Presidential Elections 2017
Seems like most people here are more concerned with whether we're getting a Public Holiday than if we're getting a President Halimah.

Limlim cannot run for PE 2017
I prefer pork.. :evil:
So what's the point of always having polling days on a Saturday? Gov behind times again?pirate:
I thought the purpose of making polling day a PH is so that people can go and vote? So, why need to give off-in-lieu for those who already can go and vote on a Saturday? :scratchhead:
Because it's declared as a PH. If declared as PH than all practices wrt PH follows.
They need not declare as PH if they prefer, just declare compulsory OFF for SINGAPOREAN workers only for them to vote (like mobilization for NSmen). But if they declare PH for whatever reasons, then just enjoy the ride lor.
pirate:
because if on weekday employer will kpkb.
So what's the point of always having polling days on a Saturday? Gov behind times again?
If on Saturday, it's up to the employer whether they wanna give off-in-lieu. It's up to their discretion. They are not bound by law or rules to give off-in-lieu, so no need to kpkb. -
iFirefly:
Because already ๅ ๅฎ.Seems like most people here are more concerned with whether we're getting a Public Holiday than if we're getting a President Halimah.

Ya. Last time my employer told us straight: \"Saturday is not officially a working day under your contract. So we don't need to compensate you anything. No off in-lieu, Nyah Nyah!\"
because if on weekday employer will kpkb.pirate:
So what's the point of always having polling days on a Saturday? Gov behind times again?
If on Saturday, it's up to the employer whether they wanna give off-in-lieu. It's up to their discretion. They are not bound by law or rules to give off-in-lieu, so no need to kpkb. -
iFirefly:
totally agree...having a PUBLIC HOLIDAY is more important...we should get a holiday off in lieu since students/teachers don't have to go to school on saturday.Seems like most people here are more concerned with whether we're getting a Public Holiday than if we're getting a President Halimah.

zac's mum:
Ya. Last time my employer told us straight: \"Saturday is not officially a working day under your contract. So we don't need to compensate you anything. No off in-lieu, Nyah Nyah!\"[/quote]I'm surprised you guys keep asking this question. I presume you are all middle-aged parents who'd have voted in a few GEs and PE that fell on a Saturday, right? GE2006, 2011, 2015 and PE2011 all fell on Saturdays.
because if on weekday employer will kpkb.limlim:
[quote=\"pirate\"]
If on Saturday, it's up to the employer whether they wanna give off-in-lieu. It's up to their discretion. They are not bound by law or rules to give off-in-lieu, so no need to kpkb.
You mean you never had a day off in lieu. Well I had mine. You were cheated again and again by your employer in every election? Don't leh, people. Be wiser! Wake up.
http://www.mom.gov.sg/newsroom/announcements/2011/polling-day-is-a-public-holiday
[quote]Employees not required to work on that day are also entitled to one day off-in-lieu, or be given one dayโs pay, similar to other public holidays falling on a Saturday. [/quote] -
janet88:
...we should get a holiday off in lieu since students/teachers don't have to go to school on saturday.
I don't know your logic here. It's illogical.
Anyway, just so you know, school staff and pupils did get a day off on Monday, after GE2011 polling day. However, there was none after GE2015.
I suppose for homemakers it doesn't matter, unless you want We Time with your working spouse who will get a PH
Ong Teng Cheong was brought up yesterday by Mdm Halimah when she was asked about her former affiliation to PAP. Many Chinese FB users slammed her for making that comparison.
[quote]To those citing her lack of independence, Mdm Halimah highlighted the late Mr Ong Teng Cheongโs presidency, saying he had been a deputy prime minister and a senior party member.
โAre we in doubt that he was independent? So I think we ought not to look at the personโs affiliations in the past but look at the individual and ask the question of whether the person can do the job independently or not.โ[/quote]HY just doesn't get it. She just hit a raw nerve by bringing up the first popularly elected president's name. How could she make that kind of comparison?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.