How to tell if a child is gifted?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Working With Your Child
    876 Posts 237 Posters 572.4k Views 2 Watching
      sleepy

Blobbi:
      Yup. Highest is 19. But I remember the difference must be greater than 3 standard deviations in order to invoke the GAI.

The individual categories, never even looked cos so tired liao after that. Me I mean. Not my son. :lol:

Sleepy, did you get the PM?

Yes, received your PM 😄

Variance referring to individual catergory IQ score. Say for example VSI 140, PRI 120, then delta > 19, cannot calculate FSI.

You are right 19 is the highest for scaled score. But this is not the same as individual category score. Confusing hor :lol:

Never mind lah, what's important is we are happy with our kids 😉

IQ report is for MOE only 😛

• 2 Offline
        2ppaamm

Blobbi:
        I already have. Yours any good? I need good handwriting OT now. Got?

Nope, only got OT for ears or hearing.

• 2 Offline
          2ppaamm

sleepy:

Variance referring to individual catergory IQ score. Say for example VSI 140, PRI 120, then delta > 19, cannot calculate FSI.

You are right 19 is the highest for scaled score. But this is not the same as individual category score. Confusing hor :lol:

Never mind lah, what's important is we are happy with our kids 😉

IQ report is for MOE only 😛

I went to the attic to dig out DS's IQ report in the dust. You are right, the FSIQ was not stated, and yes the differential was more than 19. But I clearly remember there was a one-sheet thingy that the psychologist gave, prior to the full report, and that one had a FSIQ in it. I lost that one already.

Thanks for enlightening.

• 2 Offline
            2ppaamm

Blobbi:

About the teachers ... I need to be PC when I say :P.
            What is PC?

• 2 Offline
              2ppaamm

sleepy:

Teachers assigned to teach EG... should train these teachers to be discreet & not make an EG child uncomfortable
              You mean the teachers who have EGs in their class? Some don't even know they have such kids, right?

• E Offline
                en107rn.01056yahoo.01056com.01056sg

[quote]EN wrote:

Cannot celebrate. Dd still weak after last Friday episode. 2nd time to watch her suffering in hospital. Practically have to assure doctor to allow her to go home yesterday at 5 pm. Tomorrow must go through the long Q&A. Sigh...

Sorry I have been missing something? What is happening to your dd? Nothing serious I hope?[/quote]
                Sigh...Dd was sick since Friday morning. As normal I was too busy with work to even notice. None of us had any inkling that she was sick. She kept very quiet until Saturday morning, she needs to go for her religious class. I thought her fever was making her tummy weak. Late Saturday afternoon, dh brought her to GP. She was given a jab (big mistake) to stop her pain. But the tummy pain still persist, so was advise to go A&E. That was when the nightmare began. 3 blood test, X-tray, tummy scan, mucus swap, urine & waste test. Dd even told us that she dreamt she was floating in the air and spin round and round. Ds said NDE, I was telling ds to zip his mouth up. She's okay now. Busy drawing. I think it's a way God tells me to slow down & be in my kids live. Force me to sit with dd doing nothing but attend to her needs. I know she can draw well but never seen her in action before. So, now I have seen.....

Thanks for asking. She has recovered. Just weak and cannot afford to fall ill while recuperating.

• E Offline
                  en107rn.01056yahoo.01056com.01056sg

[quote]Variance referring to individual catergory IQ score. Say for example VSI 140, PRI 120, then delta > 19, cannot calculate FSI.

You are right 19 is the highest for scaled score. But this is not the same as individual category score. Confusing hor

Never mind lah, what's important is we are happy with our kids

IQ report is for MOE only [/quote]Reading these, very headache. What are you all talking about?

• 2 Offline
                    2ppaamm

EN:
                    [quote]Variance referring to individual catergory IQ score. Say for example VSI 140, PRI 120, then delta > 19, cannot calculate FSI.

You are right 19 is the highest for scaled score. But this is not the same as individual category score. Confusing hor

Never mind lah, what's important is we are happy with our kids

IQ report is for MOE only
                    Reading these, very headache. What are you all talking about?[/quote]You will know very soon. 😉

EN:

Sigh...Dd was sick since Friday morning. As normal I was too busy with work to even notice. None of us had any inkling that she was sick. She kept very quiet until Saturday morning, she needs to go for her religious class. I thought her fever was making her tummy weak. Late Saturday afternoon, dh brought her to GP. She was given a jab (big mistake) to stop her pain. But the tummy pain still persist, so was advise to go A&E. That was when the nightmare began. 3 blood test, X-tray, tummy scan, mucus swap, urine & waste test. Dd even told us that she dreamt she was floating in the air and spin round and round. Ds said NDE, I was telling ds to zip his mouth up. She's okay now. Busy drawing. I think it's a way God tells me to slow down & be in my kids live. Force me to sit with dd doing nothing but attend to her needs. I know she can draw well but never seen her in action before. So, now I have seen.....

Thanks for asking. She has recovered. Just weak and cannot afford to fall ill while recuperating.
                      Hope she is feeling better. But it is strange for her to fall so ill, hopefully you have found the cause or reason for the pain.

• 2 Offline
                        2ppaamm

woooooooo… quite a lot happening EN. Take good care. I am also feeling a bit under the weather with all the stress. Hope not to fall very sick.

Take good care and remember to share any good news or average news, or anything! Love to know!

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 25 / 88