* Eunoia JC (EJC)
pirated:
That's my thinking too. I am sure they've run through all premises on their property listing, study the IP needs vs the layout of premises, and decided Mt Sinai is the only suitable venue that could be retrofitted easily. I doubt MOE is so mean as to send teens to Ghim Moh without careful consideration.A lot of time parents kpkb without knowing the full picture or the actual physical requirements of a new JC or school
Today's A level quite different from 40 years ago in some aspects and the curriculum also changed
And the new norms of A level facilities definitely make many of the sites unsuitable
MOE must have forgotten that teens and parents today are no longer the same as before. -
jetsetter:
That's my thinking too. I am sure they've run through all premises on their property listing, study the IP needs vs the layout of premises, and decided Mt Sinai is the only suitable venue that could be retrofitted easily. I doubt MOE is so mean as to send teens to Ghim Moh without careful consideration.pirated:
A lot of time parents kpkb without knowing the full picture or the actual physical requirements of a new JC or school
Today's A level quite different from 40 years ago in some aspects and the curriculum also changed
And the new norms of A level facilities definitely make many of the sites unsuitable
MOE must have forgotten that teens and parents today are no longer the same as before.
You give too much credit to the MOE planners. Like any other civil servant, they only respond to instructions and may not have considered the full picture. The are other vacant sites owned other agencies like SLA, did MOE consider them? It is only fair that as stakeholders, we make our views known. Some of the sites proposed here may have limitations but it is a good effort to seriously offer an alternative and open up for discussion.
Where is the open and consultative government that will share the views before implementing anything? This is not unlike the Sengkang case where a columbarium was put in the middle of HDB blocks and created a big ruckus. -
lee_yl:
That's my thinking too. I am sure they've run through all premises on their property listing, study the IP needs vs the layout of premises, and decided Mt Sinai is the only suitable venue that could be retrofitted easily. I doubt MOE is so mean as to send teens to Ghim Moh without careful consideration.jetsetter:
[quote=\"pirated\"]A lot of time parents kpkb without knowing the full picture or the actual physical requirements of a new JC or school
MOE must have forgotten that teens and parents today are no longer the same as before.
You give too much credit to the MOE planners. Like any other civil servant, they only respond to instructions and may not have considered the full picture. The are other vacant sites owned other agencies like SLA, did MOE consider them? It is only fair that as stakeholders, we make our views known. Some of the sites proposed here may have limitations but it is a good effort to seriously offer an alternative and open up for discussion.
Where is the open and consultative government that will share the views before implementing anything? This is not unlike the Sengkang case where a columbarium was put in the middle of HDB blocks and created a big ruckus.[/quote] :goodpost: Think about it. Aside from the columbarium case, there are other planning boo boos as well. For example, the Little India Riot. The CP actually said he was short of manpower and had requested to hire 1000 more policemen in view of the population increase. Some one up there turned him down - this is downright poor planning by the someone up there isn't IT?
Pirated; btw please don't use offensive language such as KPKB . I know one parent suggested an lmpractical site but she was trying to help and she apologised for the mistake . Additionally, how can you compare 40 years ago, many a parent are more well informed and involved these days. You can't blame parents expressing their frustrations when a simple j c building is taking longer than building the mammoth mbs! -
:xedfingers:
pirated:
That's why they need mount Sinai[/quote]The problem is Mt Sinai TOO FAR.... still can't get it?Nebbermind:
[quote=\"GiftedGem\"]One consideration is having holding sch in Toa Payoh Rise ( near former TP Hospital and Caldecott MRT) . Used by St Nic and CHIJ Pri formerly.
Wrong configuration leh.
JC usually need lecture hall/theatre and adequately equipped labs.
With a small size cohort, is it a necessity to have LT? Think out of the box pls. Go for classroom teaching then if LT not available. For lab, MOE can modify / add in what is required for the students and there's lab in Toa Payoh Holding Sch. Given Bishan was the site for new JC, thus the holding sch should be close proximity with these 3 schs and not all the way to Mt Sinai. Toa Payoh should be considered too. -
lee_yl:
Fact is they sometimes don't consult other ministries or public agencies! :gloomy: (OT)
Where is the open and consultative government that will share the views before implementing anything? This is not unlike the Sengkang case where a columbarium was put in the middle of HDB blocks and created a big ruckus.
In this case, they probably wrongly assumed students aren't willing to compromise with other alternative venues with lesser facilities, and rubber-stamp on what they perceived as the best solution for them at that point in time.
The \"ruckus\" mustn't be perceived as \"noise\", that's most impt. So instead of discussing here and reading ideas that have been reported by media or shared with the authorities during your private consultative sessions, why not gather all the stakeholders to sign a petition, or craft a few forum letters to reinforce pointers covered by those news articles woodgrove mentioned? Online comments are sifted by third parties and sentiments watered down if the \"armchair summariser\" cannot catch the key points.
On alternative vacant sites - But wouldn't parents have asked MOE if Singapore has other suitable sites during those talks? If there are, they would have advised parents by now; or if they are in the process of checking with SLA now, stakeholders should wait for the update, no?
Btw, are you a stakeholder too? :? -
~Am wearing my pragmatist hat here~
Instead of *Good Post* here, *Good Post* there, wouldn't it be useful to this discussion if stakeholders could itemise alternatives they have already shared with ST journos, Pearl Lee and Amelia Teng, as well as those escalated to decision makers,
This is so non-stakeholders will know which ideas and solutions proposed here have already been \"reported\" by media (i.e. noted by the decision markers) and which ones have been \"rejected\" during those consultations that non-stakeholders are not invited to/privy to. (PS: Not everyone has read those articles)
Non-stakeholders might unknowingly suggest a Not Good idea or raise a point that you guys have already told MOE (and kenna shot down)... :rotflmao:
Cheers! -
DennisB:
My bad! He picked that up from an earlier post (https://www.facebook.com/OurSGConversation/posts/371057432970638) by me. Forgive him...he was too sleepy at 4.30am.
Pirated; btw please don't use offensive language such as KPKB . I know one parent suggested an lmpractical site but she was trying to help and she apologised for the mistake . Additionally, how can you compare 40 years ago, many a parent are more well informed and involved these days. You can't blame parents expressing their frustrations when a simple j c building is taking longer than building the mammoth mbs!
:imsorry: -
woodgrove:
I see. Not everyone reads articles not concerning our children la. If they have already been quoted and reported by MSM, MOE should be panicking and working on their responses/solutions internally now.
Go read the various media:zaobao ST forum Sunday Times, etc they reported parents' and students' comments. The parent that wrote in used the phrase \"played out\" as well. Why are you offended with the term \"I understand\"
大局已定 ? how do you know things can't be changed. Are you from Moe? I m not proposing must use the original site but moe should give parents options as suggested by a number of parents already.
By the way, as Dennisb pointed out, this is an open forum for discussion. There will be different viewpoints.
No, already said not offended, didn't I? Was only wondering if you were basing on hearsay cos you didn't use \"we\"...
大局已定 - did you see my parenthesis? I was referring to the external circumstances, which unfortunately cannot be changed. So you guys need to work your way around that constant.
How many students are actually affected, praytell? -
MOE have issued another letter outlining the circumstances and decision making… They must have been monitoring KSP…
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.