DSA 2017

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Selection
    0 Posts 403 Posters 917.9k Views 1 Watching
    • scotiaS Offline
      scotia

Joyymum:
      Hi Scotia,

May I ask how was the DSA choir being carried out at NJC?
      Must the child from the school choir CCA?
      Thank you very much ๐Ÿ™‚
      Hi Joymum, according to NJC website-- \"Past experience in the talent category of choice is not a requirement.\" and one of the mummy from this wesite did mentioned that her dd wasn't representing her pri school Track and Field team but was shortlisted for NJC Track and field trial.
      But it might also depends on how competitive is that particular CCA. I can only guess that Its still better to have some past experience in that talent your dc applied, if not isn't it difficult to even get shortlisted for trial/audition (imaged if there r 100-200 applicants)?

NJC choir: Individual audition, 2 teachers/conductors to 1 student.
      1) Sing ah ah ah ah ah (a few times)
      2) the teacher will be playing some notes(using piano), the candidate needs to listen carefully, memorizes the notes and sing (ah ah ah..... ....)accordingly to the notes. My dd said there r a few sets of very long notes to memorize ๐Ÿ˜“
      3) Just sing a song of your choice
      That's it. Audition over ๐Ÿ˜‰ Hope you can understand what i typed, cause I am not musically trained, just trying my best to describe it :rotflmao:

• scotiaS Offline
        scotia

Honeywell:
        soneat:

Yes via email

Thanks! DD went for interview, but was not called for the HDP, so far no news yet...

Today at my dd school, overheard a GEP girl telling her classmates that she received rejection email from RGS already. She even recited the email aloud. :yikes:

soneat

Ok la. Rejection is part and parcel of life. If can get it, good. If not, life goes on.

Joyymum

Hi Scotia,

Thank you very much ! My boy likes singing and had participated in SYF and their school achieved distinction in choir. Hence I am curious with the choir audition.

charchel

Rivervalekid:
              NikkiRGPS:

Hey thot I clarify here, one of my daughter'sschoolmate Mother of has contact the MGS. MGS clarified there is no email offer for interviews for these few weeks as claimed by that Kong Hwa Pri Mother and her Daughter and definitely the rumour of her Daughter who who has gotten early notice of WL acceptance to MGS is fake. :siao: Aiyo why anyhow spread fake acceptance and confused the rest over the school's fairness over DSA selection. If really get in den good for her but if cannot really srsly malu izzit?? Must have faith in SG govt schools phew!!

yup the one that claimed have gotten offer is from kong hwa sch and apparently not very well-liked. DD's friends were like saying confirmed lying, but being the worry freak mummy, I was like how can it be like tat then wild thoughts of huge sums of donations to those methodist schools appear :rotflmao: Lmao! so glad your DD schoolmate mother clear the air on this cos my DD really like MGS besides SOTA which she alr no hope liao and the only school she applied for now is MGS so still got some hope. :xedfingers:

Hi Rivervalekid, why did you say no hope for SOTA DSA? Have they already sent out the notification after the entrance test and audition?

Rivervalekid

no my DD did not even get pass the Video submission thing to the TA round for SOTA thatโ€™s why

Rivervalekid

JIalat right anyway long story will not elaborate further.

charchel

Rivervalekid:
                    JIalat right anyway long story will not elaborate further.

Okay lah, take it as learning process and experience. It was actually quite tedious to record the video and send via youtube to them. We re-took the video for her dance few times....and still had to pay $70 for the entrance test...

• Imp75I Offline
                      Imp75

Rivervalekid:

oh man but RGS is really a tough school to get in. Hope you have applied to other schools as well. I did only for SOTA and MGS and SOTA alr no hope. So a single chance left can b super demoralizing for my DD.
                      SOTA results out so soon?

• Imp75I Offline
                        Imp75

Rivervalekid:

oh man but RGS is really a tough school to get in. Hope you have applied to other schools as well. I did only for SOTA and MGS and SOTA alr no hope. So a single chance left can b super demoralizing for my DD.
                        SOTA results out so soon?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

With your input, this post could be even better ๐Ÿ’—

• 1 / 1