All About Home Addresses

2.4k Posts 538 Posters 878.0k Views 1 Watching
    • G Offline
      galaxyraider

skysky2018:
      Hi Parents,

Under the new 30-month rule, if we rent a place within 1km of dream school and we manage to get in, can we buy a place within 1km of the same school and then move to that new place within 30 months?

Thank you very much for your input.
      Weigh your chances carefully then go ahead and buy a place instead of renting, in order to have a peace of mind.

aloyboy

ABCABCABC:
        In my condo there are easily 20 China people who have converted to Singaporeans for their kids just to get into top schools. I see them during my son's swimming class and during our daily walks. Imagine these 20 are around the son age.. one condo only.. there are easily 30 condos around us so I presume the chances of real locals entering top schools will be down this year and next year

Very true, we PV with one of such parents and their son eventually is in the same class as my son. They even localized their surname !!

They are just a kiasu or even more than us Singaporean. A \"such\" coli of mine has started analyzing all the school registration statistics now and planning her bet and where to buy properties ... her kid is a few months old... :nailbite:

accord

Hi all,

This is extracted from MOE website:
          Proximity of Home to School
          1. What address can be used for registering my child in the Primary One (P1) Registration exercise?
          MOE reply: The address to be used is the official residential address on the parents’ NRIC. This address will be used to determine the home-school distance category.

If we rent a place to stay near the school, the address on our NRIC can be changed or needs to be changed?

• G Offline
            galaxyraider

accord:
            Hi all,

1. What address can be used for registering my child in the Primary One (P1) Registration exercise?
            MOE reply: The address to be used is the official residential address on the parents’ NRIC. This address will be used to determine the home-school distance category.

If we rent a place to stay near the school, the address on our NRIC can be changed or needs to be changed?
            Yes, you have to change the address on your NRIC as rightfully you should live in that address.

• tankeeT Offline
              tankee

accord:
              Hi all,

NRIC should reflect the actual address that you reside in, owned or rented.

sianz_daddy

Just to take note that if you change to the rented address and that address is used in balloting, then you will have the rent there 30 months straight.

cherrygal

Hi

Anyone having trouble using the Onemap.sg School Query system? I have been trying for the past few days and it just hangs at the School Query system. Unable to check school-home distances. Tried using both Chrome and Internet Explorer on 2 diff computers. 🤷

JT69

cherrygal:
                    Hi

Anyone having trouble using the Onemap.sg School Query system? I have been trying for the past few days and it just hangs at the School Query system. Unable to check school-home distances. Tried using both Chrome and Internet Explorer on 2 diff computers. 🤷

No problem, it works perfectly, i just used it. You need to click on either find school near a building and place the ? to you the building that you stay and click. It will come out the search results

• G Offline
                      galaxyraider

cherrygal:
                      Hi

Your browsers might have some plugin issue. Have you tried Firefox? It works for me.

cherrygal

Thanks JT69 and Galaxyraider

I tried updating, restarting, installing Mozilla etc… all no use leh. Still gets stuck at the School Query window… even when I get to the dropdown page of schools, it’s empty and it keeps saying select schools… haiz. It’s OK lah… dun really need it urgently. Just wondering why I cannot access.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 153 / 238

P1 Registration 2027 Changes
                        DSA Discussions and Strategies