2018 P1 registration exercise for 2019 intake

3.8k Posts 1 Posters 695.0k Views 1 Watching
    • floppyF Offline
      floppy

byfn08:
      I have a younger boy...kheng cheng will be a wiser choice cos i don't want to go thru all these balloting 2 years later. Understand the strong competition u have highlighted here.

No choice but to stick your head out and hope for a chance at the ballot in Kheng Cheng. Do keep a look out in case there’s a high turn of SC < 1km resulting in zero chance for > 1km.

The only nearby co-ed options with places for 2C and 2CS are First Toa Payoh and Guangyang (in Bishan).

• O Offline
        Orb

@Lexy you’re gonna get a lot of request for analysis

• E Offline
          EastCoastAussie

PS: if you are applying as a PR, be very nibble.[/quote]

Thank you Lexy!! :udaman:

I am PR. Schools on my shortlist (in order of preference) are:
          Phase 2C: Haig Girls - under 2km; Opera Estate - over 2km
          Phase 2CS: Tanjong Katong - under 2km; CHIJ Katong - over 2km; Canossa Catholic - over 2km
          Am thinking of watching the numbers online for 2C Day 1 and 2 and registering at the school with the most vacancies on Day 3 (out of Haig and OEPS). Any thoughts?

Lexy

Orb:

really siao liao and i still refining the formula as i go along as i spotted some mistakes. need to take out 40 here 20 there. wl

byfn08

Lexy:
              byfn08:

I have a younger boy...kheng cheng will be a wiser choice cos i don't want to go thru all these balloting 2 years later. Understand the strong competition u have highlighted here.

are you within 1km of kheng cheng or 1-2km?
              i havent look at the catchment area of the pei chun and kheng cheng and CHIJ tpy. For the past 3 years, All SCs whichever distance was safe and Kheng Cheng also has a traditional low application for phase 2B.

one way is to look for a backup plan in 2Cs and stick to Kheng Cheng for 2C.
              If you are really in doubt and need more specific, pm me your postal code.

Child caregiver address is just opp pei chun...lorong 7 area. Because i am using caregiver address to register i will be considered as 1 to 2 km category. CHIJ tpy is within 1 to 2km too but i believe CHIJ will be snap up in phase 2B. Really tough luck...don't know if i should consider kuo chuan in bishan which is also within 1 to 2km? My main concern is school distance from caregiver plc...

• tinywingsT Offline
                tinywings

Lexy:
                Orb:

really siao liao and i still refining the formula as i go along as i spotted some mistakes. need to take out 40 here 20 there. wl

Lexy, possible to share the analysis for Bukit Merah? This year dunno what happened, Chief Kiasu is out of action. 😛

Lexy

byfn08:

Child caregiver address is just opp pei chun...lorong 7 area. Because i am using caregiver address to register i will be considered as 1 to 2 km category. CHIJ tpy is within 1 to 2km too but i believe CHIJ will be snap up in phase 2B. Really tough luck...don't know if i should consider kuo chuan in bishan which is also within 1 to 2km? My main concern is school distance from caregiver plc...
                  I may need more time to think about it. or wait for 2b to be over then i see clearer?

here is my view so far.

Pei Chun risk profile folk is around about 2 applicants to 1 (year 2006 is 2.76) so say 2C left 20 for Pei Chun, about 40 will apply. for that area, the number can be 60 or more. so 20 may flow over.
                  anyway from what i can see Kheng Cheng number include PRs, so it depends on how many PRs has filled up the number so far for 2017 and 2016. at the same time, even say you need to ballot for 1-2km, the odds may not be that bad, you need to know exactly the number for the within 1km so that you can calculate how may available slots for applicants in 1-2km.

Alternative thinking - will be Kheng Cheng in 2C and backup Marymount in 2Cs and your younger boy go for St Andrew 2 years time if your gal is in Marymount.

TUR is more for Kheng Cheng so far, but i still should be okie for 1-2km for now. Give me a thinker after 2b to remind me.

byfn08

Lexy:
                    byfn08:

I may need more time to think about it. or wait for 2b to be over then i see clearer?

here is my view so far.

Pei Chun risk profile folk is around about 2 applicants to 1 (year 2006 is 2.76) so say 2C left 20 for Pei Chun, about 40 will apply. for that area, the number can be 60 or more. so 20 may flow over.
                    anyway from what i can see Kheng Cheng number include PRs, so it depends on how many PRs has filled up the number so far for 2017 and 2016. at the same time, even say you need to ballot for 1-2km, the odds may not be that bad, you need to know exactly the number for the within 1km so that you can calculate how may available slots for applicants in 1-2km.

Alternative thinking - will be Kheng Cheng in 2C and backup Marymount in 2Cs and your younger boy go for St Andrew 2 years time if your gal is in Marymount.

TUR is more for Kheng Cheng so far, but i still should be okie for 1-2km for now. Give me a thinker after 2b to remind me.

Thanks for your sharing, Lexy! Appreciate it.

weixiang_06

EastCoastAussie:

PS: if you are applying as a PR, be very nibble.[/quote]

Thank you Lexy!! :udaman:

I am PR. Schools on my shortlist (in order of preference) are:
                      Phase 2C: Haig Girls - under 2km; Opera Estate - over 2km
                      Phase 2CS: Tanjong Katong - under 2km; CHIJ Katong - over 2km; Canossa Catholic - over 2km
                      Am thinking of watching the numbers online for 2C Day 1 and 2 and registering at the school with the most vacancies on Day 3 (out of Haig and OEPS). Any thoughts?[/quote]

PR even if you stay less than 1km will be even lower priority than SC who lives beyond 2km.

Singapore Citizens (SCs) will be given absolute priority over Singapore Permanent Residents (PRs) when balloting is necessary in a specific phase.

Tough luck.

• revils_lingR Offline
                        revils_ling

Lexy:
                        revils_ling:

[quote=\"EastCoastAussie\"]

Bedok, Geylang and Marine Parade please

Hi Lexy, is it possible to add Tampines as well please? :imanisland:

\"die\" liao. 😂

anyway before i kill myself by pulling records for the tampines, here is a brief view of your plan:

it get across 3 area, the analysis is going to be wider and alot of moving target especially this year.

at the moment red swastika and yu neng potentially is 2.5 applicants per vacancy. (although since the risk is high and people may opt for backup choice under 2C)

your backup for tampines primary is out as it should be filled up by 2C (whether by SC or PR), Yumin is abit too tight for 2Cs, so another balloting. Telok Kurau should be fine but this year intake is 240 not 180. Tanjong Katong also seems alright for now.

I need break :rotflmao:[/quote]Thanks Lexy! ❤️❤️ That was a great analysis already! :rahrah: :udaman:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 131 / 381

ruiyaR
                        ruiya
                        thebottomsupblogT
                        thebottomsupblog