2019 PSLE Discussions and Strategies (Children born in 2007)
Non SAP! Neighbourhood school in Woodlands.This school that you mention -
Is it a SAP school, or non-SAP neighbourhood school ? -
some neighborhood schools are trying to catch up the pace, with popular schools. Hence, they are raising their school standard. Some parents like, they welcome this move.
TheAnswer:
TAFB555:
My kids are v relax as they do not hav sa1 exam and sa2 exam in p1. Jus holistic assesssment.
This yr p2, they still do not have sa1 exam in month of May, jus holistic assessment. But they will have sa2 exam in oct/nov, which i tink it will be used for p3 streaming.
So whether it is 'honeymoon' in p2 or not, really depend on the school tat he/she is in.
I know of one neighbourhood school which has bite size assessment which consisted of 4 creative writing and 4 show and tell in a year on top of the regular assessment. Siao ON! P2 ONLY!End of P1 also had creative writing test :siao:
It is not uncommon to start creative writing in p1 but to what extent that the sch wanted their students to master. Able to use wide vocab of words with varied sentence structure already or just a normal simple story. My kids sch is a lower standard neighbourhood sch and also used creative writing for holistic ass'ment. But for chinese , my kids school still havent taught them 作文。they also hav shpw and tell for assessment.
So i think if they start 作文 in p1 as holistic assesssment, my kids will struggle. -
Btw, my kids were from pcf preschool previously, and story books review is already part of their curriculum. So i tink it is not unusual tat they do it in p1 as well.
TheAnswer:
Oh ya. I forgot to add. That school also asked the P2 students to complete quite a few book reviews and presentation about ambition etc. All in P2!!
My friend's P2 son from Henry Park (in 2008) primary also wrote book review, after reading storybooks, literature. -
FB555:
Btw, my kids were from pcf preschool previously, and story books review is already part of their curriculum. So i tink it is not unusual tat they do it in p1 as well.
But to do 30 book reviews is common during school holidays meh? I think it is madness. -
If the teacher did not let them practice in school, how can they be expected to write during exams? 100 words for P1. Most students cannot write that long.
TheAnswer:
If the class has 30 pupils, then it will be 30 x 30 = 900 book reviews for teacher to read and mark. I really doubt the teacher will read. :siam:FB555:
But to do 30 book reviews is common during school holidays meh? I think it is madness. -
I dun think the book reviews were even collected.
some neighborhood schools are trying to catch up the pace, with popular schools. Hence, they are raising their school standard. Some parents like, they welcome this move.
I welcome this move but teachers must also play their role. Not dump a piece of work with barely any instructions to the student. The student dump the work to the parent. The parent dump the work to me.
My son is in P4 this year. He used to be in a neighbourhood primary school with negligible homework. It was quite relaxing/boring for him at school. Transferred to another school this year. A much welcomed change.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.