Anglo Chinese Family of Schools
Congrats to those who have a confirmed place. Come and say hi over at the ACSJ thread. And those who have a chance to ballot, pray. Lexy is right, if balloted out, immediately put yourself on the wait list. It has happened in many schools all across Singapore. Places suddenly become available (family moves overseas etc) and they are offered to the first person on the wait list. Very often before school starts in Jan.
But u still need to go thru 2C(S) to officially get a place elsewhere lah. -
sunny_side_up:
I am so exhausted after a day of stress and excitement. Thanks to everyone who were my 'mental support' during this journey. When the final results was announced I almost cried with relief. For those who are balloting next week, all the best and I believe the last one will still get in before school starts.
Dont forget that there are 2B applicants that failed in balloting and they are also on the wait list. -
sidekickasia:
There was a last minute applicant in ACSJ as well. He was loitering in the room for the last 30 mins always on his phone. When the clock showed 4.30 and one of the officer was ready to write the final numbers, he went up to the counter and told the officer he wants to register. Can hear parents sighing when he did that. One of the officer actually agreed to let him register because he has all the documents but another officer asked him which distance category he is applying for. He said something and I heard the officer telling him that balloting is for 1-2km only. Then he walked off.
Actually I don't understand him. Does it mean he hasn't registered at all at other school? By right since he is ready to register mean he has not registered or has withdrawn liao. So no matter what still got to register right? Unless he give up don't register at all wait for 2Cs. -
zac's mum:
Congrats to those who have a confirmed place. Come and say hi over at the ACSJ thread. And those who have a chance to ballot, pray. Lexy is right, if balloted out, immediately put yourself on the wait list. It has happened in many schools all across Singapore. Places suddenly become available (family moves overseas etc) and they are offered to the first person on the wait list. Very often before school starts in Jan.
But u still need to go thru 2C(S) to officially get a place elsewhere lah.
May i know how can i put my boy's name on the waitlist ? -
sunny_side_up:
He probably didn't qualify to register. Sounds like >2km and completely bonkers or completely naive no idea of the distance rules. Have to try at 2C(S) lor.sidekickasia:
There was a last minute applicant in ACSJ as well. He was loitering in the room for the last 30 mins always on his phone. When the clock showed 4.30 and one of the officer was ready to write the final numbers, he went up to the counter and told the officer he wants to register. Can hear parents sighing when he did that. One of the officer actually agreed to let him register because he has all the documents but another officer asked him which distance category he is applying for. He said something and I heard the officer telling him that balloting is for 1-2km only. Then he walked off.
Actually I don't understand him. Does it mean he hasn't registered at all at other school? By right since he is ready to register mean he has not registered or has withdrawn liao. So no matter what still got to register right? Unless he give up don't register at all wait for 2Cs.
By the way, did the crazy PR at ACSP withdraw? Or naively left his application there? -
Xueli81:
May i know how can i put my boy's name on the waitlist ?
Approach the staff right after the balloting session and ask them how to. -
zac's mum:
He probably didn't qualify to register. Sounds like >2km and completely bonkers or completely naive no idea of the distance rules. Have to try at 2C(S) lor.sunny_side_up:
[quote=\"sidekickasia\"]There was a last minute applicant in ACSJ as well. He was loitering in the room for the last 30 mins always on his phone. When the clock showed 4.30 and one of the officer was ready to write the final numbers, he went up to the counter and told the officer he wants to register. Can hear parents sighing when he did that. One of the officer actually agreed to let him register because he has all the documents but another officer asked him which distance category he is applying for. He said something and I heard the officer telling him that balloting is for 1-2km only. Then he walked off.
Actually I don't understand him. Does it mean he hasn't registered at all at other school? By right since he is ready to register mean he has not registered or has withdrawn liao. So no matter what still got to register right? Unless he give up don't register at all wait for 2Cs.
By the way, did the crazy PR at ACSP withdraw? Or naively left his application there?[/quote]He kept looking at the 4pm numbers and talking on his phone. Think there was one vacancy for >2km at 4pm which probably he thought he has chance of balloting. -
sunny_side_up:
Actually what caused him to give up? It was like a half-hearted attempt to register. He stayed >2km?sidekickasia:
Actually I don't understand him. Does it mean he hasn't registered at all at other school? By right since he is ready to register mean he has not registered or has withdrawn liao. So no matter what still got to register right? Unless he give up don't register at all wait for 2Cs. -
sidekickasia:
He kept looking at the 4pm numbers and talking on his phone. Think there was one vacancy for >2km at 4pm which probably he thought he has chance of balloting.[/quote]Maybe it was his wife on the phone calling the shots haha.
He probably didn't qualify to register. Sounds like >2km and completely bonkers or completely naive no idea of the distance rules. Have to try at 2C(S) lor.zac's mum:
[quote=\"sunny_side_up\"]
By the way, did the crazy PR at ACSP withdraw? Or naively left his application there? -
sidekickasia:
He kept looking at the 4pm numbers and talking on his phone. Think there was one vacancy for >2km at 4pm which probably he thought he has chance of balloting.
Icic...well that's what happens when u can't multitask...busy talking & not listening to the live updates lol.
But all this it goes to prove how in demand ACS still is. Let it be known as a warning right now to the Dragon batch next year, there are plenty of people <1km eyeing the two ACS. And even if all the demand within 1km is met, there are plenty of parents further away dying to step in for chance.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.