[PSLE MT] PSLE less weightage in Chinese / Mother Tongue
Dear all parents,
Please use this feedback form and send your comments to MOE.
http://www.moe.gov.sg/feedback/
They will definitely reply you, I tried it before.
Based on my experience with maid issues, we can complain thousands of times in the internet forums, the gahmen pretends not to see. This is because one person can create many different accounts and post under different nicknames. The gahmen only wants to listen to comments from \"real people\". -
When I first heard that he wants his kids to learn Chinese in Singapore, I wanted to laugh. I mean if he wants his kids to learn 半桶水 Chinese, and 半桶水 English, then Singapore is the place :lol: We cannot depend on government schools to teach Chinese properly, I believe that most kids who excel in Chinese either attend a lot of enrichment classes, or their parents have a great passion to teach them Chinese at home.In the example of Jim Roger who wanted his kids to have chinese education and sent them to NYPS and he immigrated to live in Singapore to do that.
Now Happy's mother tongue is English ...... so how do u lower the standard for her ? Ooops, she is here to study Chinese but we are lowering it ..... won't he feel \"cheated\" by the changing target ? \"wth, why do i come to singapore for ?\" -
tamarind:
aiya .. no say us like that la.... :oops:
When I first heard that he wants his kids to learn Chinese in Singapore, I wanted to laugh. I mean if he wants his kids to learn 半桶水 Chinese, and 半桶水 English, then Singapore is the place :lol: We cannot depend on government schools to teach Chinese properly, I believe that most kids who excel in Chinese either attend a lot of enrichment classes, or their parents have a great passion to teach them Chinese at home.verykiasu2010:
In the example of Jim Roger who wanted his kids to have chinese education and sent them to NYPS and he immigrated to live in Singapore to do that.
Now Happy's mother tongue is English ...... so how do u lower the standard for her ? Ooops, she is here to study Chinese but we are lowering it ..... won't he feel \"cheated\" by the changing target ? \"wth, why do i come to singapore for ?\" -
They are not talking about lowering the standards for all. They are reviewing if the weightage given to MT should be <25% in computing the T score. Question is, what percentage of PSLE students get A*? In order to get into top secondary schools, maybe only an A is not enough, let alone B.
if the top secondary school is willing to bend their system and accept your appeal to let you in by the name of DSA whatsoever sports talent, you have made your connection work and we don't care. but now because you cannot get into the top secondary school because of one subject while others can and you want to change the system ? this is worse than other countries where officials can change rules as and when they like
like someone posted, 93% of students got A*, A, & B for PSLE chinese and we still want to lower the standard ?
First thing that came to my mind after reading the news was, is this an election gimmick?
Second thing that came to mind, if this is indeed implemented, how many parents would still bother to cultivate a Mandarin-speaking home environment, which runs contrary to what MM Lee was encouraging in some of his past speeches on this topic. -
Exactly, how can we PENALISE kids who are truly BILINGUAL by lowering competition standard.... ai yaya... I find the general mindset very loser leh for those who cannot compete and want to change the rules... :roll: Sorry but true...vlim:
AIYA... I hope they can decide fast and benefit the p6 next yr...

I don't want that to happen, bc my p5 boy is better in chinese! And he is not even in that \"certain group of non-singaporean\" nor \"singaporean import\". He's a true-blooded singaporean, born here, and to an English-speaking family background.
If they change the MT weightage, it will affect him adversely.
Example for discussion, I am using extreme weightage to show the marked difference for illustration:
Good in English : 98%
Poor in CH: 84% (21)
Total = 182
New total = 119
Good in English: 91
Good in CH: 91(22.75)
Total = 182
New total = 113.75
Is this fair? Again, we are trying to engineer the kind of children we want to be groomed for better things.... Why? An all-rounder is not better than an extremely good English speaker?
Btw, my child is NOT GOOD in Chinese, but I have not lost any hopes as a parent.
My recommendation would be...normal MOE schools should continue to groom ALL-ROUNDERS. However, set up a separate academy for people strong in English+ Math or English+Science and groom them separately for their special talent for some designated vocation like scientists, lecturers....where Chinese language is no barrier. And even for this group, there should be a quota set...so it won't end up in a situation whereby most people will take the easy way out to drop Chinese and go for this academy. -
I can agree on the change if we are like the Japanese, no race.
Means end the old Race...
Race : None
Nationality: SingaBrit
Language : English or Singlish
But this is drastic. :lol: -
Honestly how can we look chinese and yet don’t know the language. Just like angmo dunno how to speak english. To begin with, chinese is already not the kids favourite and now with recommendation, it seems to encourage the kids to let go. How abt those kids who are facing problem with Maths & Science or even English, shld they also lower the average then? So much effort, campaign on 多讲华语and now they are saying language is not important jus becos "some" kids cannot cope and thus enter into normal stream. CRAP!
Let’s give a hypothetical and conservative change situation to understand the change if any;
if all 3 other subjects increase by 1% weighting and reduce Mother Tongue weighting according, then what is the impact?
English 26%
Maths 26%
Science 26%
Mother Tongue 22%
total = 100%
then the 3 other subjects will be 3 x 4% = 12% more than Mother Tongue new 22%, impact can be considerable.
It will be interesting to see how the weighting formula will change in future if any, or to remain status quo. -
James Ang:
Let's give a hypothetical and conservative change situation to understand the change if any;
if all 3 other subjects increase by 1% weighting and reduce Mother Tongue weighting according, then what is the impact?
English 26%
Maths 26%
Science 26%
Mother Tongue 22%
total = 100%
then the 3 other subjects will be 3 x 4% = 12% more than Mother Tongue new 22%, impact can be considerable.
It will be interesting to see how the weighting formula will change in future if any, or to remain status quo.
world cup is coming
if one team complains that the football pitch is too big to run about, then they will make the football pitch smaller ?
come another match, change the football pitch size again lor -
insider:
Sounds like a rallying call leh, insider...So, unless...
we can change some of these 'leaders'......
election coming? :lol:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.