SAHP or working is better?
skunk:
Afterall, a simple question will do: If u only have one hour left to live, would u choose to be in the office, or beside your child?

thats what i told myself to convince myself that nothing is more precious and impt than spending time with dd when she's a child. i can always work when she's older but i can never claim back her childhood once its gone.
once they reach teenage years, u'll be glad they even want to speak to u, let alone join u for dinners or weekends out together.
foreverj:
agree totally!skunk:
Afterall, a simple question will do: If u only have one hour left to live, would u choose to be in the office, or beside your child?

thats what i told myself to convince myself that nothing is more precious and impt than spending time with dd when she's a child. i can always work when she's older but i can never claim back her childhood once its gone.
once they reach teenage years, u'll be glad they even want to speak to u, let alone join u for dinners or weekends out together.
Lock:
agree totally!

i just hope my dd doesn't start asking to excuse herself from going out with me soon.
i know a mum who forced her sec school daughters to sit inside hair salon and wait for her to do hair while they have nothing to do. i tot that was a pure waste of their time right? the mum said its only fair since she also waits for them during their enrichment classes.
foreverj:
On one hand, we should cherish the moments we have with the kids when they're still young, on the other hand, we need to prepare for the feeling of loss when they don't need us anymore. So keeping a job, either PT or FT can be considered an early preparation for that. Sometimes I really wish my kids won't grow up so fastskunk:

I dream of one day after DD has grown up and passed the rebellious teenage years, we can do facial and attend yoga classes together
minnie2004:
same here :lol: And talk about boys...
I dream of one day after DD has grown up and passed the rebellious teenage years, we can do facial and attend yoga classes together
foreverj:
Do hair tog lor! :lol:Lock:
agree totally!

i just hope my dd doesn't start asking to excuse herself from going out with me soon.
i know a mum who forced her sec school daughters to sit inside hair salon and wait for her to do hair while they have nothing to do. i tot that was a pure waste of their time right? the mum said its only fair since she also waits for them during their enrichment classes. -
Hi-tea, spa and mahjong togather

hi lock, students can only do so much to their hair right? anyway, i tot its quite a waste of time for the daughters (cos sec school should be busy with homework and CCAs right?) unless they r also enjoying themselves sitting in the salon.
as for me, i was sitting in the salon one day n started asking them how much they charge for cutting my dd's hair. they said $16 n that was cheap compared to junior league. so now planning next time, dd can sit in salon with me to cut hair.
next time, when she grows up and earns her own keep, we can go for facials, hi tea, shopping together! actually i dun do facial, likely she wil go with the dad who is growing more and more \"vain\" as he grows older...
[quote=\"minnie2004]
On one hand, we should cherish the moments we have with the kids when they're still young, on the other hand, we need to prepare for the feeling of loss when they don't need us anymore. So keeping a job, either PT or FT can be considered an early preparation for that. Sometimes I really wish my kids won't grow up so fast
definitely! i work PT now but stil a constant struggle cos wil lose out in terms of career progression. sigh, no perfect solution, can only thank God at least i have a choice of doing PT n able to find a meaningful PT job. i also panicked occasionally when i realise my dd growing up so fast, like not enough time with her...
as for rebellious age, sigh... dun even dare to think of it leh... -
lovekidsverymuch:
Nope... first premise is whether SAHP or FTWM, priority to be kids, and that will show in how we prioritise whatever time available to us.toddles:
I guess ultimately this will show up in how the child relates to the parent in the long run...
So are you suggesting that woman should always be SAHP?
of course, easier said than done for me too.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.