2018 PSLE Discussions & Strategies (Born in 2006)

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary 6 & PSLE
    2.7k Posts 1 Posters 848.3k Views 1 Watching
    • floppyF Offline
      floppy

hercules:

So far in my life, I yet to meet any young adult who tells me he/she loves Chinese. (recently my 15 yo nephew asking me about helping him to secure an A for his next year O level Chinese and that's why I am going thru all the vocab needed from S1 to S4 and asking around those who had completed their O Chinese about their grades to assess his chance. My conclusion is No Chance and the max I can help him is a B3 and therefore not worth to spend time brushing up his Chinese and just concentrate on others to secure his straight As. I love Chinese but when come to 'practicality', it's a 'dispensable subject' when a child actually has no interest but only on the A).

* Temp post. Pls do not quote.
      Temp post but must still quote lah, otherwise how to respond.

To love and appreciate Chinese, it's not about ace-ing the subject. If you do it for the purpose of ace-ing the language, you will forget it after the exams (and IMHO, A at PSLE / O Level is easy peasy lah).

To love / appreciate Chinese, you would have to love / appreciate the culture aspect of it as well... in my case:
      - I love Jin Yong, Gu Long and Liang Yusheng (aka the 3 Greats)
      - I love TV wuxia shows... which happens to relate to the above
      - I love computer games... especially KOEI's Romance of the 3 Kingdoms series, Water Margin. As a result of the above, I read Romance of the 3 Kingdoms, Water Margin
      - One of my exam subject concerns the history of Asian art which also means I have to understand Chinese history... Xia, Shang, Zhou, Qin, Han, 3 Kingdom, Jin, North / South dynasties, Sui, Tang, Song, Yuan, Ming, Qing

Your kid should talk more cos it's not really that difficult (unless environment really don't give her the opportunity).

sky minecrafter:
        [quote]It's not true that SAP school doesn't have non-Chinese race. There are quite a lot of students with mixed-parentage or Eurasians in SAP schools.

Yes, every batch, I seem to see an Indian, Caucasian... child, studying Higher Chinese. In fact, my child's Indochinese classmate writes Chinese characters better than us.[/quote]If go to Kumon (Novena) branch, one can see many Indian kindingarten children aged K1, K2, (5 or 6 years old) taking up Chinese tuition at Kumon, at such a young age . Many started young.

I spoke to one Indian parent, sitting outside Kumon classroom, awaiting to pick up her K2 son, chit chat.

I asked her what Mother tongue she intend her son to study , next time go Primary 1 ?

She replied that she prefer him to learn Chinese in schools. She said while young, must let her son learn Chinese, because Tamil they can speak at home, and she able to teach him. I asked her why she so persistent that her son must learn Chinese ? She replied that China is a strong, super power economy. Next time when her son grow up, he may work in China or travel to China to do business, so it is important that he must be able to speak, read and write in Chinese. And must learn from young, as being young, give them an added advantage, in buulding a strong foundation.

sky minecrafter:
          [quote]local Chinese probably got the highest grade via tuition while the real 'Chinese Chinese' don't usually attend Chinese tuition

Facts as of Y2018: 1) A (lower primary) classmate (parents born in China) goes to 2 Chinese tuition/enrichment centres, on top of parental coaching at home 2) Another classmate (parents born in China) also goes to a Chinese tuition/enrichment centre[/quote]Spoken to a China parent whose son (born in China) is studying in a local primary school. He said he enrolled his son under Phase 3, into a local primary school.

He said during regular Term time, his son will take English tuition lessons in Sg, to help him strengthen his command of English.

However come school holiday time, he will fly back with his son to China, during the long term break (vacation), eg during June and Dec school holiday.

And his son will continue to receive Chinese tuition, back in China..He said that Chinese tuition standard back in China, is much higher than that of Sg.

He also mentioned that China students' Maths and Science, are also strong. He said in China, Maths and Science subjects , are all taught in Chinese.

hercules

floppy:

To love and appreciate Chinese, it's not about ace-ing the subject. If you do it for the purpose of ace-ing the language, you will forget it after the exams (and IMHO, A at PSLE / O Level is easy peasy lah).
            I find Chinese a breeze and so I also can't understand why my own son was struggling with it but I accepted it and even allowed him to drop Chinese at end of S3. What I find easy I cannot expect others to find it easy as well. I figured coz I am fluent in several dialects from young and so that sort of helped me in mastering Chinese (that the younger generation is lacking in this).

• lee_ylL Offline
              lee_yl

Maybe it’s too sweeping a statement but I think only Singaporean Chinese learn Chinese until 要生要死.

What is the Mother Tongue? It is the language that one grows up speaking with since early childhood.

So we have to ask ourselves, what language do we speak to our children. Was it “You want milk milk?” Or “要不要泡nei nei?” If the former, then your kid’s mother tongue is English!!

Well, my mum spoke to me in mandarin, I watched lots of Cantonese and Taiwanese serials with my grandma. Thus, I have no problem conversing fluently in mandarin. I know some parents don’t even allow their kids to watch these bo liao serials. But that’s one good way to learn mandarin and be introduced to Chinese culture.

I also notice there are parents who rather speak to their kids in broken English than to use mandarin. That, we have to ask ourselves why. Sometimes, our children are what we shaped them into.

• peasantsP Offline
                peasants

We converse Singlish, Chinese and Hokkien at home.

I don’t preshape my kids to speak like newscasters. Else they will not able to communicate with wide range of people. They should apply proactively to situation because if they speak Hokkien in school, most of their classmates do not understand. School related work is another matter. They should know not to apply Singlish on studies etc.

mylilgirl

PRC students are hardworking and extremely smart. This, I totally agree.

However, I personally cannot tahan those PRC parents. On one hand, they want their children to receive education in Singapore. On the other hand, they keep criticising that our Math and Chinese standard is so low in comparison to China standard.

While some local parents feel the upper primary Math is too challenging, PRC parents feel they are only equivalent to P3 or P4 standard back in China. PSLE questions are too straight forward and MOE should raise the standard and set more difficult papers.

Whenever I hear all these, I just could not stop pondering, then why they still want to continue the education here when almost everything China is better than Singapore.

Yes, my friend said that when entered Hwa Chong boarding school compound, a lot of PRC parents talked loudly, chit-chatting loudly, when they walked around the boarding school premises with their PRC children .

mylilgirl

I am curious why are there still quite a number of PRC in those popular primary schools when supposedly, locals are given the priority in P1 registration. Local vs PRC parents, we are still of different wavelength. We may be kiasu to a certain degree but compare to them, well, we are nothing.

• sky minecrafterS Offline
                        sky minecrafter

mylilgirl:
                        I am curious why are there still quite a number of PRC in those popular primary schools when supposedly, locals are given the priority in P1 registration.

Many of ours obtain Singapore citizenship... If you speak to them in Mandarin, it works well

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 163 / 275

DSAlinkD
                        DSAlink