28 year old Singapore teacher burdened by hefty loan
what is the point of comparing last time and now. Things will never be the way it was. And why look only at the percieved good things about last time? What about the not so good things?
I am not saying there is no hardship out there and yes things are getting more competitive. But is the situation in Singapore that bad? Most young couples are still able to own a flat. From what I gather from most of my foreign frens, most young graduate couples in their country can only dream of owning a property. Most of them rent and will own a property only when they are in their 30s or even 40s and if they hail from cities like NY, London, Tokyo, that possibility is even slimmer. -
That was what I suspect too but my colleague, maybe, he wanted to glorify his mother did not elaborate more. He just added that his mother used the retirement pension from MOE and pay down the remaining loan.WeiHan:
Hey people....I not joking leh....I went to my colleague's mother's terrace house in Joo Chiat. His mother bought it in the 80s for something like 300k
I believe you on the price. My neighbour (semi-d) paid $200 - $300K for their house 30-40 years ago. In their case, they are business people so they said they bought 2 other semi-d (one opposite their house) and another down the road for their sons :roll:
But did you ask your friend's mother if she manage to buy that with her pay or maybe she had some inheritance, etc.... -
[quote=\"daisyt]
Actually hor, pardon me for being silly. Once, I had this thinking ... If everyday, work, go home, cook decent meals and eat at home, no TV, no aircon, the only entertainment is read books or chit chat with family at home. Weekend also the same thing. I think I can save a lot :lol: :D[/quote]
I support! Not silly!! That was what i did growing up and not only cost-saving, you bond more with family and is less stressed!!!!
daisyt:
Actually hor, pardon me for being silly. Once, I had this thinking ... If everyday, work, go home, cook decent meals and eat at home, no TV, no aircon, the only entertainment is read books or chit chat with family at home. Weekend also the same thing. I think I can save a lot :lol: :D[/quote]What is wrong with that? The problem is that people nowaday have the concepts that they should keep themselves with activities outside so that they feel their time not wasted. Even during tour, they have to rush to as many tourist spots as possible so that it is not wasted. But for me, quality look and experiencing of thing is more important than rushing through experience.....so I always have problem....people always ask me why I stay at a certain place for so many days...what is so nice to see there?WeiHan:
[quote=\"daisyt\"]
I think can leh ...
Last time, people don't go to movie often.
Last time, people don't eat out often, not to mention eat in restaurants.
Last time, no handphone bills to pay, no internet bills to pay, maybe even no home phone bills to pay.
Last time, what is the % of family had car?
Last time, not all family even had TV or radio, don't mention, cable tv, Blue Ray, DVD ...
Last time, people only listen to radio for songs, how many can afford a record player or even the record disc.
Last time, people only bought new clothings, shoes and bags during CNY.
Last time, no air con, no washing machine, so the utilities bills also not as high.
Last time ...... so far, thats all I can think of :idea:

Hey people....I not joking leh....I went to my colleague's mother's terrace house in Joo Chiat. His mother bought it in the 80s for something like 300k and she was a teacher...a MOE school teacher. And his father died quite early...so is a single parent family. -
on_plus_kiasu:
I support! Not silly!! That was what i did growing up and not only cost-saving, you bond more with family and is less stressed!!!![quote=\"daisyt]
Actually hor, pardon me for being silly. Once, I had this thinking ... If everyday, work, go home, cook decent meals and eat at home, no TV, no aircon, the only entertainment is read books or chit chat with family at home. Weekend also the same thing. I think I can save a lot :lol:
[/quote][/quote]
BUT..... like that also got problem. Nobody goes to the mall (which we've many in Singapore) and they will end up closing down one after another. Then we will have more jobless people on the street..... :scratchhead: -
My parents' first private property was $20-30k, supposedly the first high-rise apartment in Singapore :lol:WeiHan:
Late 80s, three room flat still 15k meh?
That was in 1972. So still within around 30's to 40's
In the 70s, private properties (not landed) should be around $100k+. -
I support! Not silly!! That was what i did growing up and not only cost-saving, you bond more with family and is less stressed!!!!on_plus_kiasu:
[quote=\"daisyt]
Actually hor, pardon me for being silly. Once, I had this thinking ... If everyday, work, go home, cook decent meals and eat at home, no TV, no aircon, the only entertainment is read books or chit chat with family at home. Weekend also the same thing. I think I can save a lot :lol:

BUT..... like that also got problem. Nobody goes to the mall (which we've many in Singapore) and they will end up closing down one after another. Then we will have more jobless people on the street..... :scratchhead:[/quote][/quote][/quote]
That just means that we will have a slower economic growth number but not necessarily means bad lifestyle...but definitely means less material wealth. Yes...more jobless people....becos more people very relax and stay at home to cook and chit chat with family members mah...like last time kampong lifestyle. -
Well, but what is money if itβs not to be spent? Iβm not advocating living beyond your means, but rather, if one doesnβt help out the economy, weβll all be in trouble.
Imagine a multi-millionaire, everyday eat instant noodles and drink plain water (extreme eg for illustration only). End of day when heβs lying in the grave, the only ones to thank him for his ways are those who get to spend the money he accumulate. -
yup yup! no matter what still gotta spend the money. But still got to spend within your means and save up and invest so your savings can work harder for you! and you can still have that terrace house when you are older!Well, but what is money if it's not to be spent? I'm not advocating living beyond your means, but rather, if one doesn't help out the economy, we'll all be in trouble.
Imagine a multi-millionaire, everyday eat instant noodles and drink plain water (extreme eg for illustration only). End of day when he's lying in the grave, the only ones to thank him for his ways are those who get to spend the money he accumulate.
you can take a page from these more experienced and financial savvy ladies here! -
WeiHan:
That just means that we will have a slower economic growth number but not necessarily means bad lifestyle...but definitely means less material wealth. Yes...more jobless people....becos more people very relax and stay at home to cook and chit chat with family members mah...like last time kampong lifestyle.
Ya, that's why I say silly thought mah. :lol:
I remember SARS period, saw on the news, whole suntec city like ghost town. That was the time, I did not go out for at least a few weekends!!
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.