River Valley High School [*IP]
dolphinsiah:
All IP student must take HCL ? Does that mean a student who is weak in Chinese and do not take HCL at PSLE will not stand a chance in admitting into RV ? Is this just RV's policy or does it apply to other IP sch as well ?
The Principal was very unhappy with last year HCL O Level result -it was below the national standard so some of them had to retake...I guess.daisyt:
Hi dolphinsiah, so glad to have higher level parent here! So your child is in e triple science stream? Whats your child subjects combi? 3.5 gpa is very high (no wonder u r worried) ... I thought for year 4 & 5 is 3.0 gpa? New changes by the new principal?
I am worry too ......
Note: All IP students must sit for HCL 'O'level at Year 4.
BTW, having to spend $1,500 a mth on tuition fees is terrible....and you sound so stressed ! Make me have second thoughts about RV
dolphinsiah:
HiThanks for the warm welcome!
My child currently is having tuition in
-Chemistry
-Maths
-GP
-HCL
I understand that the Principal has already told the Year 4 students they need to score GPA at least 3.5 to make it to Year 5.
Which means that most subjects must be A1 or A2.
My concept is that I better make sure the tuition teachers is able to help my child to do when and to go to the local U.
If not by sending my child to oversea it will cost me more worries and $$$
My child also in yr 4. I dun noe whether he can get GPA 3. Your child must be very hardworking. May I know whr does your child go for tuition? All 1:1 or tuition centre? Can recommend? -
Hi joconde, all sap sec sch must take HCL, not IP sch. RV like HCI, NYGH, DHS are IP SAP schools. (do i miss out any).
joconde:
All IP student must take HCL ? Does that mean a student who is weak in Chinese and do not take HCL at PSLE will not stand a chance in admitting into RV ? Is this just RV's policy or does it apply to other IP sch as well ?
The Principal was very unhappy with last year HCL O Level result -it was below the national standard so some of them had to retake...I guess.dolphinsiah:
[quote=\"daisyt\"]Hi dolphinsiah, so glad to have higher level parent here! So your child is in e triple science stream? Whats your child subjects combi? 3.5 gpa is very high (no wonder u r worried) ... I thought for year 4 & 5 is 3.0 gpa? New changes by the new principal?
I am worry too ......
Note: All IP students must sit for HCL 'O'level at Year 4.
BTW, having to spend $1,500 a mth on tuition fees is terrible....and you sound so stressed ! Make me have second thoughts about RV :([/quote]Good morning joconde,
Yes in order to be accepted by a IP school , student must do HCL in PSLE.
And to sit for HCL 'O' Level in YEar 4. This is Singapore Standard.
In A Levels you are exempted from CL exam if you score at least a B4 for HCL.
BUT I know that even you failed your CL during A Levels - you will still need to do CL lessons during U..
Note: So Chinese is still very IMPORTANT in Singapore!
IF your child can go to a IP school , it would be better ...
At least your child do not have to choose a JC after O Levels.
There were students after O levels was squeezed out of the good JCs.
Because HCI /RJC...all are IP schools
And so many capable China...Students...
So better be Kiasu...go to IP then be sorry... :roll: -
cheese:
Good morning Cheese,
Hidolphinsiah:
Thanks for the warm welcome!
My child currently is having tuition in
-Chemistry
-Maths
-GP
-HCL
I understand that the Principal has already told the Year 4 students they need to score GPA at least 3.5 to make it to Year 5.
Which means that most subjects must be A1 or A2.
My concept is that I better make sure the tuition teachers is able to help my child to do well and to go to the local U.
If not by sending my child to oversea it will cost me more worries and $$$
My child also in yr 4. I dun noe whether he can get GPA 3. Your child must be very hardworking. May I know whr does your child go for tuition? All 1:1 or tuition centre? Can recommend?
Your Child is also in Year 4...Good ...so we can keep an eye on each kid :idea:
But do not let them know ...
Which class is your child in? My Child is very lazy too....
My child used to attend Just Education for Chemistry and Maths during Year 1 & 2...but the grades were only Bs...
So I send her to another tutor.
This tutor was a NTU Master scholar-Charge very high...
It is also a group tuition...but he will go around to teach the students personally..lectures will be done during holidays.
This tutor ensure me that my child can get A grade ...so I tried for 1 term...
Wow really my child grades improve...
But cost me a lot of money....
I could not get tutors that can teach English in IP standard.
So I just put my child to attend JC1 GP tuition...very Kiasu right :oops:
HCL tuition is to make sure my child gets a good grade in year end National Exam... -
dolphinsiah:
Oh gosh, is that true ?! :shock: I din know tat !!
The only thing I was told by sch was that with HCL, you get extra points when applying for SAP sch. But the sch never tell us that only students with HCL can get admitted into IP !
Are you very sure abt this ? Is there any official statement at MOE or sch website abt this ? Do u know if it's the same for NUSH & SST ? -
cheese:
Hi cheese, welcome to this thread. Wow ! We have two senior high parents here wor .... Hope you all can give us the junior parents a good guidline on how to achieve well in RV.
Hi
My child also in yr 4. I dun noe whether he can get GPA 3. Your child must be very hardworking. May I know whr does your child go for tuition? All 1:1 or tuition centre? Can recommend?
joconde:
I thought only SAP IP then need to take HCL. Non SAP IP, not necessary. If you are not taking HCL in PSLE, you can still get into SAP IP and IP, just that you do not have the extra points to add. :?dolphinsiah:
Oh gosh, is that true ?! :shock: I din know tat !!
The only thing I was told by sch was that with HCL, you get extra points when applying for SAP sch. But the sch never tell us that only students with HCL can get admitted into IP !
Are you very sure abt this ? Is there any official statement at MOE or sch website abt this ? Do u know if it's the same for NUSH & SST ? -
Hi dolphinsiah, if can guarantee "A", I think most parents wonβt mind the high charges too lor. Provided the child can take the pressure and stress.
Dolphinsiah, cheese, how are your children coping with the pressure and stress at senior high level ? Are they feeling stress ? Are they active in their CCAs ? Joining any extra events beside CCA ? -
daisyt:
Good morning!Hi dolphinsiah, if can guarantee \"A\", I think most parents won't mind the high charges too lor. Provided the child can take the pressure and stress.
Dolphinsiah, cheese, how are your children coping with the pressure and stress at senior high level ? Are they feeling stress ? Are they active in their CCAs ? Joining any extra events beside CCA ?
My Child highly stress...talks during the sleep
No choice I told my child bite the bullet and go to the local U...
My child slacks during her Y1 & 2...imagine never bring back textbooks or revise...during junior years :shock:
So we had to confiscate her MP3 and handphone...
Imagine 2000sms each month..even during exam period :x
So I keep telling my child the U door very small...full of China scholars...
Shame if an IP student cannot go into the U door :stupid:
Paint my child the real world...needs to earn lots of $$$ ....
Now my child sought of waken up...but still must monitor... :?:
My child is doing Chinese Dance as CCA...
Now the school is busy with the YOG Dance....
Extra Dance lesson in NAFA during Saturday...
Guitar lesson on Friday(but dropping so...)
So u imagine how stressful we are....
And you will not see any IP Students roaming in the Shopping Centres after Schools!!!
All highly Stresss :roll:
But it is for the child future...
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.