2019 PSLE Discussions and Strategies (Children born in 2007)

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary 6 & PSLE
    8.7k Posts 511 Posters 1.7m Views 1 Watching
    • chenlaoshiC Offline
      chenlaoshi

chenlaoshi:

Hi chenlaoshi,

Thank you so much for your generosity, in sharing the intricate technique (as well as other exam information), in this forum.
      Very much appreciated !

Would you by any chance during this year-end 2018 (November / December) school holiday : conducting any crash course for 2018 P5 students, in Chinese (Oral video answering format / Comprehension answering technqiue), for both Normal Chinese & Higher Chinese ?

Once again, Thank you, very much 🙂

Hi phtthp, don't mention it, just 举手之劳.

Actually, this thought did cross my mind. As I have 5 P5 home tutees this year, I am exploring the possibility of setting aside one or two of my time slots next year for small group PSLE preparatory classes to maximize the use of the resources I have prepared/will be preparing. Thus, I am planning to offer 4-6 lessons of trial classes (mcq + graphic stimulus + open ended compre sections and/or compo + oral) during the upcoming school holidays. After all, there will be a maximum no. of students I can take in eventually so to me, the more participants who come for these free lessons and can benefit from them, the merrier (even if they come just because it's free. haha 😓 ).

Thanks to the many parents for the private messages and inquiries regarding the holiday class mentioned in the above post.
      I have started a thread here for easier communication: https://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=85&t=92344&p=1879968#p1879968
      Please feel free to drop by and raise and suggestions/questions.

https://i.postimg.cc/bYHynbBd/pg1.jpg\">

【PSLE 小六会考 华文加油站】(Nov 2018) - 3 days free workshop
      Fee: FREE. However, a donation of at least $30 needs to be made to Singapore Children’s Society (https://www.childrensociety.org.sg/donation) to secure and confirm your child/ward's seat. Besides giving to a good cause with the festive period fast approaching, this is to deter cases of 'seat-hogging' & 'no-show'.

Venue: 266 Serangoon North Singapore 550266

Dates: Tue 20 Nov 2018, Wed 21 Nov 2018 and Thur 22 Nov 2018

Timeslots: 11:30am to 1:00pm or 2:00pm to 3:30pm

Max. capacity per class: 8 pax
      * More classes/time slots may be opened during the year end school holiday based on demand.

Techniques & tips on how to tackle the different sections/components and types of questions will be shared while handouts will be provided too. Participants will be given priority in terms of registering for Chen Lao Shi's 2019 weekly PSLE Chinese Preparation Group Class.

sweetbaby

Hi

Are SA2 scores indicative of PSLE scores? Will you use 0.75 or 0.72 x DC score received? Thanks.

• MrsKiasuM Offline
          MrsKiasu

laughingcat:
          MKS, there is no standalone 2018 papers leh. Unless someone is willing to photocopy for you.

oh ok lc thanks

• sembgalS Offline
            sembgal

MrsKiasu:
            laughingcat:

MKS, there is no standalone 2018 papers leh. Unless someone is willing to photocopy for you.

oh ok lc thanks

https://www.openschoolbag.com.sg/collection/past-year-papers/psle

• sembgalS Offline
              sembgal

https://i.postimg.cc/Y0JbGsDq/75-F99-D07-F764-45-B8-8-B5-F-84-E3-AA3674-A0.jpg\">

Doing the last lap of revision with this book. Written by sec sch English textbook author!
              The only book in the market that comes with full grammar- detailed explanation and example sentences !

Friends, the date now is mid October 2018. Even if your kids learnt it now you will probably have to repeat it next year to make sure they remember the techniques. Better to spend the time now relaxing the kids for the big push next year. Start maybe a week before school reopens in December.

• MrsKiasuM Offline
                  MrsKiasu

we bought ‘too many’ books! all collecting dust.

sembgal:
                    https://i.postimg.cc/Y0JbGsDq/75-F99-D07-F764-45-B8-8-B5-F-84-E3-AA3674-A0.jpg\">

Doing the last lap of revision with this book. Written by sec sch English textbook author!
                    The only book in the market that comes with full grammar- detailed explanation and example sentences !
                    Too late liao, to take a look at this Grammar book you recommend, because tomorrow Monday (22 october) 8 am, start English Paper 2.

MrsKiasu:
                      we bought 'too many' books! all collecting dust.

After PSLE over next year (2019), was wondering ... how to get rid of so many un-touched primary school assessment books at home ?

• EstéemaE Offline
                        Estéema

Friends, the date now is mid October 2018. Even if your kids learnt it now you will probably have to repeat it next year to make sure they remember the techniques. Better to spend the time now relaxing the kids for the big push next year. Start maybe a week before school reopens in December.

I beg to differ. After P5 SA2 exams, hv a holiday break then start revision or grounding those identified gaps (subj/topics).

The big push next year will pick up very fast & no time to focus in comfort of home coz supp classes & teachers pushing all the PSLE prep practices towards Prelim in Aug & PSLE in late Sept. very short year. Best to start the discipline fr Nov on a weekly & daily basis.

Get the kids to read more. Don't forget some kids will be involved in Olympaids & DSAs. All need time. Last, but not least, if can get them to start work hard now, best coz this is ard the age some kids will go thro puberty & may feel tired out or moods. So, that time parents need to understand their need for rests & manage emotions rather than press for all yr revision on top of school's. MHO lah.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 189 / 866

XXYYX
                        XXYY
                        23wincombest2
                        23wincombest