Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Domestic Help
    10.3k Posts 915 Posters 3.6m Views 1 Watching
    • E Offline
      eyktay

Hi all,

I can't find my last post on this thread & am glad I posted cos a mummy has contacted me that her parent's family has gotten my ex-maid. As such, I thought I shall share more.

Since June 2009 till date, I've changed 4 helpers. Am having my 5th helper now. If she doesn't work out, I intend to go maidless. LOL! Too tired to keep training.

I've asked myself why did I've to change so many recently since I had 2 previous good ones. #1 worked for 7yrs & #2 worked for 2yrs.

After reading some forums & seeing the maids whom I returned back at the agency a few times, I concluded that it's the \"quality\" of helpers now. It boils down to our luck again.

For those looking for helpers, I urge that you go to BIGGER agencies, so there's a greater pool of maid for you to select, it'll be best if they have their OWN training centre. Else, the smaller ones may actually be getting maids from other agencies, or even those \"not so good quality\" ones. Also, do look at contract, with current situation of maids, find one that has UNLIMITED REPLACEMENT. With this, you do not have to be binded by the fact that although the helper is not good, u can't change.

I shall list down my previous 4 maids & reason why they left, it'll help those selecting, I know that 2 of them has found employers, other 2, may have found & returned back to agency again.
      1) Siti Asiyah - She's lazy, tells lies, stole food & $. She has a very funny way of sleeping, head out of bed & doesn't use pillow. After she left, then I reaslied she stole food, e.g. instant noodles uncooked & eat like Mamee. However, when you ask if she is hungry, she is always full. LOL! The last I know abt her, she has been transferred to another maid agency.

2) Nur Syiamsih
      - Attitude is good, but English is poor. The last I knew is that she is with an employer with 2 helpers in the house. I think this is good for her as she's a fresh maid.

3) Felixia Mogi - Superb liar & vain. Talks a lot. Poor attitude. Can't wake up in the morning, despite us switching on the light, she used blanket to cover her head to continue sleeping. LOL! Eventually, after 5 days, she resigned. Can't wait to pack bag & go. This maid has been given to various employers but got returned to agency a few times. She told her fellow maids that she loves to lie to employers. Will request to buy nice toileteries.

4) Mugi Lestari - SUPER BIG EATER! Lazy, love to sleep all the time. Liar as well. Can eat 1 plate of rice + 5 buns at one go. I am not stingy with food, but if you can't work........not worth it. Bad attitude. Rude as well. Calculative. Told her to go to my mum's house to wait for me once, she agreed but eventually did not go up. Sat at void deck to chit chat with others.

My current one is Elisabeth Etri Wahyuni. I understand that she has worked with an employer here since Oct 2009, but was transferred out as employer find her unsuitable. She has been with me for 2 weeks. So far so good. She has initiative & is polite. Can cook too. In case, anyone knows more abt her, I am glad to know too.

Good luck to all!
      The maids nowadays are choosy. If u've big house or have more kids, they will also not like to work for you.

The above are just my 2 cents, hope it helps.

• E Offline
        eyktay

madinked:
        MOM is full of bs, to be kind.

MOM will also fault employer if maid after maid asks for transfer, like quoting they prefer to work in another situation, like not wanting to care for elderly, etc. Whose fault, according to MOM? Employer.
        MOM = Ministry of Maids? :lol:

Well, I've called up MOM before, why penalise employers?
        They told me that they DO look at eash case on a case to case basis.
        As such, if can, when you return maid, get agency to do some writeup as proof on why maid was returned. I know some agencies keep a log of it.

• E Offline
          eyktay

lovekidsverymuch:
          minnie2004:

My DH is neutral to both but thinks it maybe easier to hire a transfer maid. Both of them were born in the year of ox (usually more hard working), one is a libra and the other is scorpion. Yes, I'm resorting to astrology as they are quite accurate in predicting a person's character šŸ˜„ .

hahaha this was funny

You're not alone! I was so sian selecting maids over & over again that I do look at these too. šŸ˜„ But dun trust fully la. As a guide is fine.

• E Offline
            eyktay

lovekidsverymuch:
            eyktay:

[quote=\"lovekidsverymuch\"]
            hahaha this was funny

You're not alone! I was so sian selecting maids over & over again that I do look at these too. šŸ˜„ But dun trust fully la. As a guide is fine.

hahahaa is it but then sometimes they dont give incorrect birthdate :!:[/quote]That's true lor.
            I heard of someone who even brings 2 biodatas to go temple to choose.
            LOL!
            But think positive, every change in helper makes us learn some things.
            Smtimes without helpers may also be a blessing in disguise.
            The in/out helpers time we had, made my kids learnt more too.

Si Si

tree nymph:
              Si Si:

Thank God that everything went well when I sent my helper home this morning. She actually apologised and asked for forgiveness and that was a pleasant surprise. :love: It helped that I got an agent to break the news to her.

Hi Si Si,
              Is yours an Indon maid? Cos its their practise to apologise and ask for forgiveness and give thanks when they depart.

šŸ™‚

She was a Christian Myanmerese. I had 2 Indon helpers before but don't remember them saying that. Or maybe those 2 did not do much wrong. Before this Myanmerese was also another Myanmerese, she was asked to leave after 23 months with me after I found out she repeatedly sneaked in hps even when I empahsized no hp while working. She had 4 by the time i asked her to leave. Never apologise. Therefore, I don't know is it a cultural thing or their beliefs or upbringing???

Si Si

The in/out helpers time we had, made my kids learnt more too.[/quote]

This is so true!!!
                I wonder how did some countries manage so well without maids???

• E Offline
                  eyktay

Si Si:

The in/out helpers time we had, made my kids learnt more too.
                  This is so true!!!
                  I wonder how did some countries manage so well without maids???[/quote]

Well, but maids shld never be indispensable.
                  And I guess some countries, it's not dual income needed.

hquek

eyktay:

Agree, I never let my maids know they are indispensible.

My godma's ex-maid knew that and she never loses any opportunity to talk back to my godma or show black face to her cos she felt secure in her job.

• E Offline
                      eyktay

lovekidsverymuch:

[quote=\"eyktay\"]

My godma's ex-maid knew that and she never loses any opportunity to talk back to my godma or show black face to her cos she felt secure in her job.

:!: :!: Dont let them know we love them[/quote]Love with discretion...

Si Si

eyktay:

That's what happened to my ex-maid. I bore with her over so many incidents and even expressed that it would be good that if she could work long term with me (during better days)....then followed with never-ending demands, expectations and attitudes until I bit the bullet and sacked her!!! We really do not need to be at their egoistic mercies. It should be a fair deal from both sides.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 195 / 1032