Any Updates As To When PSLE T-Scores Will Be Scrapped?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary 6 & PSLE
    1.2k Posts 1 Posters 231.9k Views 1 Watching
      FB555

pirate:
      iRabbit:

Have you spoken to parents of kids from RI/HCI before, and asked how hard their kids have to work despite meeting the COP.

Now we're saying to enlarge the pool, thereby indirectly lowering the std of the intake. I'm just not as positive as you. I feel that something has to give.

You place too much faith in T-scores as an accurate predictor of how well a child is able to keep up. Someone who went for tuition for all 4 subjects, did tons of assessment books and just made the COP is more likely to struggle than someone with no tuition, fooled around most of the time and missed the COP by 10.

The idea of a 'top' secondary school is an invention by parents. If one is gunning for a place in a top university, coming from a 'top' secondary school is actually a disadvantage. Between 2 applicants with similar results, the likes of Oxford and Cambridge is more likely to select the student from the secondary school or JC they have never heard of. They already have enough students from RI and HCI.

For less than perfect results an applicant from RI/HCI will have practically no chance because in their minds 'everybody there has perfect scores'. 25 years ago my don already commented \"everybody from Hwa Chong has 4 As.\" Someone from the likes of Millenia Institute who just missed a perfect score may still be considered.

Top universities want diversity. They want their universities to be interesting places. A Singaporean student from RI/HCI is not interesting. They have them every year.

Overseas U is for the rich kids.
      Most people can only afford to go local U. NUS is the best choice. Even local U also have ranking,

FB555

FB555:

Those Top sec schools will not be able to identify which is the 'top cream' of the whole corhort so i don't know how they are going to admit new sec 1 students, since there will be a lot if p6 students falling into the same 'A' grade.

there has already noise being made by public(in the straits times) abt top sec sch 'chope' bright students thru DSA.

I don't see why MOE would want to hide raw score's from their secondary schools.

:imanisland:
        Hello Chief
        So that is why i think the change doesn't solve problem.
        Eg 2 stidents having the same 'A' grade results, may not qualify for the same list of sec sch.
        The peer pressure still there when they compare with each other's list of eligible sch and the change is only good on paper.

Busymom

Atan:
          I know what you ladies are talking about. I noticed the trend too. In 2014, the Head Prefect was fm GEP n the Vice one from META.

Head prefect 2016 too.

If not mistaken, last year as well.

Busymom

pirate:
            Aiyah. The majority of kids are not in GEP schools, where there is no such things as META lah. There are only 9 GEP schools. You guys are all worked up over 9 head prefects and 9 vice head prefects a year?

Doesn't have to be GEP schools. It's the same in neighborhood schools.

Bottom line is, leadership positions are given mostly by teachers based on subjective selection.

• dimsumD Offline
              dimsum

Busymom:
              pirate:

Aiyah. The majority of kids are not in GEP schools, where there is no such things as META lah. There are only 9 GEP schools. You guys are all worked up over 9 head prefects and 9 vice head prefects a year?

Bottom line is, leadership positions are given mostly by teachers based on subjective selection.

pirate, we are not referring to only GEP schools. for ALL schools, higher % of prefects come fr the top classes. So good results = got leadership capabilities?
              Significantly more girls than boys chosen to be prefects in coed schs. Why? As they are really more guai. But does guai = good leaders? U can take a look at Pei Chun sch thread. One mummy wrote a pretty long post on this biasness.

pirate

dimsum:
                pirate, we are not referring to only GEP schools. for ALL schools, higher % of prefects come fr the top classes. So good results = got leadership capabilities?

Significantly more girls than boys chosen to be prefects in coed schs. Why? As they are really more guai. But does guai = good leaders? U can take a look at Pei Chun sch thread. One mummy wrote a pretty long post on this biasness.
                So how? Choose prefects and monitors from the naughty ones? :scared:

But don't get me wrong hor. Personally, I feel that using \"leadership\" as a criteria for admission to secondary school is BS.

Computerized balloting is better and more transparent. šŸ˜‰

Busymom

pirate:
                  dimsum:

So how? Choose prefects and monitors from the naughty ones? :scared:

But don't get me wrong hor. Personally, I feel that using \"leadership\" as a criteria for admission to secondary school is BS.

Computerized balloting is better and more transparent. šŸ˜‰

You'll be surprised how the naughty ones could become well behaved when made the monitors šŸ˜‰

And there are those who know how to impress teachers but disliked by majority in class who are made prefects. Well, no one would know of course, except those from the class.

• cool_hiC Offline
                    cool_hi

Busymom:
                    pirate:

:goodpost:
                    Exactly same sentiments!!
                    Too subjective!!
                    & i seriously dread To see
                    some/many parents teach kids try to ęžå…³ē³»
                    at such a young age!!or parents do/show their kids!
                    What kind of moral values?
                    & really rob kids of their innocent childhood :slapshead:

pirate

If it is not just GEP schools, then leave GEP and META out of it, ok?

I am not even the parent of a child in GEP, but I still found the reference to GEP kids in this instance to be gratuitous pressing of emotion buttons. The point can be made (and has since been better made) without resorting to this.

pirate

FB555:

Overseas U is for the rich kids.
                        Most people can only afford to go local U. NUS is the best choice. Even local U also have ranking,
                        For local U, die die must get into RI/HCI for what? Any secondary school also can go to JC/Millenia Institute and then to local U. RI/HCI got 'Get into NUS Free' card meh? :scratchhead:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 31 / 121