Koon Kee - Wok Hei horfun

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Tuckshop
    40 Posts 12 Posters 14.4k Views 1 Watching
      mintcc

mintcc:

my favourite Hor Fun is at a Coffee Shop at Chinatown, near the temple. A very old couple run the stall and if you go for dinner must prepare to go early and wait very long. But the sea food hor fun/bee hoon and the lotus soup is well worth the wait....

Can I have the exact location ?

Thanks

Its at blk 5 banda street. Store is hidden inside at a corner:
      http://maps.google.com.sg/maps?f=q&source=s_q&hl=en&geocode=&q=Blk+5+Banda+Street&ie=UTF8&hq=&hnear=Banda+St,+Outram&ll=1.280938,103.843954&spn=0.011799,0.02238&z=16&layer=c&cbll=1.281311,103.843664&panoid=AM6psj0NhWKKnCzOJIZoZA&cbp=12,292.74,,0,24.94

mintcc

mintcc:

my favourite Hor Fun is at a Coffee Shop at Chinatown, near the temple. A very old couple run the stall and if you go for dinner must prepare to go early and wait very long. But the sea food hor fun/bee hoon and the lotus soup is well worth the wait....

They only open for dinner?

I not too sure... I only went 2-3 time cause of the long wait... we usually arrive at about 5:30 or so...

Blobbi

Wah, missed the advice after I clicked *send* 😢 😢 😢

N'er mind. I followed Dom's rec, which led me to ...

http://ieatishootipost.sg/2006/12/hong-kong-street-chun-kee-is-there-milk.html

I like the cooking - light on salt and oil. We had the white for fun with fish - nice! The fried chicken was gd, as was the bittergourd. The only thing I felt was lacking was the fish bee hoon soup. I've definitely had better in Chinatown.

Best part is the pricing - for 4 people with over-ordering (we ordered 6 dishes; DH says my eyes bigger than my stomach :P) the bill came out to be $46.

jce

If anyone’s in Toa Payoh, can try the cze char stall at Toa Payoh North (opp SPH), kopitiam at the corner, always crowded, weekend or weekday. The "san lao hor fun" is good and so is the "pai gu wang". My friend tried fried rice and she said really good too. Sorry can’t remember the blk no (and can’t remember the name!), it’s at the junction as one turns into Toa Payoh North. The stall takes up the entire coffee shop in the evening and there’ll be many customers so quite easy to spot.

Way2GO

And where is that ?
              jce answered your question.

VitoRelax

Blobbi:
                Wah, missed the advice after I clicked *send* 😢 😢 😢

N'er mind. I followed Dom's rec, which led me to ...

http://ieatishootipost.sg/2006/12/hong-kong-street-chun-kee-is-there-milk.html

I like the cooking - light on salt and oil. We had the white for fun with fish - nice! The fried chicken was gd, as was the bittergourd. The only thing I felt was lacking was the fish bee hoon soup. I've definitely had better in Chinatown.

Best part is the pricing - for 4 people with over-ordering (we ordered 6 dishes; DH says my eyes bigger than my stomach :P) the bill came out to be $46.
                Hi Blobbi, but the hongkong street is not the one I am referring to leh ... the one I am talking about is at Bedok ... :?

VitoRelax

Joy:
                  wait for VR come back and update us.

Am sure he will.
                  Blobbi:

Aiyo. Dinner time, so I trot in here to look up address of 108. Don't have wor.

:roll:

Dom, in time for next Sunday or not?

Hi Joy & Blobbi,

Sorry for the late reply. Something cropped up just now, I cannot goto 108 to verify the Block Number.

But fret not, becos I juz realized actually I can check the Block Number using Street Directory, which I juz did.

The Block Number is BLOCK 86

Enjoy your Horfun (min $5).

Other recommended are, Fried Hokkien Mee (their style is different, min $10) and Fried Fish Head mee Hoon (min $10)

Okay, I only recommend the 3 noodles above, hor ?

Enjoy the food ...

Cheers

• JoyJ Offline
                    Joy

Hello VR

Thanks for the updates...

so, today everyone can go for horfun...

cheers

Hi Joy & Blobbi,

Sorry for the late reply. Something cropped up just now, I cannot goto 108 to verify the Block Number.

But fret not, becos I juz realized actually I can check the Block Number using Street Directory, which I juz did.

The Block Number is BLOCK 86

Enjoy your Horfun (min $5).

Other recommended are, Fried Hokkien Mee (their style is different, min $10) and Fried Fish Head mee Hoon (min $10)

Okay, I only recommend the 3 noodles above, hor ?

Enjoy the food ...

Cheers

VitoRelax

No problem, Joy.

The exact address is BLK 86 BEDOK NORTH STREET 4.

Vito's recommendation are:
                      1) Hor Fun (min $5 serving 1 person)

2) Hokkien Mee (min $10 serving 2 persons) - This one, please don't tabao, it will be very soggy if tabao

3) Fish Head Mee Hoom (min $10 serving 2 persons)

The Che Char I seldom try bcos everytime I was there, I cannot resist the horfun ... I like the burnt smell ...

Okay a bit of story: When the old man was still alive at Changi Lorong 108, he said the secret to tasty horfun is the fire & the way you fried it.

He said a good chef will fry the WHITE horfun until it turns brown only then will the horfun be very \"phang\" ....

He also said those stalls using black suace or tau-yu to fry are lazy chef or \"cheating\" bcos they use the sauce to turn the horfun into brown colour ...

When asked how much of his skills he has passed down to his nephew, the old man said only 55% .... if only he passed down 100% ...

So now, there is beyond doubt I am 71, right ?

Enjoy the hor fun ...

Cheers

Joy:
                      Hello VR

Thanks for the updates...

so, today everyone can go for horfun...

cheers

Augmum

hi VitoRelax

i saw yr posting abt the wok hei hor fun, so tempted,
                        so told hub to go down to buy today…

hub reached there ard 5 p.m, the whole coffeshop was so dark except one or 2 stalls opening for business…
                        and the stall u mentioned, all neatly packed up , not ready for business leh…

btw, what is their business hrs…(called them yesterday, they said 5 p.m but boh lang leh) and when is their rest days (if any) ??

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 3 / 4