DSA 2017

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Selection
    0 Posts 403 Posters 918.5k Views 1 Watching
      Harrychew

Gxmas:
      dunma:

[quote]
      DSA via general academics is still there, so not sure how reasonable it can be this year...

No general academics, only specific academic subject, e.g. Maths, science, English, mother tongue.

RI and HCI, applicants in same domain go through same process, should be fair.

The application process/form may be so, but not necessarily the shortlisting process. It can still be considered as general academics...[/quote]DSA allows flexibility, but ultimately the school also has to consider the impact on the DSA students if they are unable to catch up with their schoolmates. It is an improvement already for DSA to focus on students with specific strength in CCA or particular subjects. I would think that DSA has served its function by admitting students who are very strong in specific subject, but slightly weaker in other subjects such that they may not qualify for PSLE COP of the school. DSA is abused if the school takes in mostly students who can easily qualify on PSLE score.

myteapot

mommyNg:
        iFirefly:

Heard that RI is admitting less than 50% via DSA this year.

All The Best to your boys !!

I think it is MOE's general direction... HCI and RGS both said during their Open House that they are admitting only 35% via DSA this year. Perhaps MOE doesn't want the IP schools to \"chope\" so many seats via DSA - to spread some to other sec schools....

It seems that the DSA this year will be tougher, especially since it's the first year post MOE announcement on the DSA changes. Although changes are not required immediately, all schools will start aligning to it.

mommyNg

Reneechc:
          mommyNg:

[quote=\"Reneechc\"]Anyone receive for NYGH DSA Sports?

I had called NJ and they told me they sending batches for interview... but I sense they are paying lip services as too many parents probably calling them for updates.. 😂

My friend received email for interview this week for NYGH DSA Sports.

Received last week too?[/quote]Yep

• GanjiongspiderG Offline
            Ganjiongspider

FantasyLandDreams:
            Ganjiongspider:

Just receive notification for DD to attend interview next week at NYGH under Bilingual domain. Good luck to everyone!

Congrats! May I ask if she has taken part in the bilingual competition as well and is in the top 30?

No leh. Not even ICAS coz her school did not participate.. My DD is MS. Hmm....should count herself lucky hor? :

Ladylady

Sorry ganchiong spider

Meaning u dsa use bilingual domain without any competition cert and jus choose this domain to try out? Do you mean that?

• GanjiongspiderG Offline
                Ganjiongspider

Ladylady:
                Sorry ganchiong spider

Meaning u dsa use bilingual domain without any competition cert and jus choose this domain to try out? Do you mean that?
                My DD did not participate in National Chinese Challenge, SMBO, no ICAS Certificates. I used her Interschool competitions, school's results & leadership to try out. To add, no fantastic competitions certificates. 🤷

Ladylady

Thanks ganchiong spider!

Ladylady

Thanks ganchiong spider!

• G Offline
                      gingertae

Gxmas:
                      Harrychew:

i think the general direction is DSA to account for 20% for 'O' Levels, and higher for IP. Competition in top secondary schools has gotten rather silly in recent years, where around 50% got in via DSA, mostly via academic, which defeats the original aim of DSA. There were also complaints that GEP students got free passes into top schools, although some were not really any better than main stream students. Let's hope this year heralds a more reasonable DSA process.

DSA via general academics is still there, so not sure how reasonable it can be this year...

No more general academics this year.

• G Offline
                        gingertae

Ganjiongspider:
                        Ladylady:

Oh that's goodno written test!

Yes! :xedfingers:
                        At least still get shortlisted for interview already very happy for my DD. Don't expect her to get any offer (unless she's really tat good)..but I'm just happy she can get through interview experience in this top school. I'm not sure though is it all applicants get the chance to interview or NYGH really vet through all applicants' achievement before shortlisted for interview? 🤷 Any parents know?

if you go online, u will see the status is \"shortlisted for interview\"... hehe
                        How long is your interview? I think there may be a short test....

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1 / 1

aishikA
                        aishik
                        DaberdewD
                        Daberdew
                        WordWizardsW
                        WordWizards