Joyfulhands:
If you don't receive call....either your kid is ok and doing fine or the teachers give up liao.....
Scary,Scary:
Joyfulhands,
Can see you really bo chap. The kids brought home the HA Plan for Term 3 3rd week of Term 3. Last 2 weeks were stated as H.A for Science. I thought it is CA2 at first too. Still asked my neighbour if her grandson had CA2 for Science last yr.
Not that I want to chap. Cos of my bo chap, I got calls and msgs from DS's teachers.
Don't scare me lei.. Hahaha.. None of my DD's teachers called me, so I take it that my DD is ok & I need not over worry
And yes, we (DD & me) like your DS' teacher
He is in very good hands! -
so it’s not ‘no news is good news’ ?
Scary:
Scary - appreciate your effort to re-type the slides.
Hi embel, please see my edited post. Think you saw the one before I edited. Actually the info was in the slides that the HOD showed us that time. When we asked the Sci Tr initially, her reply was, \"See the briefing slides.\"
I realize it is my fault for not paying attention during the briefing, my fault that I didn't check the website everyday for updates, my fault for not taking the time and effort to check with other parents, and most importantly, my fault for putting blind trust in the teacher's email.
Thanks for the valuable lesson.
Some parents do have a lot of time and resources to dig out info, and have the good fortune of having more forthcoming and responsible teachers who provide up-to-date and accurate info. Would be great if these parents can be generous enough to share the info here with other poorly-informed parents beforehand.cool_hi:
Cool_hi - yes it is indeed tough to be a parent in PH.I feel so suffocated..now being parents really tough..we are expected to deduce!! like we are expected to do comprehension inference quetions, even in our daily lives??! If we not capable of deducing for our kids' sake, then too bad??! Gosh!.
Some parents advise to trust the school/teachers, while some parents seem to suggest have to clarify things, check with other parents, cannot anyhow believe the teacher, etc..
Sigh....How? Really tough, man! :scared: But never mind lah, no one said it would be easy; one step at a time... SA2 next... -
hi embel,
i agree with you that it is TOUGH being a parent of a child studying in Pei Hwa…my son was once there. a lot of DIY on the part of the parents. -
If you don't receive call....either your kid is ok and doing fine or the teachers give up liao.....
php,
Teachers give up!? :scared: Can don't scare me more than Scary?
I maybe bochap but my eyes are still open
DD's FT is a very dedicated teacher, so no news is indeed good news. But I can't say the same for another subject teacher, and I have to check all my DD's work on that subject. So the teacher's involvement is inversely proportional to my effort
Hi Janet,Hi joyful hands/scary,
how are you?
:rahrah: Nice of you to ask, I'm fine.
I suddenly remember we are nearing the end of year & the grand, old tradition of BBQs. Wonder if anyone would like to volunteer, especially if your DS/DD is likely to leave PHPPS for a GEP school
We would like to celebrate with you
Right, Scary? :siam: *run far, far away*
Embel and cool_hi,
Perhaps I learnt my lesson earlier than you. When you know your child has a bo chap Tr, you can’t be a Bo chap parent regardless of time and resources, unless you don’t mind your child not learning from such teachers. I speak to teachers when travelling, wake up earlier to write notes for them. You can’t believe everything such teachers say, fr school syllabus to the behaviour of your kid. For these 3 yrs, we get half bo chap teachers and half responsible teachers. Thanks to these teachers that we learn how to help our child and manage expectations. As parents, we learn along the way too, when we need to help our child and when we can hands off. The worst is when the Tr is not willing to explain to kids or teach the wrong stuff, we need to step in definitely. Else, 怎么死都不知道。
Good e.g. is Joyfulhands. She bo chap FT cos FT is dedicated, but she has to "open eyes" for another subject Tr! -
Scary:
Actually all the while, I find our FT ok ok..not too hardworking,but not really that bad also..so I not sure whether she is bo chap or not..Actually, if I remember clearly, I did not label our FT as bo chap..just that this incident on wrong topic, seriously blur in her communication/did not check her the facts properly..Embel and cool_hi,
Perhaps I learnt my lesson earlier than you. When you know your child has a bo chap Tr, you can't be a Bo chap parent regardless of time and resources, unless you don't mind your child not learning from such teachers. I speak to teachers when travelling, wake up earlier to write notes for them. You can't believe everything such teachers say, fr school syllabus to the behaviour of your kid. For these 3 yrs, we get half bo chap teachers and half responsible teachers. Thanks to these teachers that we learn how to help our child and manage expectations. As parents, we learn along the way too, when we need to help our child and when we can hands off. The worst is when the Tr is not willing to explain to kids or teach the wrong stuff, we need to step in definitely. Else, 怎么死都不知道。
Good e.g. is Joyfulhands. She bo chap FT cos FT is dedicated, but she has to \"open eyes\" for another subject Tr!
and we out of basic respect(ok, maybe blindly), we took her words for it, so much so that when I was cautioned to the correct topic, I chose to trust & believe her words..ok, maybe now it seems like I am being stupid..or worse, taken to be bo chap and thus I 活该 不能怨人,have myself to be blamed ONLY..
I think the whole point on responsibility on the school is steering away..
but it's ok..just let it be..
i already accepted the label of being bo chap, not able to do detective work and do inferencing work like doing comprehension, for my child,I have to accept that I am 活该
As for bo chap...it is a relative term..
I am bo chap in the sense that, I do NOT check every piece of worksheets/tests/exams papers, I do not check my girl' school bag everyday..I do not go around asking other mummies what homework/tips for tests, etc, for my girl..she is supposed to do every homework on her own..she will pack her own bag..she learns her own spelling AND ting xie..if i have no time to test her, so be it..but if she prefers me to test her, she has to tell me..etc etc..if she has problems with her homework, she is supposed to ASK then I will go through with her, I always tell her, my job nature is such that during exam period, I am very very busy with my work, so it is important to ask during normal days..not wait till exam!!I impose these expectation on her, since p1..this is to instil discipline and responsibility on her..so far, she has been living up to my expectations..though she is not in top class, only in 3rd, but to me, she did it without close supervision, without me spoonfeeding..I am proud of her as a mum..
even if she cannot remain in 3rd class next year, I will still be proud of her coz i know she has been trying very hard, especially coz she is not smart,in my opinion
i can b bo chap in certain areas, but i chap in other areas which i think is worth me to chap..
i am not as efficient, and as capable as some parents
Who can chap EVErything..
so i have to choose what to chap..
i chap her ballet..coz she enjoys a lot since toddler..and I can see potential in her..
so I chap and tried to do what i can to path her way to jump grade from grade 1 this year, to grade 3 next year..
I quite bo chap her piano,though teacher says she does have potential, but i do not want to kill her joy in learning, so i do not want to push her in it..
I chap my k1 son's art coz i see potential..& recently he won top 5 prize in NAFA interclass competition(out of around 200 entries?)..
I not trying to \"hao lian\"..anyway, it's just a small competition..
& in s'pore, exceling in art is no big deal anyway..
JUst trying to show that parents who may be not so chap about academic, may choose to chap in other areas..
but of course i am no fight to some parents who CHAP in EVERYTHING from academic, to music,& even to tennis etc..i admire and salute them! :salute: :udawoman:
I am not a parent who slave drive kid to excel in EVEYRTHING!
Or want kid to be independent and yet spoonfeed all the way..help to check on this, help to clarify on that..help to spot exam questions, get tips to score, etc etc..
In my work nature, i see a lot of parenting styles and the outcome..
thus, even if i am label and criticised to be a bo chap parent,
so much so that i have myself to blame for not sieving out correct info,
I still stand by my way...
to me, if a child get 230 for psle but with his/her own effort, not relying on close supervision or spoonfeed by parents,
this child is way better than a child who get 260 but is achieved with expensive tuitions, close supervision(to the extent that mum/dad need to sit next to them, to watch them do work etc etc),constant nagging, scolding, or even beating..
Anyway, that said..by right this is a thread for sharing info..
but sadly, i don't see that happening..
hope to see more sharing from selfless, generous,& clever people who can infer and provide info, for us, the ignorant bunch of parents
Wishful thinkning??
it's ok..i am not so naive to be hopeful for anything anyway la.. :siao:
Anyway, enough precious time spent(or 'wasted') on this :yikes: ..
This inefficient, ignorant, bo chap mummy has to close this chapter+move on liao..
better wake up and try to chap a bit & try to crack my brains think of how to catch up on the precious time lost..
if not, being ignorant and having no inference skills,
when i need really need help/info, toughen up my thin skin and ask
:imdrowning: :?: only will kena :laugh: :rotflmao: ??
Anyway, All the best to ALL of u for SA2!!
oh also for those going GEP 2nd test! hope we can all :celebrate:
Cheers!! -
cool_hi:
Who can help in spotting exam questions and provide tips to score? Can ask that person to share? Believe most will be very keen!
I am not a parent who slave drive kid to excel in EVEYRTHING!
Or want kid to be independent and yet spoonfeed all the way..help to check on this, help to clarify on that..help to spot exam questions, get tips to score, etc etc..
My child unfortunately has teachers who throw things to parents or teach the wrong things in all the 3 years. I was the one who taught him when he asked me how to write a particular word. However, he was marked wrong! Not once, but a few times. I was \"huh\", these are basics, how can the teachers not know! Thus, the trust and faith that we have in these teachers in teaching my child the correct knowledge and values are gone! As such, I have to spot check at times to ensure he is not misled.
I guess some parents have faced the above situations. I can recall the case whereby a Science tr wasn't teaching the kids the correct stuff last year or the year before.
There were times that my child was brushed off by teachers when he went to them to clarify his mistakes. The teachers just brushed him off. What to do, he came back and asked and when I wasn't sure myself, I had to be thick-skinned, 出马and dropped teachers notes. I don't think this is spoon fed or chap everything. He did his part to ask teachers when he wasn't sure. We can only conclude that there are a number of teachers out there who don't like kids to raise questions. Talking about responsibilities. . . .when kids don't do well, whose fault? When kids pick up the bad habits from teachers, whose fault? Hardly the teachers. Remember. . .All Schools Are The Same! (though they forget that Not All Teachers Are The Same!) It's really up to our \"luck\" in which type of teachers we get every year.
Cool_hi, told u your girl is good and disciplined. However, we believe not many kids can be like this especially boys in lower primary. -
Joyfulhands,
Your DD should be ok. She looks guai to me. :rahrah:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.