2018 P1 registration exercise for 2019 intake

3.8k Posts 1 Posters 716.1k Views 1 Watching
      Tomoko

:scared: 😢 :slapshead:

so i should go for my second choice then?

weixiang_06:
      Tomoko:

Thanks Lexy..

I'm PR under Phase 2C. aiming at Chongfu now (distance <1km).. based on the analysis, it seems like quite low chance to get in under Phase 2C.

My second choice is Jiemin (distance <2km).. do you think higher chance for me if I go for Jiemin?

Really need some guidance here.. many thanks..

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------[quote]

I tried to look at numbers closer for Yishun, since the KSP has not updated the chart, I did my own and gotten the results below. (hopefully i didn't punch in the wrong figure)

Total vacancies increase for this area was in total 210 from 2040 to 2250 due to dragon year. I would have thought perhaps those schools with increase vacancies would have lower TUR (in percentages) but it was mixed according to the table. So Ahmad Ibrahim, Naval base have higher TUR until 2A2 while Peiying and Xishan has only a slight drop.

I would think the people who are still trying for northland and ChongFu will still want to try out and have a backup choice for 2Cs, but pick wisely on the backup choice as if you it look likely that northview, huamin and jieminwill be full by 2C.

The number of applicants to Chongfu and Northland will ultimately depend on the risk appetite of the applicants.

For Chongfu - 72 places left, 36 places for 2B and 2C. Average applicants under 2B for Chongfu is around 47-52 for the past 3 years, so potentially a balloting is needed for 2B, (likely for more than 2km) and that would mean the TUR until 2B would be 88%, that is the highest TUR recorded since 2006. Potential applicants under 2C is about 100-110 people but given such a high odd (3:1), perhaps a lesser number of people will register. Odd should be around 2 to 2.5 per vacancy (72 applicants to 90)

For northland, under 2B, the average applicants is around 24-26, this year left 27, so its a close call. As for 2C last year vacancies is 51 while attracting 200 applicants. this year should be left with 27-30 vacancies - a fierce fight will be coming up.

So I put up some of my thought here, it's for you to come out with your strategy and see your risk profile and what do you want to choose for your kids.

https://s22.postimg.cc/o23owifox/Y2a2.jpg\">

for previous years results see here https://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/article/yishun/

[/quote]As a PR, you cannot choose any of the popular schools cos even for SC <1km will kena ballot..

PR will only get the chance after all SC even those beyond 2km are processed.[/quote]

• clouddealzC Offline
        clouddealz

kristy13:
        clouddealz:

[quote=\"kristy13\"]Hello All!

Anyone has any advice on Bukit Panjang schools for Phase 2C?
        4 schools all <1km
        1) West Spring
        2) Zhenghua
        3) Greenridge
        4) West View
        Thanks!!

I feel u dun waste ur chance with west view as i am quite sure they will have seats in 2CS.
        West Spring become quite popular nowadays as there is MOE kiddy and Zhenghua had slowly pickup compare to bt panjang pri sch. so perhaps u wan to see which is the sch nearest to u except west view. all the best 🙂

Thanks! Actually all 4 schools are about the same walking distance.
        Am keen to go for West Spring. I got a friend with kids there who enjoy the school, but i think there is a chance of balloting for SC <1km. So it's whether to take the risk, or go for either Greenridge or Zhenghua. :scratchhead:
        This stage of life is such a headache...haiz[/quote]yes west spring suddenly become quite popular and aso with the moe kindy. hmm u can make a last min decision on the last day itself and try to call the sch see if you can know wat is the actual enrolment count but again this yr they start the online reg which the sch itself may not be able to advise you on the total kids had enrol to the sch...

• clouddealzC Offline
          clouddealz

Keith_7272:
          Lexy:

[quote=\"XiaoZhuZhuPaPa\"]Hi, I am a grassroot leader applying to SCGS for my daughter under phase 2B and I am living within 1km of the school. Is there a chance that there will be balloting. I reaslized from your table that there is only 29 places up for grabs in phase 2B when I thought that it would around 38. Is there any other schools that we can apply in the Tanjong Pagar GRC that is affiliated to its secondary school as we do not have a back up plan if SCGS for phase 2B does not work out. Phase 2C seems to be very competitive. Please let me know your thoughts. Thank you very much.

For Tanjong Pagar GRC, i think alexandra primary, zhangde, cantonment, queenstown are within the GRC (i used the hybrid mode of the https://www.onemap.sg/ with the GRC electoral so i couldnt be sure if i read the map correctly) I think its easier for check the GRC directly.

As to your question for the SCGS balloting in 2B. it could be rather close call.
          This year TUR is 71%
          https://s22.postimg.cc/s5t68yhpd/Novena2_A2.jpg\">

From the previous years stats: https://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/article/novena/
          SCGS usually has a balloting if the TUR at the end of 2A is 71% or more.

However the past 3 years applicants for 2B is 16, 22, 28 (for 2017, 2016, 2015 respectively) since the implementation of the 30th month rule. There are other girls schools under 2C with affiliation (not in Tanjong Pagar GRC) that may be possible but we leave it till after the 2B (hopefully you already entered into SCGS by then). In summary, i think it could be close, and if there is a balloting needed, will you opt for it? or you go for the other ones within the GRC? If you have work so hard for this position, you may have to bite the bullet and go for it even if there is a need for balloting.

All the best.

Dear Madam,
          I have managed to secure my girl in RMPS under phase 2A2. However, I would still prefer to put my girl in either SCGS or MGS in Bukit Timah as I live around the west coast area. I am living more than 2 km from SCGS. What is your feeling and chances of 2C ballotting for APP outside of 2KM this year for both SCGS and MGS?

Thanks! :?[/quote]when i see this i am so sad coz i actually enrol to RMPS under 2A2 too but was told 28 submitted and confirm for a ballot so i do a last min withdraw end up oni exceed 1 and no ballot so i am very envy tat u actually got it 😞

• floppyF Offline
            floppy

skii:
            Sylf79:

Hai, the phase 2b registration will start this Thursday.. anyone can tell me if coming to register morning or afternoon make a different?

it does - according to game theory.

imagine 19 out of 20 slots filled.
            you go in the before the closing hours for lunch, be the 20th applicant.

the other person, 100% same situation as you, sees that 20 out of 20 slots taken.
            don't dare to apply thus applying for another school.

in the end, you get your slot, the other person doesn't. (assuming that the registration closes with no more new applicants after #20)

I'm sure that are many scenarios but the above is one possibility too.

Actually, the 21st applicant would most definitely apply if there are only 20 applicants in the system.
            The odds are > 95%... pretty good actually, better than betting on France vs Croatia.

Therefore, game theory doesn't really apply here :evil:

• clouddealzC Offline
              clouddealz

skii:
              Sylf79:

Hai, the phase 2b registration will start this Thursday.. anyone can tell me if coming to register morning or afternoon make a different?

the other person, 100% same situation as you, sees that 20 out of 20 slots taken.

in the end, you get your slot, the other person doesn't. (assuming that the registration closes with no more new applicants after #20)

i feel in this dragon yr if there is no backup for the parents, they will juz reg and risk for balloting at least the lucky draw ticket is valid lolz... i aso reg 1st day at 2A2 in RMPS earlier morn yet it did not scare of other parents haha so many reg and end up i am the one who dun wan to risk so i withdraw of coz other parents may benefit out of this...

• clouddealzC Offline
                clouddealz

floppy:
                skii:

[quote=\"Sylf79\"]Hai, the phase 2b registration will start this Thursday.. anyone can tell me if coming to register morning or afternoon make a different?

Actually, the 21st applicant would most definitely apply if there are only 20 applicants in the system.
                The odds are > 95%... pretty good actually, better than betting on France vs Croatia.

Therefore, game theory doesn't really apply here :evil:[/quote]i tink depend on the distance too so long not >2km the chances is cfm higher...else prepare to be ballot 🙂

Keith_7272

Dear Floppy, Reiann, Zac's mum.....

This is my first times sending my girl to P school....thank you for your once again for your valuable feedbacks... 🙂

• skiiS Offline
                    skii

depending on your risk appetite what...

how we know the afternoon parent is zero risk type or risk taking type?

this year is tough.

floppy:
                    skii:

[quote=\"Sylf79\"]Hai, the phase 2b registration will start this Thursday.. anyone can tell me if coming to register morning or afternoon make a different?

Therefore, game theory doesn't really apply here :evil:[/quote]

Keith_7272

clouddealz:
                      skii:

i feel in this dragon yr if there is no backup for the parents, they will juz reg and risk for balloting at least the lucky draw ticket is valid lolz... i aso reg 1st day at 2A2 in RMPS earlier morn yet it did not scare of other parents haha so many reg and end up i am the one who dun wan to risk so i withdraw of coz other parents may benefit out of this...[/quote]Dear Cloudy,

If I am in your position, I will take up the balloting.... after all, its 29 competing for 28, unless you super unlucky, otherwise, the chances is till > 99%..

• clouddealzC Offline
                        clouddealz

i was told by RMPS tat 28 applied for 24 seats and all are SG + within 2km tat y i withdraw end up on MOE site it was 25 applied for 24 which mean the info was not accurate or they did not reli monitor sigh…oh well maybe it was fated…

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 144 / 381