2017 PSLE Discussions and Strategies
:goodpost:
mommyNg:
Just my personal opinion, since this is a public forum, and the topic is 2017 PSLE, I believe that anyone can post and ask questions about the exams (questions and answers). Parents want to know for various reasons. For example, those with DSA CO/WL especially from schools not of their first choice, would really want to have a better feel on how their children have fared in the exams, to decide later if they should accept the offer or to reject and wait for PSLE results. In order to do this, it is important for these parents to have a more accurate and realistic feel about their children's performance to make that important decision by end Oct. As long as these parents know the potential impact on their children when they try to find out how they did, I find it perfectly fine to share questions and answers. Isn't this suppose to be a sharing forum? As for parents who do not want to know about the questions and answers for fear of negatively affecting their children, then as some KSP parents did before, just avoid this thread during this period then.
I don't intend to start a \"fight\", but I think we are all adults and we should be able to make sensible decisions best for ourselves. So I support parents who want to check and share about the difficulty of the paper (questions and/answers) to continue posting on this public forum, but also parents who want to avoid this thread because they don't want to be affected. Of course, unless Chief Kiasu and the mods think otherwise. Don't flame me, my two cents worth... :siam: -
mommyNg:
:goodpost: I love the way you put it, very objective yet tactful in aligning to the purpose of this thread.Just my personal opinion, since this is a public forum, and the topic is 2017 PSLE, I believe that anyone can post and ask questions about the exams (questions and answers). Parents want to know for various reasons. For example, those with DSA CO/WL especially from schools not of their first choice, would really want to have a better feel on how their children have fared in the exams, to decide later if they should accept the offer or to reject and wait for PSLE results. In order to do this, it is important for these parents to have a more accurate and realistic feel about their children's performance to make that important decision by end Oct. As long as these parents know the potential impact on their children when they try to find out how they did, I find it perfectly fine to share questions and answers. Isn't this suppose to be a sharing forum? As for parents who do not want to know about the questions and answers for fear of negatively affecting their children, then as some KSP parents did before, just avoid this thread during this period then.
I don't intend to start a \"fight\", but I think we are all adults and we should be able to make sensible decisions best for ourselves. So I support parents who want to check and share about the difficulty of the paper (questions and/answers) to continue posting on this public forum, but also parents who want to avoid this thread because they don't want to be affected. Of course, unless Chief Kiasu and the mods think otherwise. Don't flame me, my two cents worth... :siam: -
mommyNg:
:goodpost:Just my personal opinion, since this is a public forum, and the topic is 2017 PSLE, I believe that anyone can post and ask questions about the exams (questions and answers). Parents want to know for various reasons. For example, those with DSA CO/WL especially from schools not of their first choice, would really want to have a better feel on how their children have fared in the exams, to decide later if they should accept the offer or to reject and wait for PSLE results. In order to do this, it is important for these parents to have a more accurate and realistic feel about their children's performance to make that important decision by end Oct. As long as these parents know the potential impact on their children when they try to find out how they did, I find it perfectly fine to share questions and answers. Isn't this suppose to be a sharing forum? As for parents who do not want to know about the questions and answers for fear of negatively affecting their children, then as some KSP parents did before, just avoid this thread during this period then.
I don't intend to start a \"fight\", but I think we are all adults and we should be able to make sensible decisions best for ourselves. So I support parents who want to check and share about the difficulty of the paper (questions and/answers) to continue posting on this public forum, but also parents who want to avoid this thread because they don't want to be affected. Of course, unless Chief Kiasu and the mods think otherwise. Don't flame me, my two cents worth... :siam:
There are some parents who wish to know how their child perform during Psle, in order to decide whether or not to accept or reject the DSA offer : especially if the offer doesn't come from their child's ideal Secondary school. -
Yes, this is exactly my predicament now...
:goodpost:mommyNg:
Just my personal opinion, since this is a public forum, and the topic is 2017 PSLE, I believe that anyone can post and ask questions about the exams (questions and answers). Parents want to know for various reasons. For example, those with DSA CO/WL especially from schools not of their first choice, would really want to have a better feel on how their children have fared in the exams, to decide later if they should accept the offer or to reject and wait for PSLE results. In order to do this, it is important for these parents to have a more accurate and realistic feel about their children's performance to make that important decision by end Oct. As long as these parents know the potential impact on their children when they try to find out how they did, I find it perfectly fine to share questions and answers. Isn't this suppose to be a sharing forum? As for parents who do not want to know about the questions and answers for fear of negatively affecting their children, then as some KSP parents did before, just avoid this thread during this period then.
I don't intend to start a \"fight\", but I think we are all adults and we should be able to make sensible decisions best for ourselves. So I support parents who want to check and share about the difficulty of the paper (questions and/answers) to continue posting on this public forum, but also parents who want to avoid this thread because they don't want to be affected. Of course, unless Chief Kiasu and the mods think otherwise. Don't flame me, my two cents worth... :siam:
There are some parents who wish to know how their child perform during Psle, in order to decide whether or not to accept or reject the DSA offer : especially if the offer doesn't come from their child's ideal Secondary school.
mommyNg:
:goodpost: I love the way you put it, very objective yet tactful in aligning to the purpose of this thread.Just my personal opinion, since this is a public forum, and the topic is 2017 PSLE, I believe that anyone can post and ask questions about the exams (questions and answers). Parents want to know for various reasons. For example, those with DSA CO/WL especially from schools not of their first choice, would really want to have a better feel on how their children have fared in the exams, to decide later if they should accept the offer or to reject and wait for PSLE results. In order to do this, it is important for these parents to have a more accurate and realistic feel about their children's performance to make that important decision by end Oct. As long as these parents know the potential impact on their children when they try to find out how they did, I find it perfectly fine to share questions and answers. Isn't this suppose to be a sharing forum? As for parents who do not want to know about the questions and answers for fear of negatively affecting their children, then as some KSP parents did before, just avoid this thread during this period then.
Yeah. Totally agreed the anxiety of some parents or perhaps children wanting to know some assurance to the questions. Some wanting to gauge the difficulties of the paper so as to determine the DSA offer (only some). While there are others who might try even harder after knowing certain paper is difficult. We can’t stop them or even deter them.
Perhaps some parents who don’t want to know then pls don’t come to this forum. -
mommyNg:
mommyNg,Just my personal opinion, since this is a public forum, and the topic is 2017 PSLE, I believe that anyone can post and ask questions about the exams (questions and answers). Parents want to know for various reasons. For example, those with DSA CO/WL especially from schools not of their first choice, would really want to have a better feel on how their children have fared in the exams, to decide later if they should accept the offer or to reject and wait for PSLE results. In order to do this, it is important for these parents to have a more accurate and realistic feel about their children's performance to make that important decision by end Oct. As long as these parents know the potential impact on their children when they try to find out how they did, I find it perfectly fine to share questions and answers. Isn't this suppose to be a sharing forum? As for parents who do not want to know about the questions and answers for fear of negatively affecting their children, then as some KSP parents did before, just avoid this thread during this period then.
Noted yr point for consideration re decision towards CO/WL offers.
Didn't want to respond when phtthp indicated other parents don't want to discuss, as that was not my worry as I'm more concern kids get parents' qns & start shaking confidence. I don't indulge but if friends asks me, I've been replying some KSP mums direct WhatsApp, but not add to forum mothers' anxieties here.
I was coming fr concern for kids who hv been asked by parents (to such details as each qn raised here earlier) as this shows yr anxieties and yr kids may get anxious vibes & shake their confidence as anxieties got into them. Was just highlighting this area, unless some kids do resilient & will not be affected then good for them. By all means post yr qns.
Nevertheless, I still find janet88 constant call to parents not to look back a good approach/attitude, as what's done cannot be undone & we do not hv entire visibility to overall child's performance as kids may do very well for compo & pull up marks over one S&T error or two. Then also there is moderating for the cohort's performance.
Thank you for helping us see your other concerns that contributed to your anxieties.
Hope all kids get their deserved rests after 2 days of stressful hardwork at the exam battlegrounds. Do restore to full mental, emotional, physical gears!
Wishing all students taking next 2/3 PSLE papers all the very best! Hv a great weekend. -
Some parents like to know and some do not like to know the specifics of the psle papers. There’s no right or wrong. Just skip what you do not like to read.
Regarding trying to gauge the results by finding out the difficulty of the paper, i would like to say whatever gauge is not accurate. If it is not your dream school, whether the psle papers were easy or difficult, DON’T accept the school. I’ve been through DSA previously. If you want to accept the school, just accept wholeheartedly and don’t look back. If it is not your dream school, don’t accept the CO/WL.
i have the nan hua 2017 science papers (no answers). pls pm me with your email if you would like a copy. i will check my ksp account again by Saturday to reply. -
lee_yl:
Aiya... I hate to hear it’s a tough maths paper. DD1 has the tendency to panic. She can do it but once she panics, she will underperform.
Unlikely whole paper is tough.
Probably just a few qns that require more thinking or Tricky ! then can identify the smarties out fr the whole paper lor
gauge your girl stamina, if she does not wish to talk more abt it, then rest well n move on to attack on next week subjects . My ds did come back n analyse papers with me then , except for chinese - which he cannot recall much after the paper (which i guess was his mental stress n tired of the subject)
2 yrs/ few yrs ago, we saw quite active P6 kids in this psle forum discussing qn n answer( literally listed out mcq answers for open discussions) i feel its no harm , knowing and discussing to gauge.
BUt if one got weak heart , then dun read , just skip forward. -
I’ve both the NH & NYP Sc papers but no answer keys too. Pm if u think yr kids hv bandwidth to do. Can only scan paper tmr if u can wait, nobtime to do today.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.