Club Only Child Club
Hi all ! Parents of one child at the moment.
I have a '07 baby too, ds was born on mid autumn Sept 07.
We are hoping for more kids but not working hard at all to achieve that, moreover I’m very over-aged liao. My mil been asking me to see the tcm at Thong Chai Hospital, but too lazy to go and queue…
Let’s hope we’ll give our little one a playmate soon.
Cheers. -
Is one child unhealthy for the kid?
:? -
thebusybee:
Looks like most of u here still hope to have a 2nd child...I'm kind of in between, will praise God if have No. 2. If not, will be contented with just one. Luckily Hubby has the same thought as me.Hi all ! Parents of one child at the moment.
We are hoping for more kids but not working hard at all to achieve that, moreover I'm very over-aged liao. My mil been asking me to see the tcm at Thong Chai Hospital, but too lazy to go and queue....
Let's hope we'll give our little one a playmate soon.
Cheers.
Any one here is content to have one and will stop at one? -
Donkey Kong:
It depends on how the child is brought up. I have seen kids with siblings very spoilt and selfish. I've also seen only child well mannered and independent. So the onus is on the parents, I think...Is one child unhealthy for the kid?
:? -
Agree with you Angelight!
I'm an only child myself with one boy.
I'm strict with him on certain issues and I too believe onus is on the parents.. ... :celebrate: -
Angelight:
I have one DS n he is already 15 n a half yrs old. Hub n I are very thankful n contented that we hv one (instead of none). When DS was young, he asked for siblings but as he grew older, he is candid abt just being a single child. For single child, parents need to put in more effort in terms of their social circle. My DH wld bring him out every evening aft dinner n spend lots of time w him. DH wld make a conscious effort to cultivate hobbies w him n bring DS friends out together to play. DS is now v sociable n reasonably decent for a teenager. He still goes out w us n tell us abt his school n friends over dinner. I am just thankful to God for this gift. :love:
Looks like most of u here still hope to have a 2nd child...I'm kind of in between, will praise God if have No. 2. If not, will be contented with just one. Luckily Hubby has the same thought as me.thebusybee:
Hi all ! Parents of one child at the moment.
We are hoping for more kids but not working hard at all to achieve that, moreover I'm very over-aged liao. My mil been asking me to see the tcm at Thong Chai Hospital, but too lazy to go and queue....
Let's hope we'll give our little one a playmate soon.
Cheers.
Any one here is content to have one and will stop at one? -
Hi Si Si,
Good for u! It’s indeed true that parents of single child need to work harder in nurturing their social circle. That’s the exact reason why I want to set up this OCC (one-child club) so parents of single child and their only child can meet and socialise with one another.
Becos I also realise that parents of only child may face different parenting problems as compared to those with more than 1 kid. So it’s good that these parents can meet and share/exchange parentings tips and encourage one another. -
Angelight:
Hi all, we are parents of one child and have decided to stop at one, even before she was born! I told hub that I'll only have one and contented with one. He is supportive as well (after looking at how active our dd is, he's worried to go thru' another process all over again) :laugh:
Looks like most of u here still hope to have a 2nd child...I'm kind of in between, will praise God if have No. 2. If not, will be contented with just one. Luckily Hubby has the same thought as me.
Any one here is content to have one and will stop at one?
All ppl around us, including ppl whom we just met, will throw us this question: One child is too lonely, have another one lah!
Talk is cheap lor, I'm so sian of these remarks already :rant:
My standard statement will be : factory close shop liao, cannot function anymore :evil: -
Angelight:
Agreed. I've seen a parent with 4 kids, the way they behave was like :slapshead: the maid, parents and grandmother cannot handle them at all. The 3rd child, being the only son, about 5 years old, refused to walk and insisted the maid to carry him. The mother didn't want to but he threw tantrums and the mum finally gave in. Guess what? after the father instructed the maid to piggyback him, he turned and made monkey face at his mum and sisters, and his mum couldn't do anything. He is totally spoilt by his father.
It depends on how the child is brought up. I have seen kids with siblings very spoilt and selfish. I've also seen only child well mannered and independent. So the onus is on the parents, I think...Donkey Kong:
Is one child unhealthy for the kid?
:?
The 3 sisters didn't sit back and do nothing though, they tried to pull his legs from behind when the parents were not looking. Therefore, upbringing is still the keyword. -
I've always told my dd how fortunate she is compared to some children from other countries who do not even have proper education or medical treatment. Being the only child, she doesn't mind the hand-me-down clothes from her cousin sisters, old toys and books (wow! that save us a lot of $)
She is not particular about clothings as sometimes when I wanted to buy her new clothes, she'll say : \"I've enough clothes to wear, no need to buy so many lah.\" She also suggested to give away some of her old toys to child care centres cater for lower income families. :hugs:
Of course, she has her bad moments too but overall, she is a sensible gal and she never uses her pocket money to buy any stationery items from the school bookshop. The only time she asked me for a few dollars was to buy her favourite story book from the school book fair, that's all.
As a chatty girl, she makes friends easily. I know most of her classmates by full names and she has some friends from other classes as well. She's the kind that cannot keep things to herself. We have this 10 mins 'chat time' before bedtime when either me or hud will cuddle besides her to talk about things happen on that day....and she'll pour out everything, happy or unhappy. :love:
I hope she can be this outspoken when she grows up. i told her as she has no siblings to depend on, she has to be independent and must be careful when comes to selection of friends. Because 近朱者赤 mah.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.