Any Updates As To When PSLE T-Scores Will Be Scrapped?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary 6 & PSLE
    1.2k Posts 1 Posters 244.7k Views 1 Watching
      sleepy

jetsetter:
      [What Chairperson of Education GPC Denise Phua had suggested in her speech during the Debate on President's Address (25 Jan 2016) was this:

[quote]Think Programmes, yes, even programmes for the gifted, and make these programmes available across more physical school campuses – so that students of different abilities and talents can grow up together under one roof.

Suggestion Four:

Pilot Inclusive Education Villages across Singapore to house students of different abilities and backgrounds. There is no better way to learn inclusion except to play, eat, interact and learn with others who are unlike yourself. Let those who are academically stronger learn via subject-banded classes; but design school campuses that allow diversity and vibrant social interactions for all groups.
      She is proposing an Inclusive Education Village to bring students of different learning abilities and socio-econ backgrounds together under one roof. :roll: [/quote]Isn't that already achieved through NS? 2 years of training and sweating together πŸ˜‰

Oh, girls do not serve NS :siam:

sushi88

lee_yl:
        sushi88:

Why blame MOE folks? Parents response is like a moving target...changes with the wind.

Parents benefit and suffer from MOE's policies, so to ensure that no unintended consequences arise from their policies, shouldn't the parents' possible responses be taken into consideration?

I wonder, when MOE came out with the announcement on PSLE changes, ostensibly to ease the PSLE stress, have they thought about associated issues and all the possible consequences? Have they considered various scenarios like 3000 boys with 4A1s applying for 400 places in RI. How to decide who to get in in such a case?

I think at the tender age of these primary school children, although it's good to develop an interest beyond books, but to include it as part of assessment (non-academic) in the new system may not be appropriate. We will only see more 2yo attending all sorts of private schools to develop their special talents chosen and driven by parents.

Perhaps balloting is the least of the two evils. But does not mean majority of the parents out there will accept balloting to decide their kids future. But come to think of it, if all depends on luck, a brilliant boy may not get balloted into his 1st or 2nd choice and may end up with 5th or 6th choice, isn't it fantastic? Then there's no need to study so hard! :rahrah:

MOE precisely took parents' response to the T-score and worked on it and now they are getting the push-back responses from parents as well. It's like \"Damned if you do and damned if you don't.\" because there are 3 types of parents here.
        1. Embrace the T-score to broad band change (the bo chap parents and prefer less complicated system to ease their stress with their kids)
        2. Initially complained alot about T-score to be removed, now seized with fear of the unknown
        3. Always wanted T-score to stay because transparency is good for them

If my gut is right, type 1 forms about 60-80% and type 2-3 forms the 20-40%.

From MOE's view if they can address majority's wishes to remove the T-score, it would have met the objective to reduce at least one form of stress, understanding the T-score. When people were discussing about how the T-score was computed, actually many parents were in πŸ˜“ because not many really understood how it work even after repeated explanation through the schools or the internet. That was when MOE realised the granularity of T-score is itself a big stress for many parents in the type 1 category.

The type 2 parents are the kiasu and kiasi. Want the change but cannot stick to it and raise more issues. In any case, now is the right time to raise all the questions before things get cast in concrete.

The type 3 parents are the kiasu and gangan so they would understand every system and try to outdo it....they are essentially also the well-informed parents who would learn how to play in the kiasu race.

As for the broad band system, they already have 'O' levels banding to model after, it is fine-tuning they need to work on. If parents can accept the 'O' level banding, why not at PSLE?

One thing is certain...there will be lesser info in future to level things up... those parents who can understand better will not have an advantage over those who cannot.

So do you think MOE is naive?

mothernancy

They gave themselves about 5 years to iron out all the details. I thought that was quite reasonable compared to when they announce the implementation of a change in syllabus and everything hits so quickly. As with most things in Singapore, soon it’ll zoom past so quickly and become the norm.

sleepy

sushi88:
            there are 3 types of parents here.

1. Embrace the T-score to broad band change (the bo chap parents and prefer less complicated system to ease their stress with their kids)
            2. Initially complained alot about T-score to be removed, now seized with fear of the unknown
            3. Always wanted T-score to stay because transparency is good for them
            You are which type? :evil:

Chief, wanna start a new poll? πŸ˜‰

jetsetter

iRabbit:
              zulu:

I have asked this question before but have not really received any definitive answer......will the less privileged kids benefit from the revamp or do they stand a better chance of making the top schools with the current T- score system?

The idea is to put more ingredients (aka students) into a melting pot (aka banding). Then distribute the dish randomly to serve more people (aka schs).

Like I said, mixing them together, the really choice ingredients would get diluted by the other 'lesser' ingredients, but this achieves the objective of serving more people.

Whether you like the new system or not depends on which side of the fence you sit.

Actually I've divided views on this \"melting pot\"...Maybe those Ox & Cow parents and after can offer more views as we're still using the old pot from the last century. :evil:

Will mixing choice and lesser ingredients together breed complacency or even sloth?

Will complacency breed mediocrity?

Is mediocrity more important than excellence?

Is pursuit of perfection and excellence no longer relevant?

Are our global competitors mixing their ingredients too?

Will our new cuisine satisfy the taste buds of global diners?

How's our pot of mixed ingredients going to stack up against award winning dishes from larger markets?

Wider bands = Excellent + Very Good + Good in 1 pot

http://i64.tinypic.com/2epqyoo.jpg\">

Narrow Bands = Only the finest ingredient is served on 1 platter πŸ˜›

http://i67.tinypic.com/w1uwlc.jpg\">

Zulu: Less than privileged kids who do not have parentocrats to home-school them or afford tuition can tap on affordable programmes and schemes pending introduction by the MOE, and if they work hard with the resources and aid rendered to them (not necessarily must be gifted or HA), they can now join the mixed pot with the finer and seasoned ingredients. Once they are in this new pot, going to a Michelin-starred restaurant shouldn't pose a problem. πŸ˜‰

For those less privileged ones who are still using the old pot, they need not worry too much if they don't get served at the top restaurants, as the G will take care of them nonetheless. When they move up to the higher level and even later in the workforce, they will not be disadvantaged either. I believe the civil service has already taken the lead and quantum leap to equalise starting salaries, if not grades, of new entrants. :evil:

http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/education/closing-the-salary-gap

http://business.asiaone.com/news/better-prospects-non-grads-civil-service

Song22

wow, definitely the wider band looks more delicious :drool:

pirate

jetsetter:

Actually har, who can tell me how big is the current 4 A* band?

People have been going on and on here as if dunno how many thousands and thousands (at least 10-20%) get the equivalent of 4 A*. 🀷

jetsetter

mothernancy:
                    They gave themselves about 5 years to iron out all the details. I thought that was quite reasonable compared to when they announce the implementation of a change in syllabus and everything hits so quickly. As with most things in Singapore, soon it'll zoom past so quickly and become the norm.

Er, 2021 is year in which the new scoring/grading system is set to roll out.

But for that to materialise, in the meantime, they may: slay/skin/milk/cross-breed a few cows. Some of them could be DSA criteria (Academic domain), s1 posting rules, new distinctive programmes (ALP & LLP) in ALL sec sch, CCA emphasis, community partnership schemes, etc.
                    [quote]41. We know that there will be many questions about how these changes would impact secondary school posting. We intend to make some adjustments to the Secondary 1 posting system as well. It will still be a fair and transparent system based on academic merit. With the move to broader PSLE scoring bands, students will be able to choose a school that is a good fit for them from a wider range of schools of a similar academic profile. In doing so, students can consider factors such as the school’s distinctive programmes, CCAs, and partnerships with the community and industry, and better match these factors with their interests.

42. These planned changes are significant, so MOE will not rush the implementation. The current PSLE system is well-established and we must be fully ready before moving to the new system.

43. So we will take the next few years to work through these changes carefully. We have already begun our journey of evolving our school landscape. We want to give all schools time to develop their distinctive strengths and niche programmes, towards the vision of every school a good school. This remains important. Meanwhile, we will need to develop and test the new PSLE scoring and posting systems thoroughly. Most importantly, we want to give enough time and support for parents and students to understand and adjust, so they are ready when the new system takes effect.

44. So, we are planning for the new PSLE scoring system to be put in place from 2021. This will start with the Primary 6 cohort of 2021, who are in Primary 1 this year. Details about the changes to PSLE scoring will be released in the next two to three months. Over the next few months, MOE will be working closely with our school leaders and educators on the proposed changes. We will subsequently also engage parents and members of the public on these changes and provide an update at next year’s COS debate in 2017.[/quote]

jetsetter

pirate:
                      jetsetter:

Actually har, who can tell me how big is the current 4 A* band?

People have been going on and on here as if dunno how many thousands and thousands (at least 10-20%) get the equivalent of 4 A*. 🀷

Thought someone posted it some where.

>75% is an A liao, correct? A* = ??

I also dunno!

The present A*, A, B, C, D isn't the issue methinks. No one bothers with these grades as they are useless in S1 posting, even during our time 30 years ago.

It's the fine-grained T-score that's making some parents from dunno where stressed out. Why should the 259 abalone get into HCI when my 256 prawn is also not bad leh? We should be in the same mixed pot!

pirate

jetsetter:

It's the fine-grained T-score that's making some parents from dunno where stressed out. Why should the 259 abalone get into HCI when my 256 prawn is also not bad leh? We should be in the same mixed pot!
                        259 or 256 all sama sama, prawns only lah. :rotflmao:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 50 / 121

Lumiore_SupportL
                        Lumiore_Support
                        ilovemychildrens89I
                        ilovemychildrens89