Too much chemicals in our milk powder and child development

118 Posts 25 Posters 37.7k Views 1 Watching
      Busymom

I am an advocator or no pacifier and weaning kids off milk bottle by the age of 2+ latest 3yrs old. But I also know that it can be a challenge and sometimes, when you see the look of total bliss on your kid when they get the bottle, where to find the heart to take it away from them. šŸ˜‰ But I also believe that pacifiers impedes speech development and screws up the teeth alignment and milk bottles promote tooth decay especially if the kid does not brush his teeth after the bottle or falls asleep while on the bottle.
      We do not use pacifiers too, but bottles, yes.

Right, shall start this weekend!
      I prefer fresh soya milk from the stalls in the market where you can see them making fresh batches. But I will also get those from the chiller like Nutrisoy or Sobe. There was another thread where a parent mentioned that she has a soya milk making machine. Tempted to get that. Nothing beats fresh homemade stuff.
      We just grind the soya bean and boil with water. Sieve through to remove any remaining powder before drinking. DS loves it but not DD... šŸ˜ž

Busymom

thebusybee:
        Busymom,

same as u, while I was preggy, my body couldn't tolerate the lactose intake,I puked after drinking milk and taking calcium pills and not a fan of soy milk either (but a big fan of green leafy vegs, ESP spinaches, I can eat a whole plate), my ds still born large at 3.8 kg w/o any calcium supplements. My gynae said we Asians' genes are not pro-milk therefore it's ok to skip milk. I guess our rich diet give us a very well balanced nutrients which milk is not important. In our younger days, all 5 of us stop drinking milk before k1 but everyone is healthy, strong and above average size, all thanks to mum's delicious healthy homecook meals everyday. So providing our child/ren with fresh, healthy and wide varieties of food is the key to healthy living!
        Yes, I agree it is possible. Those who have seen my DS would always comment how strong he is :lol:

smurf

I prefer fresh soya milk from the stalls in the market where you can see them making fresh batches. But I will also get those from the chiller like Nutrisoy or Sobe. There was another thread where a parent mentioned that she has a soya milk making machine. Tempted to get that. Nothing beats fresh homemade stuff.

erm, those soy milk contains A LOT OF sugar and is very diluted. that's why it so economical.

smurf

do bear in mind that soy milk, the calcium content is not very high. I'm not sure if it's as easily absorbent as fresh cow milk. if your child is taking fresh cow milk comfortably, then just stick to it, try to buy those with 100% fresh milk as the ONLY ingredient in the ingredient list. example would be Farmhouse. taste nice also.

The worst is HL (think the brand starts with M, dun want to name lah), it is stated high calcium low fat , but if you look at the ingredient list, you find all sort of rubbish in it. what skim milk solids la, etc etc. and it's still sold as fresh milk?? :x it doesn't taste the same as fresh milk!

your child should be taking FULL FAT milk, regardless of whether he/she is fat or thin, because the fats is actually good for the brain development. fat shouldn't be cut off from the diet, just because the child is fat. include exercise and activity is much much better than giving low fat milk.

JMHO. :celebrate:

• tankeeT Offline
              tankee

Busymom:

I am an advocator or no pacifier and weaning kids off milk bottle by the age of 2+ latest 3yrs old. But I also know that it can be a challenge and sometimes, when you see the look of total bliss on your kid when they get the bottle, where to find the heart to take it away from them. šŸ˜‰ But I also believe that pacifiers impedes speech development and screws up the teeth alignment and milk bottles promote tooth decay especially if the kid does not brush his teeth after the bottle or falls asleep while on the bottle.

We do not use pacifiers too, but bottles, yes.

Right, shall start this weekend!

I was told that one of the reason some kids stopped drinking formula milk after being weaned from the bottle, is the smell from formula milk. If you intend to continue with formula milk, get a covered mug.

wildboys

Regarding calcium, just sharing this article which recommends milk, edible bones, calcium-fortified drinks. At point 4, it says although dark green vegetables contain calcium too, but many of them also contains oxalic acid which hinders the absorption of calcium.

http://eat.omy.sg/index.php?articleID=2771&option=com_article&cid=0&task=detail&type=

another article on milk vs soya bean milk.
                http://eat.omy.sg/index.php?articleID=2049&option=com_article&cid=0&task=detail&type=

and on milk...
                http://eat.omy.sg/index.php?articleID=1541&option=com_article&cid=0&task=detail&type=

radiantmum

Always scare myself whenever i open such threads or discussion topics. In the end sounds like nothing is \"safe\", even organics :rotflmao:

My P1 still on a cup of formula milk every morning, 1 packet SMOO or MAGNOLIA milk every afternoon and 1 cup of fresh/UHT milk before sleep. Never think much about it but thanks for all the advice - will possibly deplete the formula milk and swop him to 100% fresh milk thereafter.

Went on 100% full cream fresh milk since 3 plus 4. Not necessary to consume formula milk for so long.

mintcc

wildboys:
                      Regarding calcium, just sharing this article which recommends milk, edible bones, calcium-fortified drinks.

yes.. Ikan Bilis, cheese, ice-cream too..good source of calcium...yummy.

DS does not like formula milk. So we stop formula and change to full cream fresh milk since he is 3. After that stop giving milk regularly as he ....only likes chocolate milk which could be quite heaty

So now I give him goats milk tablets, and add ikan billis, tofu and cheese to our meals. Hopefully he will get enough calcium from there.

pinan

Donkey Kong:
                        My Kiasu Sister in law gives a lot of supplements to her kids. Feed them with a lot of DHA Omega3 food including Salmon. She wants them to do better than her.

Her kids both have behavioural problems... think is Austism or ADHD. Can you imagine, a 5 yr old boy, went to Macdonald, kicked 5 adults until one of the woman brought his son to confront my SIL.. :x

SIL brought kid for diagnosis. They found high content of mercury in the boy's brain. :?:

Scary right? Mercury can cause all sorts of funny diseases... no joke. šŸ™ Salmon fish contains certain % of heavy metals, i think.
                        Hi Donkey Kong,

u r right abt the salmon being high in mercury. Some time back in some health mag or strait times this article was out that kidz should hv small fish and not big ones like Salmon which tends to have hi-levels of mercury. Don't always think BIG is better.

Cheers!

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 5 / 12

thebottomsupblogT
                        thebottomsupblog