In-law problems?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Relationships
    5.3k Posts 331 Posters 1.4m Views 1 Watching
      hquek

winth:

She called him, ask him how come dun wan BBQ, cos everyone has got to eat wat... And DH corrected her saying that for married men and involved fathers, it's not as easy as just coming out for dinners as childless couples. So, that kinda shut her up.
      And honestly, not everyone likes bbq.
      winth:
      Now, she has a house to clean, she now tells people she has no time to exercise...you know, people need to clean house leh...

Just months back, she was like mocking us how come we are so lazy... dun find time to go jogging or cycling...
      Hurray for karma! (sorry I very pai)

winth

lovekidsverymuch:
        winth but u should be really lucky to have a hubby who totally supports u........... 😉

Thanks. He is very supportive of me :love:
        That's after many years of disagreements and compromises though. But still... :love:

winth

winth:

She called him, ask him how come dun wan BBQ, cos everyone has got to eat wat... And DH corrected her saying that for married men and involved fathers, it's not as easy as just coming out for dinners as childless couples. So, that kinda shut her up.

And honestly, not everyone likes bbq.
          winth:
          Now, she has a house to clean, she now tells people she has no time to exercise...you know, people need to clean house leh...

Just months back, she was like mocking us how come we are so lazy... dun find time to go jogging or cycling...
          Hurray for karma! (sorry I very pai)

It's okay, I'm very pai too... Hehe... 😉

auntieM

me 'pai' too 😛

Overheard DH talking to MIL about being out of town and too busy to attend relative's wedding.. ...no leh, he didn't travel and had no plans too. He is busy battling Wii game with son during 'wedding' time slot

Gone are the days MIL called then we have to go over to where she eating and pay the bill.

• FunzF Offline
              Funz

Actually these days, I do not have any issues with my MIL. Just that some of the things that she does make me go like ummmm....

DH is on a sabbatical from work to sort out what he wants to do next. He told MIL about it and the first thing out of her mouth was not concern about how he feels or his mental well being. Her first words were \"wah then like that I jialat oredi lah.\" To which DH asked her why jialat. Her answer was \"you no pay then you will not be giving me money oredi so jialat lah.\" DH was speechless. He ask her if money is all she thinks of.

2 weeks after that, she called to remind DH about attending a cousin's wedding. DH told her he will not be attending and asked her to give ang bao on his behalf. Next moment he got a call from his aunty asking him if he is ok. Apparently his mum told his aunty that he is mentally unwell so he will not be attending the wedding. :stupid:

hquek

Apparently his mum told his aunty that he is mentally unwell so he will not be attending the wedding. :stupid:

Your MIL got fertile imagination (read the other thread about her wunderfriends who can cure all sickness with their prayers). 😛

• FunzF Offline
                  Funz

Apparently his mum told his aunty that he is mentally unwell so he will not be attending the wedding. :stupid:

Your MIL got fertile imagination (read the other thread about her wunderfriends who can cure all sickness with their prayers). 😛

LOL.

Yah boy. I guess she kinda expounded on the reason DH gave her. Which was he dun want to go cos very fan(2) to face all the aunty & uncles and cousins and explain to them why he on sabbatical since MIL told all of them he is not working now.

shine_fs

I am back again....was so busy these few weeks and had no time to log in....sighz....

:rubhands: now I can KPO again.... :lol:

winth

MIL is now into some Malaysia trip project for this upcoming July and has been trying to ‘brainwash’ DH into going for this trip for 2 months (for every weekend we go there). She would always tell him about the place and what they would do in the trip. Naturally, I thought I was included in the trip cos I thought she was talking to us.

Conversation with MIL last week:
                      MIL: blah blah nice trip… blah blah, this July blah blah… DH’s sis going, then with her hubby in… blah blah…
                      (moments of silence later)
                      MIL: (my name), so are you going?
                      Me: mmm, depends on DH. Let him decide…
                      MIL: So, like dat, who will take care of the kids?

(I was totally confused… she got me there and I couldn’t answer…)

DH: We will go as a family what, (my name) goes, children will go together with me.
                      MIL: oooooo…

What’s your interpretation on this?
                      Does she even expect/want me to go?

I took 2 days to process that bit of information (cos it didn’t make any sense to me) before I interpreted from the conversation as me and my kids are excluded.

Maybe I’m wrong, maybe I’m sensitive.

I don’t mind not going at all, just that, I thought it was some kinda family trip that she was trying to sell to DH (and/or me).
                      But now, from my own interpretation, it seems like she’s not including me and the kids (cos no one taking care) in her Malaysia trip, then I’m under no obligation to go.

I told DH the logic behind that conversation, I told him that I wouldn’t be going and the boys as well. I told him that he’s free to go if he chooses to. But now, DH is having doubts about going too…
                      The next week we went, she brought up the subject again to DH and SIL and DH told her to not talk about it again and he will decide whether to go or not when the date is nearing.

auntieM

winth,

Sounds like your MIL needs bonding time with her kiddos..
                        😛

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 118 / 529

MehjarM
                        Mehjar
                        raineeR
                        rainee