2018 P1 registration exercise for 2019 intake

3.8k Posts 1 Posters 694.6k Views 1 Watching
    • floppyF Offline
      floppy

weixiang_06:
      EastCoastAussie:

I am PR. Schools on my shortlist (in order of preference) are:
      Phase 2C: Haig Girls - under 2km; Opera Estate - over 2km
      Phase 2CS: Tanjong Katong - under 2km; CHIJ Katong - over 2km; Canossa Catholic - over 2km
      Am thinking of watching the numbers online for 2C Day 1 and 2 and registering at the school with the most vacancies on Day 3 (out of Haig and OEPS). Any thoughts?

PR even if you stay less than 1km will be even lower priority than SC who lives beyond 2km.

Singapore Citizens (SCs) will be given absolute priority over Singapore Permanent Residents (PRs) when balloting is necessary in a specific phase.

Tough luck.

The rule of the game for PR is:
      ALWAYS avoid balloting.
      Pick the school that everyone avoids, otherwise, you may find your options severely restricted in 2CS because SC has absolute priority over PR, regardless of distance.

Given your preference (Phase 2C: Haig Girls - under 2km; Opera Estate - over 2km):
      If there's no ballot for Haig Girls, go for it (my guess is that it will ballot for PR > 2km, which means you are safe).
      However, if balloting affects you in Haig Girls, go for Opera Estate (should be very safe for PR in Phase 2C).

Lexy

Hope this helps and works. :xedfingers: See below the comparison of 2018 vacancies for 2B vs applicants in 2017. Of the 24 schools highlighted in yellow, St Hila’s has the biggest shortfall (-38), followed by SJIJ (-31), Pei Hwa (-29), Holy Innocents’ (28), St Andrew and Nan Chiau (-24) and Maris Stella (-22). As the table does not take into account subsequent withdrawal and also possibilities of more applicants in 2B, take it as a reference. For those folks who are looking at those with bigger shortfall, have a closer look. I haven't checked much on the table so if you spot some mistake, do point it out. All the best everyone.

https://s22.postimg.cc/mlsmxt6ld/2_B_risk_1.jpg\">
        https://s22.postimg.cc/6asj1lh9t/2_B_Risk2.jpg\">
        https://s22.postimg.cc/oqczz1l4h/2_B_risk3.jpg\">

Lexy

revils_ling:
          Lexy:

[quote=\"revils_ling\"]

Hi Lexy, is it possible to add Tampines as well please? :imanisland:

\"die\" liao. 😂

anyway before i kill myself by pulling records for the tampines, here is a brief view of your plan:

it get across 3 area, the analysis is going to be wider and alot of moving target especially this year.

at the moment red swastika and yu neng potentially is 2.5 applicants per vacancy. (although since the risk is high and people may opt for backup choice under 2C)

your backup for tampines primary is out as it should be filled up by 2C (whether by SC or PR), Yumin is abit too tight for 2Cs, so another balloting. Telok Kurau should be fine but this year intake is 240 not 180. Tanjong Katong also seems alright for now.

I need break :rotflmao:

Thanks Lexy! ❤️❤️ That was a great analysis already! :rahrah: :udaman:[/quote]Tampines - look like a fight zone. should avoid if you do not have distance priority. already setting records we dont see before.

https://s22.postimg.cc/ahhyup14h/Tampines_2_A2.jpg\">

Lexy

tinywings:
            Lexy:

[quote=\"Orb\"]@Lexy you’re gonna get a lot of request for analysis

really siao liao and i still refining the formula as i go along as i spotted some mistakes. need to take out 40 here 20 there. wl

Lexy, possible to share the analysis for Bukit Merah? This year dunno what happened, Chief Kiasu is out of action. :p[/quote]Here you go
            https://s22.postimg.cc/59wvqbs9t/Bukit_Merah2_A2.jpg\">

Lexy

mads:
              Sengkang also plss...

here:

https://s22.postimg.cc/lenvx5ftt/Sengkang_2_A2.jpg\">

momi

Thanks Lexy for the analysis table!! That’s really very helpful. Good luck to everyone!

• G Offline
                  gerald32

Would it be able to analyse the possibility of balloting for ATS for phase 2B now? Would it be highly possible that there may be balloting for < 1km? Thanks.

• G Offline
                    gerald32

Would it be able to analyse the possibility of balloting for ATS for phase 2B now? Would it be highly possible that there may be balloting for < 1km? Thanks.

• O Offline
                      Orb

Definitely balloting <2km. ATS has only 20 seats each for 2B and 2C.

• G Offline
                        gerald32

Within 1km too?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 132 / 381