Too much chemicals in our milk powder and child development

118 Posts 25 Posters 35.2k Views 1 Watching
      radiantmum

Went on 100% full cream fresh milk since 3 plus 4. Not necessary to consume formula milk for so long.

Ok ok n boy, your eye is INTIMIDATING! Go to tan kee to fix it hahaha

radiantmum:

Went on 100% full cream fresh milk since 3 plus 4. Not necessary to consume formula milk for so long.

Ok ok n boy, your eye is INTIMIDATING! Go to tan kee to fix it hahaha

:dowan: I like it this way........ šŸ˜‰

minnie2004

I switched them to fresh milk when they were about 1+yrs old. And now, DD will alternate with soya and fresh milk depending on her mood whilst DS is purely fresh milk. Even myself, I am taking unsweetened soya milk almost daily.

This is exactly the same as us :celebrate:

minnie2004

smurf:
            The worst is HL (think the brand starts with M, dun want to name lah), it is stated high calcium low fat , but if you look at the ingredient list, you find all sort of rubbish in it. what skim milk solids la, etc etc. and it's still sold as fresh milk?? :x it doesn't taste the same as fresh milk!

Are you referring to the Ma...d milk? I tried it once and it tasted so unnaturally sweet that I never touched it since. Not sure if they actually add sugar in it. But it's not good to drink sweetened milk as sugar is well known for affecting the aborsption of calcium 😐

smurf

er, it starts with MA, and ends with G...I think...if I rem correctly.:)

minnie2004

I prefer fresh soya milk from the stalls in the market where you can see them making fresh batches. But I will also get those from the chiller like Nutrisoy or Sobe. There was another thread where a parent mentioned that she has a soya milk making machine. Tempted to get that. Nothing beats fresh homemade stuff.

We actually have a soy milk machine at home but rarely use it, unless we want to make special versions with black beans, peanuts or other ingredients. The soya milk in the hawker centers and supermarket is cheap anyway.

Busymom

OK, first, I do not wish to start a debate about which source of calcium is better absorbed by the human body, but just want to share an article with all here.

http://www.ellenskitchen.com/faqs/calcium.html

There was also an interesting point here, that \"You must have vitamin D from supplements or sunshine to absorb dietary calcium\". I recalled learning this in a pre-natal class.

HappyAvon

auntieM:
                    My DS quite happy with Magnolia Chocolate Milk for now.

He was drinking plain milk with Pedisure added till around 5 year old. The weight increase didn't happen drastically for my DS leh.
                    Hi Auntie M, my premie DD has been on Pediasure since year 1 and she is 5 this year. Just like u mentioned, her weight gain is very minimal...I ever asked her paediatrician previously when she was like 3 years old on Pediasure milk and dr. did comment that the weight gain must also depends on how much the child drinks....So your boy is completely on fresh milk? Does fresh milk has all the nutritions needed for a growing child??

Busymom

mintcc:

So now I give him goats milk tablets, and add ikan billis, tofu and cheese to our meals. Hopefully he will get enough calcium from there.
                      Broccoli and Chinese cabbage have very high calcium too. I think there are many more... must go dig up my notes.

Busymom

minnie2004:

We actually have a soy milk machine at home but rarely use it, unless we want to make special versions with black beans, peanuts or other ingredients.
                        What kind of soy milk machine is that? How different is it from boiling soy beans after grinding the beans to powder form?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 6 / 12