2018 PSLE Discussions & Strategies (Born in 2006)

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary 6 & PSLE
    2.7k Posts 1 Posters 850.1k Views 1 Watching
      mylilgirl

PRC students are hardworking and extremely smart. This, I totally agree.

However, I personally cannot tahan those PRC parents. On one hand, they want their children to receive education in Singapore. On the other hand, they keep criticising that our Math and Chinese standard is so low in comparison to China standard.

While some local parents feel the upper primary Math is too challenging, PRC parents feel they are only equivalent to P3 or P4 standard back in China. PSLE questions are too straight forward and MOE should raise the standard and set more difficult papers.

Whenever I hear all these, I just could not stop pondering, then why they still want to continue the education here when almost everything China is better than Singapore.

Yes, my friend said that when entered Hwa Chong boarding school compound, a lot of PRC parents talked loudly, chit-chatting loudly, when they walked around the boarding school premises with their PRC children .

mylilgirl

I am curious why are there still quite a number of PRC in those popular primary schools when supposedly, locals are given the priority in P1 registration. Local vs PRC parents, we are still of different wavelength. We may be kiasu to a certain degree but compare to them, well, we are nothing.

• sky minecrafterS Offline
            sky minecrafter

mylilgirl:
            I am curious why are there still quite a number of PRC in those popular primary schools when supposedly, locals are given the priority in P1 registration.

Many of ours obtain Singapore citizenship... If you speak to them in Mandarin, it works well

mylilgirl:
              I am curious why are there still quite a number of PRC in those popular primary schools when supposedly, locals are given the priority in P1 registration. Local vs PRC parents, we are still of different wavelength. We may be kiasu to a certain degree but compare to them, well, we are nothing.

They may have entered our local schools, via Phase 3.

As PRC children are hardworking and often strong in these 3 subjects (Chinese, Maths, Science), say these 3 subjects' China standard are way higher (tougher) than that of our Sg Moe standard, often they target Hwa Chong, Nanyang Girls High, Raffles IP schools, compete with our local Singaporean students, due to their good psle results, they are able to gain admission

• EstéemaE Offline
                Estéema

This year, apparently MOE admits lesser PRC scholars. Still many fr Vietnam, Indonesia & Msia. Recent observation fr the 2019 incoming ASEAN scholars starting their sec English bridging courses commencing Nov. Boarding sch gradually given to our own sportsmen if parents opt for it, owise resources in dorms will be wasted.

• floppyF Offline
                  floppy

mylilgirl:

Singapore was very liberal in lelong-ing the PR status a couple of years ago (pre-GE 2011). As a result, a number of foreigners have acquired the necessary PR status, thus beng eligible for any of the earlier phases, i.e. Phase 1, 2A1, 2A2 and 2B. Then, like SC, some of them had PV, joined clan, used religious affiliation, etc to gain the advantage to participate in these earlier Phases.

BTW, what's with the PRC love-in. It's like the old Ang Mo Tua Kee symptom... except now we have the PRC Tua Kee symptom. PRCs come in all shapes and sizes, and not all of them are hardworking or smart. For every hardworking / smart one, you can also find one that CMI.

PRCs are super kiasu, intelligent and never-take-no-for-an-answer type.

their kids are usually strong in math and chinese…so if they do well, it’s likely they can get transferred to a popular school.
                    that’s how the siblings can enter via phase 1.
                    in Australia, PRCs work very hard on their English…it’s not difficult to excel after that.
                    sorry OT.

all the best for next week’s PSLE results. the kids have worked hard, parents have struggled too.

• chenlaoshiC Offline
                      chenlaoshi

Out of topic a little, but something which I think will be useful/applicable for this year's Pri 6s going into Sec sch next yr:

https://chenlaoshi.wixsite.com/psleprepclass/blog
                      Just officially started blogging and archiving (in Chinese, of course :p) world & local news and videos regarding topics/issues that are useful for discussion and training verbal expression skills as well as keeping kids (esp. those who don't read/follow news) informed.

With each post, I usually include probing (or oral conversation type) questions as well as explanation (and 汉语拼音) of difficult words & phrases or 好词好句.

Parents can use them to strike up casual conversation with your kids to prepare them for the type of oral topics that are to come in Sec sch CL/HCL. Any contribution/sharing of articles are most welcome.

https://i.postimg.cc/mZdzNqKh/blog1.jpg\">
                      https://i.postimg.cc/mDLk7NwQ/blog2.jpg\">

========================================
                      【PSLE 小六会考 华文加油站】(Nov 2018) - 3 days free workshop: https://bit.ly/2JnocsD
                      【PSLE Chinese Weekly Preparation Group Class - 悦读理解会】(Nov/Dec 2018) - Trial Classes: https://bit.ly/2zaml5v

• ZappyZ Offline
                        Zappy

Lai liao, lai liao...

The results of the 2018 Primary School Leaving Examination (PSLE) will be released on Thursday, 22 November 2018. Students may obtain their results from their respective primary schools from 11.00am on 22 November 2018.

The S1 Posting Results will be released on Wednesday, 19 December 2018. Students are to report on 20 December 2018 at 8.30am to the secondary schools they are posted to.

https://www.moe.gov.sg/news/press-releases/release-of-2018-psle-results-and-secondary-1-posting-exercise

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 164 / 275