Hwa Chong Institution (High School)
:thankyou: :imanisland: Song22.
uniform is already available for sale at the bookshop - but like someone mentioned earlier, best to check to see if all the books you need are in before you go down (although some books in Sec 1 (eg sci, maths textbook) not necessary to have before school starts).
Song22:
It is always good to let him continue if he has the interest. Good to keep our Chinese skill there. How your child find the Malay special program and your view about this language too? I don't know malay although I do have malay friends. hehehe...ellehcim:
Thanks lexis and tsh0202 abt the language info. Really helps alot. Lexis mentioned abt the Chinese elective thing probably ds will be qualified. Will it also requires staying back for this programme? Wow so many staying back liao ah.... Hence have to ask ds thing carefullcarefully whether 3rd lang or this chinese elective prog liao lo. Dont want him so stressed out and overwhelmed with so many stuff. For me uniform and books it will be good if can grab them earlier. I dislike queues and crowd leh. Hehehhe.....
Hi Ellehcim
my ds took chinese elective and based on last year, they could choose the lesson on either Monday or Thursday. My ds needs to stay back 4 times a week. For Chinese Elective (LEP), grade is only taken into account if the score is A1. My ds seems to enjoy the program and would like to continue next year, though I tried to \"discourage\" him so that he could come home a day earlier.
your child in year 1 or 2 this year? A lot more to learn from the seniors here.
ellehcim:
It is always good to let him continue if he has the interest. Good to keep our Chinese skill there. How your child find the Malay special program and your view about this language too? I don't know malay although I do have malay friends. hehehe...Song22:
[quote=\"ellehcim\"]Thanks lexis and tsh0202 abt the language info. Really helps alot. Lexis mentioned abt the Chinese elective thing probably ds will be qualified. Will it also requires staying back for this programme? Wow so many staying back liao ah.... Hence have to ask ds thing carefullcarefully whether 3rd lang or this chinese elective prog liao lo. Dont want him so stressed out and overwhelmed with so many stuff. For me uniform and books it will be good if can grab them earlier. I dislike queues and crowd leh. Hehehhe.....
Hi Ellehcim
my ds took chinese elective and based on last year, they could choose the lesson on either Monday or Thursday. My ds needs to stay back 4 times a week. For Chinese Elective (LEP), grade is only taken into account if the score is A1. My ds seems to enjoy the program and would like to continue next year, though I tried to \"discourage\" him so that he could come home a day earlier.
your child in year 1 or 2 this year? A lot more to learn from the seniors here. :)[/quote]Hi Ellehcim
My ds did not take Malay special program. Yes, he is in Year 2 and enjoying school a lot
Hi ellehcim
my son took MSP this year but dropped it in term 3 as he had no interest, and we felt his time would be better spent improving his grades for the academic subjects.
he will be going to year 2 next year, and like song22’s boy, enjoys school a lot. Sometimes he stays back to ‘study’ with friends in class even though he can come back at 130 pm. It’s also very encouraging to see the boys come together from different classes to compile notes for the EOY exams. -
:slapshead: :slapshead: aiyo.. blur me... is Song22 ds took LEP while Lexis ds took Malay.
Pai seh.. pai seh.... :salute: :salute: -
lexis:
this is the kind of friendly competition that lure us towards this school. I am concern about staying back too much or too late because we stay quite far and travel easily takes 1hour already.Hi ellehcim
my son took MSP this year but dropped it in term 3 as he had no interest, and we felt his time would be better spent improving his grades for the academic subjects.
he will be going to year 2 next year, and like song22's boy, enjoys school a lot. Sometimes he stays back to 'study' with friends in class even though he can come back at 130 pm. It's also very encouraging to see the boys come together from different classes to compile notes for the EOY exams. -
actually it is quite normal for IP-school students to end at 3/4 pm everyday even if they have no CCA, cos sometimes they have to stay back to do infocomm, meet for projects, rehearse for drama, go to the consortium lounge to eat cheap ice cream… etc etc.
so best to be prepared for it. good thing is, he is very happy to stay back!! and come home - will continue with his friends on skype, or google chat… lol… -
Parents, may i know if New Syllabus Math E-book will be used in Sec 1 or they will just see the textbook? I have the textbook from the elder daughter and if the e book is not necessary, do not want to spend money buying another one for the sake of the ebook.
TIA -
ASLMUM:
Parents, may i know if New Syllabus Math E-book will be used in Sec 1 or they will just see the textbook? I have the textbook from the elder daughter and if the e book is not necessary, do not want to spend money buying another one for the sake of the ebook.
TIA
Hi, I dun think it is necessary to get the e-book.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.