper secondary. It's really hard to tell at this stage. I keep telling myself to let him learn and develop at his own pace. I will nudge him on and off and see where he can go from there but i won't 'judge' and 'label' now. That's the worst a parent can do imho. Where to find scholarly 4-year-olds....don't qi4 si3 wo3 can already 😄

• X Offline
                      xlan

speaking from personal experience, my hubby used to go to library very often in his primary school days, language was quite strong at that age, however, when he was in sec sch (apparently was considered "better" sch than his pri sch), due to peers, he was no longer the "diligent" kind. Not those "ah beng" thou… may be "slacker" some may call. As for myself, was also in a normal neighbourhood pri sch and a "ah beng / ah lian" kind of sec sch, but mayb cos most of the students didn’t really care about their studies, i was the top student in both N’ and O’ Level. But eventually got into the wrong course in my poly days and failed most of my subjects. But eventually when now we are all grown up and have our own career, everything’s still doing fine, not the high-flyer kind but at least enough to live a decent life with 1 boy in a 4rm hdb flat in town and a small car to drive around.

so both hubby and i agreed that sometimes is not about the "reputation" of the school, but also the peers, which is really "fate", is almost impossible to predict which school is really good and suitable for the child and will have the "best" peers around them. The most impt factor to us is convenience and the chances of getting into the school. No point get all stressed up if getting into a school is nearly impossible. And we will try to look at the school-based curriculum (those on top of the standard MOE subjects, like PAL, etc), which would make up a more well-rounded curriculum, let our boy have the chance to expose to more non-academic subjects and explore, see which area(s) is more suitable for him, and will just let him develop towards that direction.

In our area, I quite like Alexandra Pri, because I find their PAL is more towards visual-comm and performing arts, as well as their sch-based curriculum have CQ (Cultural intelligence) and Environmental Education, which all add up to a very well rounded education as a whole, at least I feel so. Hopefully primary school will be a joyous experience for our boy and motivate him to move forward and do better as he grows, rather than killing the joy of learning at a young age.

bubbleblue

Hi butterwaffles, Nan Hua is slightly more than 2km from my place.

I totally agree the environment plays an important role and I presume that’s why most parents prefer to put their kids in "good" schools. As phtthp pointed out, nowadays it’s really very tough to go into "good" secondary schools unless exception cases. I am also worried if I insist on my choice for neighbourhood school, will I be depriving my kid to the path of good education and pathway to "good" secondary schools??? I only have 1 son so nonetheless, I want the best for him as every other parent would do for their kid.

You have to really consider carefully ultimately where your elder one gets enrolled into, your younger gal will benefit and get privilege for enrollment. I am also a late bloomers who didnt do well for PSLE but I managed to score during O level qualified enough to go JC.

I guess a lot of people will say this is our own choice and their fate lies in our hands. I am still sticking to my preference to let my boy go neighbourhood school. Hopefully the completion of the new estate will not jeopardise our chances of registering a place with them as time passes and hopefully my spouse can stop opposing me. hehe…

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 6 / 191

KelvinLohK
                        KelvinLoh
                        sharonkhooS
                        sharonkhoo
                        thebottomsupblogT
                        thebottomsupblog