pineapple tarts:
6 mths still homesick? I asked her to call back her mother, she don't want.
Maybe she din sleep well, still homesick? Or her alarm clock fail her?shine_fs:
Am so angry this morning, again my maid can't wake up. This is the 6 times in 6 mths for her. :x
Tell me what should I do?
Alarm clock fail her, :lol: will buy 2 bigger 1 for her... -
shine_fs:
Thing is, are you sure she's really sleeping at 1030? Not chatting on the phone/reading book/what not?
She have some good points, that's why I still keep her till now. If not I will send her back 3 mths ago lor.....but if she can't improve or change, she make me no choice to send her back to her home town.
Couple of times, my godma's ex-maid busily chatting deep into the night...and cos she was so loud, even the whole family kena disturbed. end up next morning I think the maid cannot wake up.
My ex-maid, she gets to retire to her room at 8.30pm. What she do, I don't want to see. She wakes up about 5.30am. Still she can get dark eye circles (no phone, she probably praying/reading)....can pengz. -
shine_fs:
Put at different spot....but that may mean the whole house wake up with her.
6 mths still homesick? I asked her to call back her mother, she don't want.
Alarm clock fail her, :lol: will buy 2 bigger 1 for her...
I think eyktay's one is classic....still can cover blanket over head. Win liao. -
shine_fs:
Sonehow, I've a feeling that she's not taking you seriously enough to change even after you've spoken to her about this. And the fact that she's still new (just 6mths into the job) and already overslept 6 times....wowI went thu' the time table with her on the 1st day she was here.
I gave her an alarm clock. I talked to her already, but seems no effect leh......
I've a tight ship to run too and fully understands how disruptive it is just because maid oversleeps.
If I were you, I would set aside time to have a serious talk with her about this. Tell her plainly what your expectations are in no uncertain terms. Let her know that she needs to change, else her services may be terminated. If she's serious about her work, she will change. If not, no point keeping her cos this speaks volumes about her working attitude.
JMHO. -
cmm:
I have not tell you gals the best part, she no need to look after my baby. I wakes up every morning ard 5am ~ 530am to feed milk. Tat's why I know she overslept lah...if not she can cover her backside wakes up 6am and do house work huh.....too bad lor
Sonehow, I've a feeling that she's not taking you seriously enough to change even after you've spoken to her about this. And the fact that she's still new (just 6mths into the job) and already overslept 6 times....wowshine_fs:
I went thu' the time table with her on the 1st day she was here.
I gave her an alarm clock. I talked to her already, but seems no effect leh......
I've a tight ship to run too and fully understands how disruptive it is just because maid oversleeps.
If I were you, I would set aside time to have a serious talk with her about this. Tell her plainly what your expectations are in no uncertain terms. Let her know that she needs to change, else her services may be terminated. If she's serious about her work, she will change. If not, no point keeping her cos this speaks volumes about her working attitude.
JMHO. -
I am sure she is not chatting cos she don't even own a mobile. Reading cooking book....maybe..I do come out to check my house windows whether close before going to sleep. I can peep on her too. So, I don't think she can do any other thing beside sleep...don't tell me she open eyes and sleep lor... :!:Thing is, are you sure she's really sleeping at 1030? Not chatting on the phone/reading book/what not?
Couple of times, my godma's ex-maid busily chatting deep into the night...and cos she was so loud, even the whole family kena disturbed. end up next morning I think the maid cannot wake up.
My ex-maid, she gets to retire to her room at 8.30pm. What she do, I don't want to see. She wakes up about 5.30am. Still she can get dark eye circles (no phone, she probably praying/reading)....can pengz. -
:snooze:Put at different spot....but that may mean the whole house wake up with her.
I think eyktay's one is classic....still can cover blanket over head. Win liao. -
lovekidsverymuch:
I totally agree with you, my maid did that twice and I gave her very stern warning, havent happened again though its just 4 months after the warning given

I told my maid agent, what she suggested is to cut S$10 from the maid. -
shine_fs:
She have some good points, that's why I still keep her till now. If not I will send her back 3 mths ago lor.....but if she can't improve or change, she make me no choice to send her back to her home town.
Good points?
To me, she can't wake up despite having been told is attitude prob, not keen in work & taking for granted. JM2C. -
For me, my maid overslept 2x when she was new. Apparently the alarm clock did not work or she did know how to turn it on. So i bought her a super loud one. Initially i would wake up at 5:15am to ensure she is awake to make breakefast. Now i guess it is part of her routine, so she is punctual on waking up.
I wake my kids up personally, eat breakfast together, ensure that they get changed and take them to school on my way to work. I find this routine a means of bonding with them.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.