2018 P1 registration exercise for 2019 intake

3.8k Posts 1 Posters 689.2k Views 1 Watching
      lipstickhoarder

vivi_vivi:

St. Gabriel's had 83 vacancies left for Phase 2C and 96 people registered. Balloting for SC out of 2km

past years : St Gabriel normally still have some vacancies left, at 2C Supp.

But, this year dragon-cohort, literally wiped out all seats at 2C St Gabriel. wah ! Dragon-cohort, so fierce !

This amazes me because my nephews are at St. G and that school was a \"last choice\" for their parents during their 2CS phase, having been balloted out of other preferences in Phase 2B and 2C. Amazing phenomenon with the dragon year. I wonder if the next dragon year will see history repeating itself - surprised that even our generation is still into these \"auspicious years\". :scratchhead:

if i recall correctly, the last dragon-year cohort wasn’t so fierce, as this year’s batch.

in fact, i was so surprised that St Gabriel left zero seat, at the end of Phase 2C, this year. So many parents grabbed St Gabriel at 2C, until no more left.

firstda

floppy:
          Tomoko:

[quote=\"firstda\"]Personally I feel that distance based priority should be above the alumni and such.

The first phase should let all within 1 km to apply. The priority can be same as current system. Alumni higher than old boys old girls higher than PV higher than others but all within 1km. If oversubscribe then need to ballot

If there are leftover, open for people within 1 to 2km. It does not make sense for people living more than 2km to travel to the school daily and people living just beside the school to travel far

When they announce this move, my next career option would be Real Estate Salesperson, focusing on property around NYPS, ACS, etc.

Can foresee the cars heading to ACS getting bigger / continental (never mind if they stay next door only), and for property prices in Bishan (ATS / CHS) getting more expensive as well. Prioritising < 1km is, unfortunately, a way to ensure less diversity in some of the popular schools - and is just as bad as the alumni priority.

[/quote]I agreed that this will happen to the popular school which commoner don't care. People just want to enrol the neighbour school near to his house. It is unfair to see an alumni and such travel more than 2km to take up the space.

• EstéemaE Offline
            Estéema

I'm just trying to figure out what's the meaning of chasing life. Make ourselves happy? On what basis? Material happiness? Don't seem like anyone looking for contentment.

Get married on dates with 8.8.18, 18.8.18, etc
            Time babies for dragon, horse, etc

Then hit with competition for schools. Resources not enuf, normal neigbourhood schools also ballot out & stressed out.

I can imagine there are some families suffering big time this year. Maybe some bought or rent within 1km of target sch & still ballot out. Heavy investment loss! :moneyflies: Not to mention some alr lost out as hours invested for PV come to nought. Some spent $$ :moneyflies: to join alumni, some beg & borrow signatures for association support.

My heart really goes out to all parents who bend backwards for their kids' future.

Will it guarantee sending kids to good schools will hv good kids who will turn out to be filial?

What is the meaning of chasing wind in the air?

* sorry folks. Just feeling this way after seeing all that parents are making ourselves go thro. I also wanna vent. I'm going siao alr reading so many going thro so much stresses. :siao:

TheTeds

I wonder did most people registered already or still waiting for tomorrow 4pm?

I think moe must be having a nice enjoyable time watching panicky parents. Since now can apply online, why not just restrict to 2 days? Insomnia nights are unproductive and no fun!

sannnz:
              bedshat:

Sorry, rantings ahead, flame me for all I care. I do not understand lor! Now I came to hate the new internet of things! Lady luck has nothing to do with binary digits and coding. Didn’t we used to know the result pronto, on the day itself, at the school itself??? You get it done and over with on the day. Change is good but not when countless sleepless nights are sacrifice! 2nd to 21 Aug (almost 3 weeks). Now it left parents scurrying all over Singapore island to find a spot for their child. What is the use of a 1km or 2km distance priority when you can’t even get a spot at <1km? Why can’t we just fill in 5 choices and let computer luck does what it does best rather than having sleepless nights and hanging by a thread. IMH is going to be oversubscribed soon with worrying parents and children who aren’t sleeping enough due to long travelling distance for schooling.

I totally echo your sentiments.....i've been worrying from 31 JUL (2nd night of phase 2C) until now...and has to continue to worry until 21 AUG for 2CS. Sleepless night and lost appetite....all for the simple quest of securing a school <1km for my son. Boohoo.

And it doesnt help to settle my nerve that i called the school earlier and is left with 4 vacanies only...i still have 1.5 days more to count down. OMG.

Sparkss

Yah I am wondering most of us registered already or most still waiting for stats… imagine the stats tonight looks fine and then BOOM… tomorrow’s one looks bad since there will be an influx of application tomorrow

• EstéemaE Offline
                  Estéema

TheTeds:
                  I wonder did most people registered already or still waiting for tomorrow 4pm?

I think moe must be having a nice enjoyable time watching panicky parents. Since now can apply online, why not just restrict to 2 days? Insomnia nights are unproductive and no fun!
                  I think MOE need to do a lot of fine tuning & a lot of system testing. This kind of stresses is really very bad esp for working parents. It's not \"no fun\", it's plain unhealthy with the demands of work & family life most Spore parents are faced with

Mich1502

Moe has updated the numbers on their website!

if i recall correctly, the last dragon-year cohort wasn't so fierce, as this year's batch.

in fact, i was so surprised that St Gabriel left zero seat, at the end of Phase 2C, this year. So many parents grabbed St Gabriel at 2C, until no more left.
                      the last dragon p1 registration was in 2006. I don't know about other schools but back then schools opened another class to cater to the bumper crop. I believe the number of dragon kids in year 2000 is 46,997 while 2012 had 42,663.
                      https://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/article/singapore-birth-rate-vs-available-primary-one-places/

my guess is because popular schools opened extra class then but not this time. some schools also reduced intake.

TheTeds

The statistics are out!

Till date 2894 children have registered. I read somewhere that 3300 failed to get their seats in phase 2C.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 349 / 381