CIP hours at Secondary School

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Selection
    80 Posts 36 Posters 64.8k Views 1 Watching
      schellen

lizawa:
      Hi schellen,

Did you confirm that the CIP cannot be done at CC ? I was thinking, could it be because, CIP can only be done at non-profit organization ?
      Hi lizawa, no, I didn't confirm but based on experience, I have not encountered school students doing CIP at CC. Maybe you have a point: can only do CIP at non-profit organisations.

pinky

My son’s school recently organized a fund raising campaign for a

charitable organization. Every S$20 collected = 1 CIP hour.
        Each child is required to clock in at least 100 hours from sec 1 - 4 so I
        feel this is a creative and more relaxed way (for busy students) to
        achieve the target.

pinky

Regarding CIP at CC or RC, do call up PA (People’s Association) to

verify. I think they are in charge of CC and RC. There are some RC who
          organize tuition class for children from low-income families. outdoor
          activities for senior citizens, road shows (health/safety issues) etc which
          I think students can play a part in helping. These are community work,
          aren’t they?

csc

Zann:

IP students do not go through 'O' level path? Does it mean the extra 2 bonus point is not applicable to them?

I always feel that joining an CCA should go according to interest and not meant for scoring point though some CCA are more high profile and could help score more CCA points.
            Think the CCA points are not applicable to them for application to \"A' level or poly program. But , having a balanced portfolio with impressive CCAs will definitely help in securing a place in a popular course in the university or in obtaining a scholarship.

I'm sure preference will given to the student with CCAs compared to one without CCAs, all things being equal.

Yes, I strongly agree with you that one should take up a CCA according to interest and not just for scoring points. Otherwise, the student will be in agony for six years.

I feel that student life without CCAs is uninteresting. There are so many skills to be learnt from participating in a sport, club or performing arts - skills the student will not find in the books alone. These learning experiences are more valuable than any CCA points the student accumulates.

pinky

I would like to add on what SX4 has mentioned earlier about CIP points:

Leadership: Points will also be given for students in uniformed groups/band based on their rank eg LCP, CP or SGT, band major etc
              Enrichment: Aesthetics programs organized by the school eg Malay/ French/Japanese conversational class, cartoon drawing, dance lessons etc

mathsparks

Have added a list of suggestions for cip. see here:

http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/cip-suggestions

cindylauper

My daughter just told me that she needs to complete 7 hours of CIP this Friday, 27 August 2010. Currently, she has only managed to do 6 hours of CIP. So she has to do 1 more hour by this week!

I thought she has up to December 2010 because the year have not ended right?

Anyway, she heard that the cut off date for completing the CIP is this Friday and we are getting desperate.

Anyone can help? :?: :?:

how help ? do what ?

wonderm

Sounds like too late to arrange for any CIP work. What would happen if she is going to be short of 1 hour? Can she make up for it next year?

cindylauper

wonderm:
                        Sounds like too late to arrange for any CIP work. What would happen if she is going to be short of 1 hour? Can she make up for it next year?

The minimum for her is 7 hours this year. I understand different school has different minimum CIP hours. Don't understand how it works. So confusing to be a parent these days. Luckily for me, the school allowed extension of time to submit the CIP card. In the end, I managed to get a CIP lobang for my daughter to do at a community club for 3 hours. Now, my daughter obtained 9 hours this year. Quite difficult for parents to arrange CIP on our own. Anyone knows how many CIP Hours need to be done in 4 years to gain maximum advantage? She told me 100 hours in 4 years, so much meh?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 3 / 8

yzh815629Y
                        yzh815629
                        Amber2018A
                        Amber2018