Travel: Japan - General

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Holiday Ideas
    3.2k Posts 386 Posters 785.0k Views 1 Watching
      jetsetter

angeltngthan:
      ptb7476:

[quote=\"angeltngthan\"]Ptb7476,

Same, want to bring the kids to experience the eatery and have sushi ourselves. Do they serve chawamushi?

some do but based on what i observed they more likely to serve tamago than chawamushi so you need to choose your eatery wisely cos most of them quite long queue

i went to sushizanmai and ordered teriyaki cod fish for my son while we ate sashimi / sushi ... .. and my 14month gal still in lala land when we eat :rotflmao:

Thanks ptb7476

I am thinking of staying at Chiba area and driving to Mother Farm. Is it worth the cost to do that for a day? What are the recommmended car rental co and where should we collect and return the car?

For eg if we stay at Hilton Tokyo Bay, will it be near to Takashimaya there?[/quote]Not sure about Mother Farm, but you can read reviews on TA.

As for Tokyo Bay which is where Maihama station is to Shinjuku Times Square Takashimaya, it's going to take you 45min on the train + 15 min of transit/waiting.

http://i66.tinypic.com/2eanga9.png\">

Most people prefer to stay in downtown hotels, as they need to shop. They only commute to Tokyo Bay and spend a day or at most two at Disneyland and no more. It's cheaper however to stay at Tokyo Bay.

• MyPillowM Offline
        MyPillow

angeltngthan:
        If i should just go Disneyland only and wait till the kids are older to go Disneysea? What is your advice?

my kids enjoyed disneyland a lot at 6 and 11 yo .
        U must plan your day, wat are the top rides u want to go for
        then get the free FASTPASS once u enter the park and go for other rides
        we focused a lot on rides and makan the lil yummy snacks in the park , some parades ( in winter, there are a few parades a day including a grand finale in night under the stars) . I feel no point spending my time to take photos with characters inJapan disney as the Japanese are ga-ga over this, the Q can be v v long )
        My top choice ride is Space Mountain - same as California experince -v gd v dark , cannot predict the turns
        Star rides - (starwar 4D - there are two different rides - left and right theatre- go for both - V good)
        Haunted castle - hilariously cute rides

Cinderella Castle is beautiful - u can go inside and wear the glass slippers and sit on the throne

food here is v reasonably priced due to our exchg rate and lots of cute bakery (compared to Hk one)

Ht restriction here is abt 112cm , even for space mountain - but i feel some 112cm kids may not able to take the heart plunging moment. my dd was exceptional coz ds \"bribed\" her with two cute chip n dale in order to take the rides as a family - i felt \"sorry\" for her then :evil:

jetsetter

ptb7476:
          jetsetter:

[quote=\"ptb7476\"]i am back ... my gosh the weather here is so hot .. sure missed the temp in tokyo

and Dnls_mum ...i can't find those baby food ...hardly see any proper supermarket dunno izzt i blind or i simply can't see it ...but lucky i bought a lot in singapore and bring it there

You're back! You didn't go to Isetan supermarket at the basement? There's one at Taka too, right? Keio and Odakyu don't have I recall.

Btw, there're a lot of Wakodo baby porridge at Meiyi-da. I just went there last week...

i went taka , keio and odakyu .. can't find leh :oops:[/quote]No wonder...you missed out on Isetan's supermarket!

For travellers with tots, you may go to Meidi-ya Central to get Wakodo bb porridge and other organic snacks. Not cheap though.

http://i63.tinypic.com/2m668v9.jpg\">

ptb7476

jetsetter:

No wonder...you missed out on Isetan's supermarket!

For travellers with tots, you may go to Meidi-ya Central to get Wakodo bb porridge and other organic snacks. Not cheap though.

http://i63.tinypic.com/2m668v9.jpg\">
            no time to go isetan mah ... never mind next time ... :evil:
            woah...so many varieties ...
            yes agreed not cheap that is like per meal S$7-8+

Dnls_mum

jetsetter:
              angeltngthan:

Thanks ptb7476

I am thinking of staying at Chiba area and driving to Mother Farm. Is it worth the cost to do that for a day? What are the recommmended car rental co and where should we collect and return the car?

For eg if we stay at Hilton Tokyo Bay, will it be near to Takashimaya there?

Not sure about Mother Farm, but you can read reviews on TA.

As for Tokyo Bay which is where Maihama station is to Shinjuku Times Square Takashimaya, it's going to take you 45min on the train + 15 min of transit/waiting.

http://i66.tinypic.com/2eanga9.png\">

Most people prefer to stay in downtown hotels, as they need to shop. They only commute to Tokyo Bay and spend a day or at most two at Disneyland and no more. It's cheaper however to stay at Tokyo Bay.

I hav not been to Mother Farm, but I understand can take train also. No need to drive.
              Regarding hotel just like what Jetsetter said, my friends who stay Tokyo bay also do so because cheaper. But if really need shopping, then split stay lah. 1 or 2 days Tokyo Bay, near Disney, then the rest stay Shinjuku for shopping.

• starlight1968sgS Offline
                starlight1968sg

I did explore going that Farm but in the end didnt go bec to see farms, Australia or NZ may be better choices

ptb7476

starlight1968sg:
                  I did explore going that Farm but in the end didnt go bec to see farms, Australia or NZ may be better choices

never cross my mind to go japan farm..

when it come to farm ...aust or NZ or taiwan come to my mind :siam:

• starlight1968sgS Offline
                    starlight1968sg

From 26 Mar 2016, Tokyo to Shin Hakodate in 4hr

http://www2.jrhokkaido.co.jp/global/eng ... sen02.html

ptb7476

http://www2.jrhokkaido.co.jp/global/eng ... /fares.pdf

more exp than plane but would be found .. hmm..maybe can consider one way on train but need to find how to transfer from station to ski resort though :rotflmao:

• MyPillowM Offline
                        MyPillow

ptb7476:

http://www2.jrhokkaido.co.jp/global/eng ... /fares.pdf

more exp than plane but would be found .. hmm..maybe can consider one way on train but need to find how to transfer from station to ski resort though :rotflmao:
                        pass by Fukushima route right? :shock: ?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 221 / 322