Any Updates As To When PSLE T-Scores Will Be Scrapped?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary 6 & PSLE
    1.2k Posts 1 Posters 240.6k Views 1 Watching
      jetsetter

did anyone read yesterday's papers, something about MOE may reveal new banding this week ?

can post article here ?

did they mention implement wef which batch ?
      My gut feel tells me unlikely to be this batch. It's just not fair to the 2016 PSLE children. OH and DSA applications should be starting soon. There must be enough time given to let parents digest, organise focus group discussions to gather feedback on how to fine-tune the grading system, lest they see another protest staged at HLP or another online petition to PMO. Nowadays, they prefer to consult the public. LOL...

It might hit 2017 batch onwards, if it's announced in 2016. PM spoke about this 3 years ago. Surely the new minister can't continue to sit on it after so long, right?

sushi88

zulu:

Not everyone start their kids early on sports/music/arts for the purposes of DSA or to gain an advantage over other kids. The fact is that starting early allows the kid to realize his/her full potential should he/she be interested in pursuing that interest further.
        I agree wth you. If parents start their kids with such a motive, then they are likely the ones who will blame the system when it does not work out. I let my kids do what they like without any consideration about CCA or DSA or whatever. Then when they excel in what they do, chances of contributing in a CCA or trying for DSA just becomes a bonus of the skills they carry with them and they continue to enjoy their passion.

jetsetter

darwinkoh:
          superkiasudad:

Well, i am worried about my son's careless mistakes now because 1 mark lost (in a subject) could equate to a 1 or even 2 point difference in his T-score (depending on how to cohort did in that subject). It's all down to a quirk to the T-score formula (as explained to me in the PTM). At least i know now that if he makes a couple of careless mistakes and loses 1 or 2 marks, he would most likely remain in the same academic grade band for that subject.

Dun really agree....
          Ultimately, individual grade still depend on the respective subject score. Imagine the careless mistake push you down by 1 grade. E.g. a student with 3 subjects of score 99 and 1 subject 89 is ranked lower than one with all four subjects 90 marks. The new proposed policy merely turn what used to be a gentle slope to a series of steps.... Each single mark will either dun make any difference or a bigger difference than before. I think it is less fair.
          Same analogy with paying for parking... u prefer a coupon system which charge u in period of 30min or 1 which charge u the amount u actually parked.

superkiasudad: then u are inadvertently penalising those who exercise care and make it a point to check and double-check before submission. :shock: They will be banded with the careless ones šŸ˜› Oh wells

darwinkoh: Not sure if they will rank like that ultimately. Pardon my dumb question, but I don't quite understand what you meant. You using raw scores? 386 scorer (the specialist in 3 subjects) will end up being ranked lower than 360 scorer (the generalist)?

I believe they won't base on the actual raw score. They should still rank one's score within the cohort, so the specialist isn't shortchanged. It must be set against a bell curve like the current system, but convert the T-score to an O-level type of point, as PM had openly suggested 3 years ago.

Of course, from the article, we have educators who don't favour ranking one's performance in relation to others' performance...

• FunzF Offline
            Funz

jetsetter:

did anyone read yesterday's papers, something about MOE may reveal new banding this week ?

can post article here ?

My gut feel tells me unlikely to be this batch. It's just not fair to the 2016 PSLE children. OH and DSA applications should be starting soon. There must be enough time given to let parents digest, organise focus group discussions to gather feedback on how to fine-tune the grading system, lest they see another protest staged at HLP or another online petition to PMO. Nowadays, they prefer to consult the public. LOL...

It might hit 2017 batch onwards, if it's announced in 2016. PM spoke about this 3 years ago. Surely the new minister can't continue to sit on it after so long, right?

Aiyoh. Mai lah. šŸ˜“ After 2017 can?

jetsetter

If they really take a leaf from O-level grades: A1, A2, or even break down to A3, A4, B5, B6, B7, B8... šŸ˜“ , then an L1R3 point or whatever they wish to call it could be derived? LOL.

The HMT bonus and affiliation bonus could be offset from this L1R3 the same way as they normally do during O levels JAE, if they still want to retain either of these perks.

jetsetter

jetsetter:

[quote=\"phtthp\"]did anyone read yesterday's papers, something about MOE may reveal new banding this week ?

can post article here ?

Aiyoh. Mai lah. šŸ˜“ After 2017 can?[/quote]Haha...it's anyone's guess. It's better to announce early, elicit feedback, tweak it before rolling it out. All these mustn't be done too close to the next GE! muahahaah....And must be after BB BE!!!! :siam:

Pen88n

jetsetter:

Funz, 2017 batch seems to be a year of changes - change oral and some subject paper format and in case of this change too. I think it is probably a little late to announce change for this year's batch - be it the DSA or T-score format. They have to announce and allow for time to clarify queries and any potential issues. Schools have not been briefed and no clarity on this - in fact some schools just had parent briefing talking about T-score, PSLE and preparing for DSA.

• lee_ylL Offline
                    lee_yl

jetsetter:

Haha...it's anyone's guess. It's better to announce early, elicit feedback, tweak it before rolling it out. All these mustn't be done too close to the next GE! muahahaah....And must be after BB BE!!!! :siam:

Why mustn't be done too close to next GE? I thought the article claims that the new grading system is popular with majority of the parents? Then should dish out right before next GE! šŸ˜† just like the PG card.

As long as it doesn't affect the 2017 batch, I am ok.
                    :dowan:

nicnac

Mai lah, after 2018 can?. Too late to reverse current CCA choice leh. . And no chance to be prefect since selection interview is already over.

• iRabbitI Offline
                        iRabbit

If swapping T-score with grades is such a desired thing, why are most parents, including myself, hoping that their dc's batch doesn't get hit. šŸ˜†

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 10 / 121