2019 PSLE Discussions and Strategies (Children born in 2007)

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary 6 & PSLE
    8.7k Posts 511 Posters 1.7m Views 1 Watching
    • sembgalS Offline
      sembgal

Nanyang Girls High School Open House is on Saturday, 23 May 2015 from 8 am to 2 pm.

School of Science & Technology (SST) Open House is on Saturday, 30 May 2015.

Can go "see-look-compare".

2015 Secondary schools Open House

http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum ... 6&start=60

sembgal:
        School of Science & Technology (SST) Open House is on Saturday, 30 May 2015.

Can go \"see-look-compare\".
        do SST students need to sit for O level ?

ammonite

Yes

Thanks, ammonite 🙂

• sembgalS Offline
              sembgal

What type of Chinese Oral Picture will be given for P2 Oral test? Tips anyone?

sembgal:
                What type of Chinese Oral Picture will be given for P2 Oral test? Tips anyone?

Old format ?

sembgal:
                  What type of Chinese Oral Picture will be given for P2 Oral test?

Tips anyone?
                  in my dd school, since P1 Term 2 began last year (2014) :
                  for both Chinese Oral exercise(s) training done in class, plus Chinese Oral tests conducted -
                  already started using New PSLE format for Chinese Oral, ie. Moving video clip. no more still, stagnant picture

now P2 (2015) : same thing
                  watch video clip

for Chinese Oral Test 华 文 口 试

after watching 1 round of moving video clip : if student cannot recall the precise details watched because sometimes too fast, student can press the \"playback\" button, to repeat watching the video clip, start all over again.

While waiting for their turn to be called into the 口 试 Test room, pupils can press \"playback\" button a few times, if need be, to help to refresh their memory of the video content.

The Chinese Oral Tr told them beforehand that they are supposed to remember the key, salient points watched in the short video clip, before Tr call in each pupil one by one, to answer some questions, about the scenario(s) inside the video.

Once they sit down inside the Test room, they have to speak up, tell the Chinese Oral Tr what they had seen in the video : eg: who are the key character(s) ? what were they doing ? What morale lesson(s) can be drawn, from the incident described, etc ?

However, some of my friends' kids in P2 :
                  are still using the still picture, for Chinese Oral exercises / Term Tests

as for 郎 读 短 文, it is still there, still required, no change
                  but the content for 郎 读 短 文 and video clip watching tested : are different

Blue Pearl:

My gal school still using 4 picture compo.
                    as for P2 Chinese 作 文
                    different schools, different standard

for example
                    current P2 Term 2 now

- my friend's P2 dd, from St Anthony Cannosian Convent primary (Bedok) : Non SAP school -
                    going to start using 1 picture soon, to write 作 文

when come to P2 Term 4 Term Test Year end (November, this year) for 作 文 :
                    pupils are tested, based on 1 picture.

- another friend's P2 son, from Maris Stella primary (SAP school) -
                    need to write eg: 2 lines of sentences, to describe a picture given on the left.

They have yet to start writing zuo wen, in paragraph format.

- third friend's P2 son, from Maha Bodhi primary (SAP school) -
                    currently using a few sentences, to describe a picture on the left.

But soon, pupils will start writing 4 pictures, in sequence one after another.

come to P2 Term 4 Year end 2015 (November), during Chinese 作 文 Test -
                    MBS pupils are expected to write at least 1.5 pages long, break down content into paragraph format.

- my dd school
                    currently already using 4 pictures, to write 作 文

the more picture pupils are given, the more they have to write, because for each picture, they need to describe.

also need to clarify with your school : any helping words given ?
                    some schools : no helping words in Chinese given, students just write on their own.

Other schools : got helping words, given

some changes made to Education scene, recently

wef this year (PSLE 2015 batch, born 2003) :
                      some Secondary schools had removed the GEP domain, for DSA exercise, into Secondary 1

http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum ... &start=400

Wesim

Jialat....my dd's school has not started Chinese compo yet. But Berries has started \"training\" them. Just one picture and literally she needs to write with 3/4 paragraphs. But not every week though. So, I am training her to construct sentences.

As for English compo, her school only gets them to write Journal once a week. But it's ok, she is writing one compo almost every week at The Writer's Place 😓

But how to improve comprehension (both English and Chinese)? Any suggestion? I get her to do almost every week, but some answers still not there leh....very stress liao as I need to prepare her for Science this coming June. Yep, I'm a very KS mum.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 44 / 866

gingerbreadzzzG
                        gingerbreadzzz
                        Amber2018A
                        Amber2018