Nan Chiau High School
Eddisema:
At least Nan Chiau don't require Triple Sci to go with Double Humanities (they only nid combined humanities for triple sci). In Nan Hua last time we don't really have an option to take just combined humanities (Nan Hua just want to push for better results
The main pros (which most of my friends envy) is the flexible subjects combination.Ksptan:
[quote=\"kabochaneko\"]Hi, my son is concidering Nan Chiau.
Could anyone kindly list down the pros and cons of the school?
Thanks!!!
NCHS offers a wide range of subjects for upper sec, based on students sec 2 result and interest.
).[/quote]Yes, NCHS is more flexible. During sec 4, if a students cant cope with pure science, they are allowed to convert to Combined Science. At least their result will be gd enough to apply for popular poly courses.
Whereas , Nan hua does not have such flexibility. Reason I heard is Nan hua wants to push all the students to JC.
Not every students is aiming or suitable for JC. -
Ksptan:
For my batch I was one of the 20 plus ppl in HCJC. Last time NJ was popular, now is NYJC...bnib11:
Hi, so normally which JCs do NCHS students aiming to go after O levels? Thanks.
Mostly NYJC, a few aiming for VJC, ACJC, AJC.
Most SAP schools students are aiming for NYJC. Not sure why???
Possibly becz for NYJC their subject combi is really very open, other than MOE guidelines basically no restrictions on the subjects. Their former principal Mr Kwek relaxed the rules quite a lot. Heard quite lots of good stuffs abt this former principal... -
Liangbrolovesoccer:
For my batch I was one of the 20 plus ppl in HCJC. Last time NJ was popular, now is NYJC...Ksptan:
[quote=\"bnib11\"]Hi, so normally which JCs do NCHS students aiming to go after O levels? Thanks.
Possibly becz for NYJC their subject combi is really very open, other than MOE guidelines basically no restrictions on the subjects. Their former principal Mr Kwek relaxed the rules quite a lot. Heard quite lots of good stuffs abt this former principal...[/quote]Wah Liangbrolovesoccer u really know a lot about my JC :shock:
Just a word of advise if anyone nids this don't take CLEP in NYJC if ur HCL not really A1/A2 in sch den can liao (cfm suffer. :imdrowning: coz those ppl in HCI are very strong in Chinese) . O Level HCL A1 isn't a good gauge of Chinese proficiency for CLEP. -
Actually for some of us combined sci is one of the ways to secure a place in those top few JCs, esp if we really cant get A1s for the pure sciences. (Coz L1R5 is the one dat matters)
Just nid to make sure dat the sci subj dat u nid to take H2 (perhaps for ur career) still remains as pure sci. For sci stream can just take H1 for the sci subj dat u combined at o lvls once u get thru into the JC. -
Ksptan:
That's great! Thank you! :thankyou:
The main pros (which most of my friends envy) is the flexible subjects combination.kabochaneko:
Hi, my son is concidering Nan Chiau.
Could anyone kindly list down the pros and cons of the school?
Thanks!!!
NCHS offers a wide range of subjects for upper sec, based on students sec 2 result and interest. -
Hi can I check where the assembly is held in nchs? i understand itβs in the parade square and not sheltered ? My child is turned off coz of tat . But my first choice for dc will be nchs coz of proximity.
Dun think they will sing in the rain.
So sec 1 and 2 are studying the same subjects for the whole level and streaming start at sec2? Asking for the hcl do you mean even if you get a A2 or B3 for cl and hcl you have to drop hcl ?
My girl has 248+2 and really want her to take hcl and her chinese stronger in pri. Not sure how is it in sec. Anyway quite a number of her frens with 25+ and 26+ applying nchs. By putting 1st choice, i just hope those 25+ put as 2nd choice . :xedfingers:
Forgot to ask the minimum subjects for nchs is 8 from sec 1 to 4 ? -
On rainy days the morning assembly is either at the hall or the classrooms. (As long as it starts drizzling during the event assembly will be cancelled. Won't stand in the rain lah
)
Regarding HCL if u got A2 or B3 (up to B4) for CL in sec 3, they advise u to drop coz securing A1 for CL is securing one of the subjects in L1R5. But u can continue to take HCL (esp if u wasnt conditioned for CL and u know u can do well in yr 4). Just don't submit the drop form even if the chers ask abt it. They will utimately respect ur decision.
Liangbrolovesoccer:
For my batch I was one of the 20 plus ppl in HCJC. Last time NJ was popular, now is NYJC...Ksptan:
[quote=\"bnib11\"]Hi, so normally which JCs do NCHS students aiming to go after O levels? Thanks.
Possibly becz for NYJC their subject combi is really very open, other than MOE guidelines basically no restrictions on the subjects. Their former principal Mr Kwek relaxed the rules quite a lot. Heard quite lots of good stuffs abt this former principal...[/quote]It's great to know that NYJC has made amazing progress over the last decade as compared to my time with the school more than 2 decades ago when facilities and school popularity is nowhere near today's standards. My DD is excited to join NCHS and I don't rule out that she may be studying at my alma mater one day. Thanks for the information shared.
bnib11:
We may have been schoolmate in NYJC! I remember how bad the toilet condition was, with the doors falling apart and insufficient lighting.
It's great to know that NYJC has made amazing progress over the last decade as compared to my time with the school more than 2 decades ago when facilities and school popularity is nowhere near today's standards. My DD is excited to join NCHS and I don't rule out that she may be studying at my alma mater one day. Thanks for the information shared.
:nailbite:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.