Joseph Schooling Does Singapore Proud!

0 Posts 42 Posters 32.2k Views 1 Watching
      lynntan15

zbear:

[quote=\"zbear\"][

Yes, I am referring to Quah Zheng Wen. I see he has potential n like u said, if given support all the way, I believe he can also produce a medal. I read that he didn't apply for NS deferment, that is why I concluded he doesn't want to try the 2020 Tokyo Olympics. Not every family can afford financial support like JS, so it's really a loss to our nation.

Maybe Zheng Wen is going to focus on uni? He has a place in medicine.

Oh really? Then it's better for him to build his career rather than swimming. He has to take care of himself since Ah Gong is not going to do anything.[/quote]Quah is a winner by himself even though he didn't win any Olympic medal at this moment. The same determination/focus/attitude that he has, I believe he will be a famous doctor/surgeon in the future.

jetsetter

zbear:
        What is the big deal of passing a motion in Parliament to officially recognize JS achievement? What is the significance of this act? Does it change anything?

Why is it mandatory for JS to give back 20% ($200k) back to the Association when they didn't do anything for him? Isnt his training all these years in USA n will be for the next 4 years?

Passing motion is no big deal as you do that daily too in the loo.

Moving a motion in the House is a big deal. Perhaps people have momentarily forgotten that the Parliament is one of the 3 (sacred) organs of state under our Constitution: Executive (Elected President), Legislature (Parl and law-making) and Judiciary. As it was a historic win, first Olympic Gold in fact, it was only befitting that members accorded him the highest honour possible in the House.

Why did TCJ move that motion? A motion is a proposal for MPs to get something done or to express an opinion on a topic of interest. It's for the House, regardless of political party, to give formal recognition to JS really.

Doesn't JS deserve to be honoured by the EP in Rio, followed by the Parliament elected by the people of Singapore? If the Parliament didn't give him the standing ovation that he deserved on Monday, would critics make more noises again, especially since JS is an SC? :roll:

Would it change anything? I'm not sure, but you can read TCJ's speech delivered in the House on Monday. It's mainly to give him the highest possible acclamation in the presence of the PM and the cabinet ministers, etc, as well as to inspire JS and the next gen of sportsmen I guess.

I think the next platform will be this Sunday's NDR.

jetsetter

floppy:

Depending on your definition of \"proving themselves\". Some are brought in young, and solely kept based on their estimated potential. Those who succeed eventually, stayed. Those who don't, say goodbye. It's like a job, with citizenship (that few care about) attached.

However, the Gov does support them from the beginning as they are brought in here to train. So there's a stipend plus accommodation, education, etc that the Gov takes care of.

BTW, while I say the Gov support is appalling in my previous post, it should be noted that there's a spexScholarship available for our athletes. The top tier athletes (which JS also belongs to) can receive a monthly stipend of up to $8,000. While the cash injection is welcome, I am not sure that's the level of support that will ensure our sporting success*

*Off topic: I was thinking about the baby bonus. While the cash injection is also welcome, it didn't really solve our growth rate, resulting in the mass import of abled bodies.
          Earlier I mentioned latent talent, DNA, physical attributes, etc. I think the spexscholarship panel must also consider their innate potential and run a professional test (maybe like the bone test that JS underwent in the US), before dishing out millions of bucks to groom our youth athletes, for accountability's sake?

A former provincial table tennis coach from China once told my dh (hearsay hearsay) that the Chinese national team hoards their best young talent and only 'spares'/releases their second tier paddlers for 'export' to other countries. Or in fact, the national paddlers themselves (and parents) already knew their own potential and that they had been relegated to the second tier backup team, before they agreed to sign on with other countries' national teams.

The savvy Chinese coaches could tell from the sportsmen's base stats (or in Pokemon Go's lingo, \"IV\" aka Individual Value aka latent DNA) when they were sent to the national team for professional grooming. A young player may display superb Combat Power (\"CP\") in some early competitions but if one doesn't possess the best \"IV\", they may never be able to reach the same level as those worldclass gold medalists.

In the mid-90s when Team Singapore sent its talent scouts to scout for talented paddlers, the cream of the crop like Zhang Yining, Wang Nan, Deng Yaping, etc. were not offered to us, hence we had to take in the second tier ones like Li Jiawei, Wang Yuegu, Jing Junhong... Was no coincidence nor due to axxluck that our imports could never beat those first tier paddlers from China in the Olympics. Their \"IV\" were just not in the same league as those national treasures hoarded by the Chinese national team. We must be realistic when we import talent from overseas.

• cool_hiC Offline
            cool_hi

jetsetter:
            floppy:

Why is people surprised by the 20% rule?

Ok, I understand no one really follow sports until something big like JS comes along, but the ploughing back to NSA rule has been there since the http://www.singaporeolympics.com/multi-million-dollar-awards-programme-map/ was incepted.

It isn't the first time that JS is receiving http://www.singaporeolympics.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/06/MAP-2012-to-2015.pdf so he definitely understand the rules. $10k for his first gold in a SEA Games, $200k for his first gold in the Asian games are some examples of what he has received (before deductions) over the recent years. Add them all up and I would expect no less than $300k.

I don't understand what's with the fuss either, floppy. Michael Phelps and many US Olympians have to pay \"Victory Taxes\" too. Maybe the critics are just ignorant? 🤷

http://time.com/money/4452870/2016-rio-olympics-michael-phelps-taxes/?xid=time_socialflow_facebook

Will critics make noise if it was the foreign imports that had to set aside the 20%? Won't they applaud the policy? :siao:

There's another misconception among Singaporean critics which is that American Olympics sportsmen are fully sponsored by the Federal Govt. No, not true at all. Perhaps in socialist countries like China and Russia, but not the US. Many resorted to crowd funding as well, like our Rower.

http://www.teamusa.org/us-olympic-and-paralympic-foundation/team-usa-fund
            [quote]The U.S. Olympic Committee, unlike its competitors around the world, does not receive funding from the federal government for its Olympic programs. Instead, Team USA athletes rely on the generosity of the American people to achieve their dreams.

Why should anyone be surprised that JS' folks had to sponsor his professional training from age 14-15 onwards in the US? Won't taxpayers raise hell if the Govt had to sponsor a teen who hadn't - at that point - shown any tangible results or broken any significant records yet at age 14? The Govt will only sponsor when there're results and potential has been identified/guaranteed by talent scouts and renowned Olympic-level coaches/referees. And indeed after results had been produced, the Govt did award the \"spexScholarship\" to JS in 2013. The stipend isn't a lot, compared to the hundreds of thousands his folks forked out since he was 8, but good enough and I think JS' family is appreciative. They aren't complaining, so why should those annoying keyboard warriors? :scratchhead:[/quote]Don't always choose to compare to certain countries for your own benefit
            Just ,to make yourself look more innocent..
            Why never compare salary of Obama & follow US standard accordingly leh?! :siam:
            Why can't we follow china & russia leh?
            No funds?!? Stop importing FT la..
            If there wasn't import of FT(which is TOTaLly meaningless & utter waste of tax payers $),
            Will we have any reason to make so much noise here?!
            &table tennis imports went on for past 20yr?!?no? Any sign that import stopping soon?!?

Yes..his parents are not complaining..
            Just because they are gracious..
            But should we take advantage of that?!?
            Anyway,thanks for all these clarification & information..
            I think many parents now know the answer,whether or not,
            To allow their kids,to take this path..
            Kudos to the Schoolings!!!
            Whole of s'pore is indebted to your courage & perserverance!!!

jetsetter

cool_hi:
              jetsetter:

[quote=\"floppy\"]Why is people surprised by the 20% rule?

Ok, I understand no one really follow sports until something big like JS comes along, but the ploughing back to NSA rule has been there since the http://www.singaporeolympics.com/multi-million-dollar-awards-programme-map/ was incepted.

It isn't the first time that JS is receiving http://www.singaporeolympics.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/06/MAP-2012-to-2015.pdf so he definitely understand the rules. $10k for his first gold in a SEA Games, $200k for his first gold in the Asian games are some examples of what he has received (before deductions) over the recent years. Add them all up and I would expect no less than $300k.

I don't understand what's with the fuss either, floppy. Michael Phelps and many US Olympians have to pay \"Victory Taxes\" too. Maybe the critics are just ignorant? 🤷

http://time.com/money/4452870/2016-rio-olympics-michael-phelps-taxes/?xid=time_socialflow_facebook

Will critics make noise if it was the foreign imports that had to set aside the 20%? Won't they applaud the policy? :siao:

There's another misconception among Singaporean critics which is that American Olympics sportsmen are fully sponsored by the Federal Govt. No, not true at all. Perhaps in socialist countries like China and Russia, but not the US. Many resorted to crowd funding as well, like our Rower.

http://www.teamusa.org/us-olympic-and-paralympic-foundation/team-usa-fund
              [quote]The U.S. Olympic Committee, unlike its competitors around the world, does not receive funding from the federal government for its Olympic programs. Instead, Team USA athletes rely on the generosity of the American people to achieve their dreams.

Why should anyone be surprised that JS' folks had to sponsor his professional training from age 14-15 onwards in the US? Won't taxpayers raise hell if the Govt had to sponsor a teen who hadn't - at that point - shown any tangible results or broken any significant records yet at age 14? The Govt will only sponsor when there're results and potential has been identified/guaranteed by talent scouts and renowned Olympic-level coaches/referees. And indeed after results had been produced, the Govt did award the \"spexScholarship\" to JS in 2013. The stipend isn't a lot, compared to the hundreds of thousands his folks forked out since he was 8, but good enough and I think JS' family is appreciative. They aren't complaining, so why should those annoying keyboard warriors? :scratchhead:[/quote]Don't always choose to compare to certain countries for your own benefit
              Just ,to make yourself look more innocent..

Why never compare salary of Obama & follow US standard accordingly leh?! :siam:

Why can't we follow china & russia leh?

No funds?!? Stop importing FT la..

If there wasn't import of FT(which is TOTaLly meaningless & utter waste of tax payers $),

Will we have any reason to make so much noise here?!
              &table tennis imports went on for past 20yr?!?no? Any sign that import stopping soon?!?

Yes..his parents are not complaining..
              Just because they are gracious..

But should we take advantage of that?!?

Anyway,thanks for all these clarification & information..
              I think many parents now know the answer,whether or not,
              To allow their kids,to take this path..
              Kudos to the Schoolings!!!
              Whole of s'pore is indebted to your courage & perserverance!!![/quote]
              cool_hi:

You and other critics need to do a bit more research and see what other countries are doing aka compare with the competitors. Facts are out there. It's not about making oneself look \"innocent\", but rather to sound \"more informed\". It's an industry norm to import and export sports talent by way of citizenship. If the best and second best are perpetually hoarded by one single country or continent, then you don't need Olympics or world championships anymore. They can just compete amongst themselves and award one another year after year, tournament after tournament. It's absolutely meaningless and goes against the spirit of sports competition.

For table tennis, China is happy to export her second-tier talent (incl coaches) to other countries and to invite others to train with their paddlers in China, as she also wants to promote the sport and more importantly, to ensure a healthy succession of players worldwide and ultimately, competition for her own paddlers. I think Michael Phelps said something along those lines too, before he announced his retirement recently.
              [quote]China seems to recognize a need to help the rest of the world catch up.

Officials have made efforts to try to nurture talent in other countries, allowing foreign players to attend table tennis schools in Chinese provinces, for example, and sending Chinese coaches abroad, Zhao Xia, a Chinese Table Tennis Association official said.

Far from resenting the exodus of talented players, China encourages and supports them, said a national table tennis association official who would only give his surname, Wang, because he wasn't authorized to speak to the media.[/quote]http://www.nbcolympics.com/news/chinese-table-tennis-domination-leads-exodus-talent

Sure, you can groom domestically like we had been from the 60s-90s. But surely we can't be limiting ourselves to our pathetic 5.5 mil population, right? How to find another good catch like JS who's endowed with the best waterboy DNA (given his partial European blood/prowess, bone mass and height).

China and Russia. Are you sure you know what their national team sportsmen go through for Olympics training? Are you sure you want us to be like them and in the first place, how many Singaporean sportsmen want to give up studying like JS to pursue his dreams in the US at a tender age of 14?

How do you know the Schoolings are not appreciative, esp wrt NS deferment? :scratchhead: I don't see how the Govt is taking advantage of them...Do you mean those corporate bandwagoners?

jetsetter

THE VICTORY PARADE (Thursday)

:rahrah: :rahrah: :rahrah: :rahrah: :rahrah:

The first will start at 10am at 50A Marine Terrace Market till 10.45am.

Then, from 11.30am to 12.15pm, Joseph will be at Singtel Comcentre Plaza.

He will then travel on an open top bus to greet members of the public along the way from Orchard Road to Bras Basah Road at 12.15pm to 12.45pm.

He will end off at Raffles City Shopping Centre from 12.45pm to 2pm.

Go say hello and congratulate Singapore's Olympic champion.

http://i66.tinypic.com/mjy0yx.jpg\">
                (J Schooling at ACSJ on 16 Aug)

Kaypoh...

Any idea why he is stopping over at Singtel Comcentre Plaza? 🤷 Is Singtel sponsoring him unlimited data plan and free IDD talk time for 4 years? haha! :evil:

Or perhaps Capitaland will offer him a big fat shopping voucher at his final stop at Raffles City? šŸ˜‰

I wonder if Marine Parade GRC and PA are activating their operationally ready legion of GRLs, retirees and homemakers to line the streets tomorrow?

Hopefully SMU can release its students (NTUC Income and other hotel + museum staff too) to stand along Bras Basah Road tomorrow!

Why never continue ride to Shenton Way and MBFC leh?

• floppyF Offline
                  floppy

jetsetter:

Earlier I mentioned latent talent, DNA, physical attributes, etc. I think the spexscholarship panel must also consider their innate potential and run a professional test (maybe like the bone test that JS underwent in the US), before dishing out millions of bucks to groom our youth athletes, for accountability's sake?

A former provincial table tennis coach from China once told my dh (hearsay hearsay) that the Chinese national team hoards their best young talent and only 'spares'/releases their second tier paddlers for 'export' to other countries. Or in fact, the national paddlers themselves (and parents) already knew their own potential and that they had been relegated to the second tier backup team, before they agreed to sign on with other countries' national teams.

The savvy Chinese coaches could tell from the sportsmen's base stats (or in Pokemon Go's lingo, \"IV\" aka Individual Value aka latent DNA) when they were sent to the national team for professional grooming. A young player may display superb Combat Power (\"CP\") in some early competitions but if one doesn't possess the best \"IV\", they may never be able to reach the same level as those worldclass gold medalists.

In the mid-90s when Team Singapore sent its talent scouts to scout for talented paddlers, the cream of the crop like Zhang Yining, Wang Nan, Deng Yaping, etc. were not offered to us, hence we had to take in the second tier ones like Li Jiawei, Wang Yuegu, Jing Junhong... Was no coincidence nor due to axxluck that our imports could never beat those first tier paddlers from China in the Olympics. Their \"IV\" were just not in the same league as those national treasures hoarded by the Chinese national team. We must be realistic when we import talent from overseas.
                  One point of correction: Jing Junhong was a top, top tier player in China. However, she was not \"offered\" to us or scouted by us. She joined us due to her marriage (to a Singapore paddler) and by the time she was playing for us, she was already in semi-retirement mode (but still way better than our own players).

Also, sports science is not pseudoscience. It's true that China picks sportsmen based on their base attributes and groom them accordingly. Players not having the necessary attributes or unable to develop further are relegated to the second pool as sparring partners or discarded to be picked up by other countries (not just Singapore, the whole table tennis tournament - apart from the cuties from Japan and some other nation - is like China A vs China B va China C vs China D).

Unfortunately, when I speak of grooming, it's akin to taking a moonshot with some of our athletes. Like JS say, our young swimmers are doing very well and both Lopez / Reese believe in our potential. Yet, apart from spexScholarship (which is welcome and helps to defray local costs), we haven't seen full scholarship to enable the next JS to train/study in Uni of Texas or Uni of Florida. We seem quite hard on our local sports scholars but yet, willing to offer generous terms to our academic scholars (even though more than a handful willingly default on their bonds).

• cool_hiC Offline
                    cool_hi

[quote=\"jetsetter\"

You and other critics need to do a bit more research and see what other countries are doing aka compare with the competitors. Facts are out there. It's not about making oneself look \"innocent\", but rather to sound \"more informed\". It's an industry norm to import and export sports talent by way of citizenship. If the best and second best are perpetually hoarded by one single country or continent, then you don't need Olympics or world championships anymore. They can just compete amongst themselves and award one another year after year, tournament after tournament. It's absolutely meaningless and goes against the spirit of sports competition.

For table tennis, China is happy to export her second-tier talent (incl coaches) to other countries and to invite others to train with their paddlers in China, as she also wants to promote the sport and more importantly, to ensure a healthy succession of players worldwide and ultimately, competition for her own paddlers. I think Michael Phelps said something along those lines too, before he announced his retirement recently.
                    [quote]China seems to recognize a need to help the rest of the world catch up.

Officials have made efforts to try to nurture talent in other countries, allowing foreign players to attend table tennis schools in Chinese provinces, for example, and sending Chinese coaches abroad, Zhao Xia, a Chinese Table Tennis Association official said.

Far from resenting the exodus of talented players, China encourages and supports them, said a national table tennis association official who would only give his surname, Wang, because he wasn't authorized to speak to the media.[/quote]http://www.nbcolympics.com/news/chinese-table-tennis-domination-leads-exodus-talent

Sure, you can groom domestically like we had been from the 60s-90s. But surely we can't be limiting ourselves to our pathetic 5.5 mil population, right? How to find another good catch like JS who's endowed with the best waterboy DNA (given his partial European blood/prowess, bone mass and height).

China and Russia. Are you sure you know what their national team sportsmen go through for Olympics training? Are you sure you want us to be like them and in the first place, how many Singaporean sportsmen want to give up studying like JS to pursue his dreams in the US at a tender age of 14?

How do you know the Schoolings are not appreciative, esp wrt NS deferment? :scratchhead: I don't see how the Govt is taking advantage of them...Do you mean those corporate bandwagoners?[/quote]

My Post:
                    Point is China is happy to export..but we citizens are not happy to accept..
                    (some people among us, may not be happy to recieve hand-downs stuff,even if budget conscious)
                    Do u get it?!?
                    Coz it is meaningless even if ever 1day we can win china..

I never said Schoolings do not appreciate the deferment..
                    In fact,they said they do appreciate that..
                    Esp when his mum fought SO hard for his 1st deferment,in the 1st place!!! :slapshead:

& regarding the norms on taxes for other countries atheletes,
                    Fine..it's a norm..ok..
                    But we are talking abt an extremely extraordiary case and achievement here..
                    & thus we are suggesting to do more for him..

For those who already have tonnes of $,waiting to send kids overseas(u are one of them?!?no?!)
                    It's easy for u all to say Schoolings don't need this don't need that..
                    If his dad is Peter Lim,kuek leng Beng or UoB's Wee Ee cheong,
                    U think i bother to worry for him and his parents?!?
                    People on ivory towers always don't understand
                    Common folks worries..
                    As is always the case..anyway..
                    Peace!! Life goes on!!!

• cool_hiC Offline
                      cool_hi

Sorry!!! double post!! :spank:

• cool_hiC Offline
                        cool_hi

Just 1 last post(i have better things to do,but feel like sharing my own experience as a parent who also been exploring my kids potential,

But definitely nothing compared to Schoolings parents,that's why i totally respect & admire them)..

My gal love to dance from young..even when sick,she still insists on going for lessons..
                        Me,sent her to 2 dance schools(too commercial),
                        finally researched & changed to N*f*,thought Should be better..
                        she was downgraded 1 grade,by the prc tchr during audition,
                        Me tried to negotiate and tchr still insist in downgrading,
                        End up i suggested going 2 grades classes to \"catch up\"
                        (time sacrificed,& extra class still within my financial abilities)
                        So she took g1 exam in 2014,
                        & jumped 1 grade took g3 in 2015 & got distinction depsite jumping grade,
                        And her class of ard 16pax,only she and another prc student got distinction..
                        I thought ya,seems a bit of talent there..(my point here is,it's not easy for parents to spot and be sure of kids potential)
                        Then the nightmare came that school decided to combine 2 classes into 1,
                        Total23pax!!
                        Complained to tchr(also prc),she said management decision..
                        Who are in management?all also PRC from top management to tchrs..
                        Learning progress is slow..
                        not enough space in studio for such a big class
                        (u imagine a big group of sardines fighting for space,following tchr's movements!! :yikes: )
                        I had a hard time searching for AFFORDABle alternative,
                        With other considerations on whether teacher is experience.
                        .logistic arrangement(we are working parents with no maid).

Anyway,my point is me and a few parents were deeply disappointed
                        With the school..coincidentally,management and tchrs all prc..
                        Simple things like class too big,they ignore at expense of students' benefits..
                        There were many other mismanagement(which i shall not go into details..)
                        Now finally with a local teacher who is passionate+good in teaching,
                        We are shocked to realise there were a lot of techniques not taught in detail previously..
                        Seriously,
                        Do we really need FT?!? Can we tap on our own talents?!?

Sorry :offtopic:
                        I just trying to share..that it's really not easy for parents to spot talent and potential of kids..
                        & really need a lot of efforts and courage to support our kids throughout!
                        It's a journey which we don't know where it leads to..
                        Esp for parents with average means+knowledge..
                        I did not do a good job..
                        I have a lot to learn from The Schoolings..
                        But at this point in time,i will still follow the mass majority..
                        I admit..i am a coward šŸ˜†

All the BeSt to the Schoolings!
                        Wish his parents great health & hope they can spend more time together!!:)

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1 / 1

denisechiwD
                        denisechiw
                        tigroxbystellaT
                        tigroxbystella