Any Updates As To When PSLE T-Scores Will Be Scrapped?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary 6 & PSLE
    1.2k Posts 1 Posters 231.3k Views 1 Watching
      Pen88n

Are you sure having many p6ers having same score banding and then ended up balloting for schools will be less stressful for kids and parents than the current T-score system? :scratchhead:

In future, even if the kid score well and have good results, the family will still have to worry about his / her luck in getting into whichever school they want (can be distance, school culture, etc.) :nailbite:

pirate

Pen88n:
        pirate:

[quote=\"jetsetter\"]They also need to equalise the scores of those who've been exempted from Mother Tongue.

3 subjects vs 4 subjects.

Make it L1R2. 😉 :scared: :siam:

Then might as well drop MT then - since it is a 2nd language and not featured in your proposed equation :yikes: :faint: :siam:[/quote] :imanangel:

sleepy

MyPillow:
          lee_yl:

T-score is straight forward, objective and transparent, worked well for us for the past 30 years, albeit with some negative points. Parents complained and asked for something else, what if the new process is now more subjective and opaque? Blame who?

i thought majority of parents hope for a lighter syllabus for pri kids, to have more happi learning culture , true joy of learning, more excursions, less tests/exams etc this type of holistic/ new chg is never in my radar .in fact i was caught by surprise - by the way the authority is adding more ingredients to the not so simple psle

这情况算不算 '求仁反不得仁'? :nailbite:

• Z Offline
            zulu

Pen88n:
            Are you sure having many p6ers having same score banding and then ended up balloting for schools will be less stressful for kids and parents than the current T-score system? :scratchhead:

In future, even if the kid score well and have good results, the family will still have to worry about his / her luck in getting into whichever school they want (can be distance, school culture, etc.) :nailbite:
            Those parents whose kids are expected to be high scorers would definitely not think that balloting is such a good idea. Conversely those parents whose kids are above average but not right at the top might find the idea of balloting more palatable.

• dimsumD Offline
              dimsum

pirate:
              Pen88n:

[quote=\"pirate\"]
              Make it L1R2. 😉 :scared: :siam:

Then might as well drop MT then - since it is a 2nd language and not featured in your proposed equation :yikes: :faint: :siam:

:imanangel:[/quote]If it is gg to be L1R2, first thing i will do is to drop my child\"s Chinese enrichment. His maths and science are stronger than Chinese and he probably spends 60% of his study time on Chinese alone.

sushi88

bggb:
                sushi88:

Why learning lab? Behaviour learning begins at home.

To be candid, why worry so much about leadership being taken by the girls at schooling age?
                Look around the cabinet and management of the many corporates, are there more women in the leadership positions or men? Things fall into place eventually.

We spend too much of our time fighting all the wrong battles.

As parents with boys in coed primary schools, we are just asking for equal opportunity and fairness to be given to boys in the leadership roles. This is even more important now if “leadership” is being considered in secondary school admission. If there are 7 to 8 prefects in a class, why only 1 or 2 are boys? Why every year, only girls are chosen be head prefect? Why the need to have the same girl playing the dual roles of prefect and monitor at the same time instead of giving the opportunity to another student to learn and pick up the skill?

At least in my child’s class, I know of some boys who are well behaved and relatively good in their studies but no opportunity! It is definitely not about education at home but a need for boys to attend some courses to teach them how to behave appropriately to create an impression and score points, just like the girls.

Talking about cabinet, majority of the ministers/ ex-minister were from all boys’ school. No?
                Why is that so? Why so few from coed schools? The answer is obvious. Boys are being discriminated and hardly an opportunity for them to take up the role.

This is all true account of what is happening in my child’s school and not make-up stories. If MOE officers/ press visit some of these schools and check it out, you know what I mean! Having said this, using “leadership” to enter top secondary schools should be scrapped unless we are advocating biasness and “connection”.

Some present/ ex ministers that I know of:
                Teo Chee Hean – SJI
                Tharman Shanmugaratnam – ACS
                Ng Eng Hen – ACS
                Ong Ye Kung – Maris Stella
                Tan Chuan Jin – ACS
                Goh Keng Swee – ACS
                Vivian Balakrishnan – ACS
                Lim Swee Say – CHS
                Gan Kim Yong – CHS
                Tony Tan – SJI
                George Yeo – SJI
                Mah Bow Tan – SJI
                Lee Yi Shyan – Maris Stella

:?

I can appreciate your concern about scrapping leadership as a criteria to enter secondary school. It is just the suggested means of going to TLL for another course that irks me. There must be something the kids can learn the ropes on their own, and leadership is one of them. If a family has many kids, actually it is the best learning ground, the ones who lose out are at times the single-child families, if they have no extended family to mingle with even.

So back to leadership at primary school. Frankly and personally, I am not in favour of a child entering DSA via leadership to gain admission into a coveted secondary school. To me, the primary school is just a good playground for children to learn some ropes of leadership but they are by no means true leaders yet. Also, there are different age kids in primary schools and some being older get leadership positions, should that be a birth right since they are born earlier? Thirdly, for any leader I know, they must be good in something...otherwise what leadership to boast about? So being good in something means good in sports, music, academics etc and leadership is only a side outcome of what they excel in to bring about the leadership capabilities to go on to the next step.

To me, THERE IS NO SUCH THING AS TALENTED IN BEING A LEADER WITH NO OTHER TALENT as far as DSA is concerned. Gift of the gab, gift of a special talent and gift of networking etc...collectively makes one a leader.

I cannot think of a leader I know who has no other special talent other than just leadership...in fact they are more often or not...multi-talented.

So the girl whom Jetsetter mentioned about getting into an IP secondary school because she was made a leader, I thought her contribution to the school was sports? She won many sports title for the school right? So the DSA looks at her talent first and having a leadership role, just acts as a bonus between two kids who are good in sports and one has leadership and one without... So leadership is like a secondary criteria, not a primary one. And frankly, even if a child has a leadership role but the sports talent is weaker than the other sports person, the talent of the sports person would be desired first. Leadership only features when ALL BEING EQUAL, it is an added bonus. But still I want to qualify again, primary school leadership roles are playground roles, nothing really substantial yet. It is a good playground for kids to try their hands at leadership so I like it when a primary school tries to find a leadership role for EVERY student in a class to lead in something for them to have the experience and grow with it. I am also not for a student given 2 or 3 leadership roles and some have none.

So I agree...leadership SHOULD NOT be a main application criteria for DSA, it is meaningless...you don't need to admit a head prefect from a primary school and try to groom this head prefect to be the next head prefect for the secondary school. In fact, for top schools, every year, tons of head prefects will likely enter the sec schools via PSLE results. It is the exceptional academic one they want to find first via DSA, then if he/she is a head prefect, it is just a bonus.

The list of ministers you have listed, are you telling me they all went into their secondary schools via affiliation assuming you are listing their primary schools? If they did, then the leadership roles in all-boys primary school is also not critical to them since DSA is not exactly required, not because there is no discrimination in all-boys school.

I cannot exactly put a finger down on the discrimination for boys in leadership roles in co-ed schools because everyone's experience is different in different co-ed schools, since schools are run differently and students' population background are also different. So if this point cannot be factually proven, I rather not use this as a point on discrimination as discussion. Whatever I have stated above shares your same concern to DSA via leadership without touching discrimination. In other words, I agree with you if your kid has a special talent in something, he should not lose out to a girl who is going to DSA using head prefect leadership as a DSA criteria and with no other special talent.

pirate

zulu:
                  Pen88n:

Those parents whose kids are expected to be high scorers would definitely not think that balloting is such a good idea. Conversely those parents whose kids are above average but not right at the top might find the idea of balloting more palatable.

I expect my kid to get 270++. :razz: :siam:

jetsetter

bggb:
                    I am not putting the girls down. Unfortunately, this is exactly what is happening in my son’s coed school and I am sure it is not the only coed school that discriminate against boys for such roles. If “leadership” is allowed to be used to gain entry to top secondary schools, the process resolving around the whole selection criteria should be transparent to parents, unbiased and ideally, it should be based on “voted in” by students themselves. For example: If there are 8 prefects per class, form teacher and co form-teacher will shortlist 12 potential students. 6 boys, 6 girls (not 1 or 2 boys and 10 girls!). Do not reprieve our boys of their chance. The class will then vote base on who they think should be their student leaders. Classmates know best who are the deserving ones, real well-behaved and always lending a helping hand to them. They will not vote for someone who are only good in putting an act in front of the teachers.

Favouritism, biasness exist at home, at the workplace also leh. Workplace is worse, right? It's tied to MONETARY returns...

Peer review may beget > bloodshed, undercutting, backstabbing, collusion through WA groups, rigging or even bribery. :yikes: 😓

Will there be time for them to canvass for support plus 1 cooing day?

Those 12 vying for leadership positions might purposely waste their vote on the weakest student candidate, so that the stronger contender doesn't get more votes. Or even spoil vote?

Wait, thought MOE said to eschew unhealthy competition, new grades won't be measured relative to one another's liao? :scratchhead:

Like i said just now, go get feedback from some independent assessors like OBS trainers at Coney Island next time, after sending them for a 3-day camp.

Actually non-residential team building camps can demonstrate who're the autocratic/democratic/laissez faire leaders, creative/innovative problem solvers, cheerleaders, nightingales or followers liao. Teachers can observe by the side, take videos and make notes.

If time permits, make them all do MBTI, DISC psychometric tests or the like. 😆

Then, get testimonials from neutral parties like CCA teachers. :nailbite:

Finally, arrange a few incognito tests to be carried out on the 12 candidates during recess time. You know \"Candid Camera\"? Purposely spill a bowl of noodles on them and see if they get angry. 😆 :rotflmao:

Sun_2010

Hey! We are on Sgag

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_ ... 7172198277

sushi88

Pen88n:

Sometimes people do not know what they ask for when they complain.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 38 / 121