What is wrong with our system?

83 Posts 29 Posters 24.2k Views 1 Watching
    • FunzF Offline
      Funz

minnie2004:

Their kids study in Msia as well, less stressful.

Though the education system here is stressful, I doubt the quality of schools in Malaysia. Otherwise, why so many rich Malaysian send their kids to study in here?

Yah. Something's gotta give right? And since some are so unhappy with the system here, then go experience the system in other countries.

Donkey Kong

Been to another site, many youngsters were debating whose JCs more elite, whose Unis more elite and have helped them to attend 4As and 5-digit salaries.... ๐Ÿ˜ž Sad to see our elites bashing each other unis and proud of being just workers. (salaried employees)

Back to where beginning, these elites returned overseas from elite unis just want to find 5 digit salaries? ๐Ÿ˜ข Harvard, MIT have many elite entrepreneurs that started successful companies. They contributed a lot back to endowment fund. They started companies like airlines, satellite communications, etc. (Harvard business cases)

For Singapore to succeed in future, next 50 yrs, we need elite entrepreneurs to do us proud. If you go to IT Show, Acer, Gigabyte, HTC, MSI, Logitech, Samsung, LG... Samsung has come out with new 3D LCD TV. Taiwanese, Koreans must be very proud of these. :celebrate:

Yes, how to make our young ones elite entrepreneurs? :? Is there something we lacking that is making our elites so keen to work for others? (salaried employees) instead of starting our own 'Samsung' or 'LG'. :?:

LOLMum

Donkey Kong:
          For Singapore to succeed in future, next 50 yrs, we need elite entrepreneurs to do us proud. If you go to IT Show, Acer, Gigabyte, HTC, MSI, Logitech, Samsung, LG... Samsung has come out with new 3D LCD TV. Taiwanese, Koreans must be very proud of these. :celebrate:

Yes, how to make our young ones elite entrepreneurs? :? Is there something we lacking that is making our elites so keen to work for others? (salaried employees) instead of starting our own 'Samsung' or 'LG'. :?:

hi donkey king,

just wonder if your kid want to give up his fat pay check and be a hawker, would you give him your support?

There was a news article about some graduates who gave up their good jobs to be hawkers some years ago, does anyone remember?

i am sure there are many young, undiscovered and successful entrepreneurs out there. give them another 10 years and we shall see if we have our own \"samsung\", or \"ting tai feng\" etc.

i am proud of our own \"breadtalk\", \"katong laska\".

sleepy

Just to add:
            sakae sushi, select catering ๐Ÿ˜‰

Lock

Is there something wrong with the system? It really depends on which perspective you look at it.

No doubt our country does not produce the likes of Bill gates etcโ€ฆbut our education system ensures that majority of the citizens has a minimal education up to tertiary level (ITE, Poly). A large population is literate here in Singapore. Many can read, speak, write and count quite comfortably (not to the thesis and research level but good enough for day-to day functions). This is the education system in Singapore.

Over at the States, they have their very bright sparks but what happen to the majority of the people, the commoners (so to speak). I have friends who are living in the States and Australia and they often find a large handful of Grade 4 kids (ard 10yrs old) unable to write or count as like our 10yrs old. They too have met adults who cannot read to save their lives. But, they are more vocal, creative and risk-takers. So, is their system a better one?

IMO, every system serves a purpose and there is no perfect system that can make everyone happy. Living in Singapore, we just have to learn to adapt and if by adapting u find that it compromises on your principals and belief, then do look for other system that serves ur needs. Thereโ€™s no shame in migrating and choose a country that u think can make u a better citizen. Thatโ€™s my humble opinion.

adhdadhd

sleepy:

Just to add:
                sakae sushi, select catering ๐Ÿ˜‰

Breadtalk involve Taiwanese investments and Taiwanese innovations, which is also a Japanese innov... not very Singaporean, I am afraid.
                it comes after
                Yah Koon - which is really Singaporean's.

Katong Lakso has yet to be international brand...

Sakae sushi, original concept traceable to Japan too...
                Select catering.. not too sure...

kiddo

Busymom:

[quote=\"ksi\"]Contentment.

Second that!

Third that, ladies ๐Ÿ˜„

Clear as ABC wat :roll:[/quote] :celebrate: and the best you can make of the system with your kid in tow we not the best but definitely safe and not the worse
                  if you care to look around the world

we got roof over head cloth to wear school to go to places
                  to wander around safely ..... anything else we need

bigger pay check definitely good
                  more degrees can also
                  bigger cars and houses good leh

but if we look up neber enough if we look down okiee leh
                  so place your bet ๐Ÿฆ† ๐Ÿฆ† ๐Ÿฆ† :hi5:

toddles

I was really impressed by the Paradise Inn guy. Only 32 and has such a successful chain of restaurants. he also started from humble bkground, just a zi char assistant when he was in his twenties i think.

but these people are very rare. they have exceptional drive and talent.

not everyone who โ€˜opts-outโ€™ of the mainstream system is successful. we always read of those who โ€˜make itโ€™. the sim wong hoos and the oft quoted example of einstein who failed exams. but there are many many more who failed exams and are not einstein right?

Donkey Kong

Donkey Kong:

:?:

hi donkey king,

just wonder if your kid want to give up his fat pay check and be a hawker, would you give him your support?

There was a news article about some graduates who gave up their good jobs to be hawkers some years ago, does anyone remember?

i am sure there are many young, undiscovered and successful entrepreneurs out there. give them another 10 years and we shall see if we have our own \"samsung\", or \"ting tai feng\" etc.

Not necessary a hawker. Set up a system which can run without your participation (passive income). :idea: Hawker every morning has to jiaga the secret recipe... very siong. Example, McDonald, the founder needs to jiaga secret recipe? Business school lecturers always said McDonald is selling properties, no burgers.

If you look into history, most entrepreneurs have gone thru hardship, may not be broken families, etc. Our kids just too comfortable. Look at my colleagues, some are too comfortable. Ask them to chip in $5k to start a business, all chicken out. hahahaa ๐Ÿ˜›

We cannot pass down our degrees to future generations. $? How much can we accomulate without doing business? lottery may be. ๐Ÿ™
                      Right, we can only pass down businesses..... to our future generation.

From zero to public listing, average about 8 yrs. So, start working! :celebrate:

Donkey Kong

Just saw the other thread contributed by a GEP student.

It is nice that he/she shared some exam tips. But, these are old tricks used by KS students since many many years ago. :lol:

I am surprised when he/she mentioned: Chinese - favourite subject.
                        Memorising Chinese sentences to ace the exams. ๐Ÿ˜ข Alamak, I thot GEP teachers will teach them to be creative, form own's beautiful sentences. :idea:

Build relations with seniors.... :oops: This trick unis students very familar. Borrow their past reports/projects and copy lah... save time. :celebrate:

Is GEP just kiasuism being brought forward to primary level? :!:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

With your input, this post could be even better ๐Ÿ’—

• 7 / 9