DSA 2017

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Selection
    0 Posts 403 Posters 915.7k Views 1 Watching
    • Imp75I Offline
      Imp75

sleepy:
      Imp75:

Well....hopefully the new DSA process will weed out you lah 😛 tsk tsk tsk ...buying insurance ahead of PSLE....

that's not the intent of DSA lah........both schools and pupils to chope each other before marriage.....

I thought your dd is via dsa too :scratchhead:

lol.......but but but she really got talent :p.......

• Imp75I Offline
        Imp75

Imp75:
        sleepy:

[quote=\"Imp75\"]Well....hopefully the new DSA process will weed out you lah 😛 tsk tsk tsk ...buying insurance ahead of PSLE....

that's not the intent of DSA lah........both schools and pupils to chope each other before marriage.....

I thought your dd is via dsa too :scratchhead:

lol.......but but but she really got talent :p.......[/quote]No offense Sleepy....not talking about you lah but generally parents' mentality about buying insurance before PSLE.

BlueBells

Is general academic ability the same as general ability?

Removal of former will mean DSA via academic route is out? What about GAT since it tests the student’s capacity for learning in general regardless of any specific skill in a certain subject or topic. These two are different?

I agree that DSA via academic route should be out; but am quite divided over if GAT should be out too.

I am concern how a child DSA via non-academic talents might be struggling in his academic learning, and hence, resulting in more tuition to plug the gap, and therefore leading to higher stress factors all round. The need for more tuition to plug the gap is another hotly discussed subject.

justMommy

When they say 20% of the spots in affiliated schools must be reserved for non-affiliated primary schools, does this mean that currently, almost all the secondary students enter by affiliation?

• coastC Offline
              coast

darwinkoh:
              coast:

Except for Maths, there aren't a lot of subject-specific competitions (nationwide). The students going for these competitions are usually sent by schools and not all schools participate in them. IP schools have their own assessment (internal tests, HAST/GAT, interviews, ...). MOE has said no to GAT for the new system (note that NUSH and HCI already not using GAT, RI gave some mainstream students GAT exemption last year). So I think schools will likely conduct subject tests to identify the subject-specific talent.

Sorry if I am wrong... but I thought the new ruling dun apply to IP schools. i.e. IP schools still can continue with their DSA academic, GAT if they want to....

My understanding is that removal of GAT applies to all (refer to his speech in link below). As for DSA Academic, all schools can continue if they want but it has to be subject specific domain.

https://www.moe.gov.sg/news/speeches/moe-fy-2017-committee-of-supply-debate-speech-by-minister-of-education-schools-ng-chee-meng

• coastC Offline
                coast

justMommy:
                When they say 20% of the spots in affiliated schools must be reserved for non-affiliated primary schools, does this mean that currently, almost all the secondary students enter by affiliation?

From Straits Times,

\"There are currently 27 secondary schools here that are affiliated to primary schools with links to religious and clan associations. Most of them already have students from non-affiliated schools making up at least 20 per cent of the student population.
                However, six to eight schools each year have non-affiliated students making up less than 20 per cent of the population, based on recent years' data, according to the MOE.\"

• floppyF Offline
                  floppy

Those 6 to 8 schools are likely to be those with low or no COP for their affiliates.

• AppleCrumbleA Offline
                    AppleCrumble

mn_1704:

My conclusion - only able to comment with the experience of my DS. Let nature takes its course. If the child is able to get into GEP with his or her own ability (without all the extra classes and enrichment), then it will be great for the child. The child will be exposed to a totally different aspect of learning and knowledge inquiry.

If the child is able to thrive in a non-GEP school, than so be it. Parents can do more to encourage, facilitate and support the child to explore his non-academic interests, passion and knowledge exploration. I believe as parents, we just do our best to support our children in their learning journey, be it in GEP or non-Gep. I always believe that Parents are always and will always be the main educators and partners of our DCs learning journey.
                    mn_1704 I fully agree with the last 2 paragraphs of your post. :hugs: :celebrate:

As parents, we have a responsibility to help our DCs discover their strengths and interests (academic and non-academic) and be their cheerleader.

Take a leaf from Colin and May Schooling. It's their unwavering support for their son to pursue competitive swimming that Singapore now has an Olympic Swimming Champion. It must have been arduous journey in Singapore because it is the road less travelled.

jetsetter

BlueBells:
                      Is general academic ability the same as general ability?

Removal of former will mean DSA via academic route is out? What about GAT since it tests the student's capacity for learning in general regardless of any specific skill in a certain subject or topic. These two are different?

I agree that DSA via academic route should be out; but am quite divided over if GAT should be out too.
                      61.\tWe will start refining the DSA selection from this year, to better achieve the objectives of DSA. Schools will focus on identifying students with specific talents and move away from recognising strong general academic abilities. As Mr Edwin Tong and some parents have rightly pointed out, students with strong general academic abilities would already be able to qualify for the school with their PSLE results.

62.\tAs part of this refinement, schools will discontinue the use of general academic ability tests in DSA selection by 2018. These tests are used by some schools as a standardised assessment of applicants’ general reasoning and problem-solving skills. While they allow for a comparison of students’ abilities, they also inadvertently put undue focus on general academic abilities, rather than identifying specific strengths.

63.\tSchools will continue to focus on identifying sporting talent, artistic talent, or academic talent in specific domains, for instance, languages, Maths or Science. Schools can conduct their selection via a range of assessment tools including interviews, trials, auditions and subject tests. They will also consider the applicant’s overall portfolio and achievements.

BB: Academic route is not out. Subject-specific domains still exist. GENERAL Academic Ability route will be discontinued. So will the standardised GAT.

Once the standardised GAT is out, the vendor no business

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1 / 1