Presidential Elections 2017

-1 Posts 40 Posters 61.3k Views 1 Watching
      iFirefly

I prefer pork.. :evil:
      Limlim cannot run for PE 2017 ๐Ÿ˜†

pirate

pirate:

I thought the purpose of making polling day a PH is so that people can go and vote? So, why need to give off-in-lieu for those who already can go and vote on a Saturday? :scratchhead:

Because it's declared as a PH. If declared as PH than all practices wrt PH follows.

They need not declare as PH if they prefer, just declare compulsory OFF for SINGAPOREAN workers only for them to vote (like mobilization for NSmen). But if they declare PH for whatever reasons, then just enjoy the ride lor.

So what's the point of always having polling days on a Saturday? Gov behind times again? ๐Ÿ˜‰

limlim

pirate:

So what's the point of always having polling days on a Saturday? Gov behind times again? ๐Ÿ˜‰
          because if on weekday employer will kpkb.

If on Saturday, it's up to the employer whether they wanna give off-in-lieu. It's up to their discretion. They are not bound by law or rules to give off-in-lieu, so no need to kpkb.

• floppyF Offline
            floppy

iFirefly:
            Seems like most people here are more concerned with whether we're getting a Public Holiday than if we're getting a President Halimah.

๐Ÿฆ†
            Because already ๅ†…ๅฎš.

• zac's mumZ Offline
              zac's mum

pirate:

If on Saturday, it's up to the employer whether they wanna give off-in-lieu. It's up to their discretion. They are not bound by law or rules to give off-in-lieu, so no need to kpkb.

Ya. Last time my employer told us straight: \"Saturday is not officially a working day under your contract. So we don't need to compensate you anything. No off in-lieu, Nyah Nyah!\"

iFirefly:
                Seems like most people here are more concerned with whether we're getting a Public Holiday than if we're getting a President Halimah.

๐Ÿฆ†
                totally agree...having a PUBLIC HOLIDAY is more important...we should get a holiday off in lieu since students/teachers don't have to go to school on saturday.

• ZeitZ Offline
                  Zeit

zac's mum:

[quote=\"pirate\"]

Ya. Last time my employer told us straight: \"Saturday is not officially a working day under your contract. So we don't need to compensate you anything. No off in-lieu, Nyah Nyah!\"[/quote]I'm surprised you guys keep asking this question. I presume you are all middle-aged parents who'd have voted in a few GEs and PE that fell on a Saturday, right? GE2006, 2011, 2015 and PE2011 all fell on Saturdays.

You mean you never had a day off in lieu. Well I had mine. You were cheated again and again by your employer in every election? Don't leh, people. Be wiser! Wake up.

http://www.mom.gov.sg/newsroom/announcements/2011/polling-day-is-a-public-holiday
                  [quote]Employees not required to work on that day are also entitled to one day off-in-lieu, or be given one dayโ€™s pay, similar to other public holidays falling on a Saturday. [/quote]

• ZeitZ Offline
                    Zeit

janet88:
                    ...we should get a holiday off in lieu since students/teachers don't have to go to school on saturday.

I don't know your logic here. It's illogical.

Anyway, just so you know, school staff and pupils did get a day off on Monday, after GE2011 polling day. However, there was none after GE2015.

I suppose for homemakers it doesn't matter, unless you want We Time with your working spouse who will get a PH ๐Ÿ™‚

• ZeitZ Offline
                      Zeit

Ong Teng Cheong was brought up yesterday by Mdm Halimah when she was asked about her former affiliation to PAP. Many Chinese FB users slammed her for making that comparison.

[quote]To those citing her lack of independence, Mdm Halimah highlighted the late Mr Ong Teng Cheongโ€™s presidency, saying he had been a deputy prime minister and a senior party member.
                      โ€œAre we in doubt that he was independent? So I think we ought not to look at the personโ€™s affiliations in the past but look at the individual and ask the question of whether the person can do the job independently or not.โ€[/quote]HY just doesn't get it. She just hit a raw nerve by bringing up the first popularly elected president's name. How could she make that kind of comparison?

• ZeitZ Offline
                        Zeit

Mdm Halimah unveiled her slogan 'Do Good Do Together' and was immediately criticised by pedants for its bad grammar. I thought it sounded uncannily familiar, like something that might be coined by Lim Swee Say (the guy who coined 'Cheaper Better Faster'). True enough when I googled, this came out!

https://s26.postimg.org/59mbhuxo9/Screenshot_20170830-203716.jpg\">

So much for creativity and originality...

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

With your input, this post could be even better ๐Ÿ’—

• 1 / 1