2019 PSLE Discussions and Strategies (Children born in 2007)
Imp, Your school papers/marking schemes have a higher standard than ours 吧。(^-^*)ノ
Very impressive girls you've got there!
Sorry phtthp, I only managed to locate the breakdown for EL. It only serves as a guide, I guess, so that the student can put in extra effort where necessary, instead of ploughing through the whole stack of practices...
For MKS as reference...EL paper 2 targets
Grammar 10 (A*); 8 (A)
Vocabulary 5, 4
Vocab Cloze 4, 4
Visual Text 8, 8
Grammar Cloze 10, 10
Editing 12, 11
Compre Cloze 12, 9
Synthesis 10, 6
Compre OE 15, 10 -
sky minecrafter\" post_id=\"1909896\" time=\"1557591379\" user_id=\"130531:[quote=\"sky minecrafter\" post_id=1909896 time=1557591379 user_id=130531]
Wow! Is this an average from any sch or a particular sch? With MOE no longer sharing average, how to find out?MrsKiasu:
My dear, Compo requires consistent practice...Still, TAS' workshop looks neat: https://static1.squarespace.com/static/575a6079044262ac9d71f11d/t/5cc80cf97e326700017c8ebe/1556614393761/Examprep1info.pdfdd says she rather go for compo and paper 2 wor...I wonder if there is any hol prog for compo? I also suggested why not another dosage of Eng tuition? She told me huh already so busy...better read own notes at home since still not well verse with own notes and also havent go through own tuition notes thoroughly.
I agree with her that she does Not need extra EL tuition during term time. And, if she has updated materials she can still learn from, yes, it is better that she revises at her own pace in the comfort+convenience of home.
SW&CW 27.5% (weighting) of EL paper
Language Use & Compre 47.5%
Listening 10%
Oral 15%
SW
For A* at least 15/15
For A 12/15
top class average 13/15
CW
For A* at least 32/40
For A 26/40
top class average 35/40
Paper2
For A* at least 86/95
For A 70/95
top class average 78/95[/quote] -
this week is quiet, because
MYE (mid-year exam, p6 sa1) in progress … several primary schools having English paper 2 today (monday, 13 may 2019).
tomorrow : maths
Wednesdy & Thursday : some schools having Science, while others having Chinese
Next Monday : vesak day public holiday -
chenlaoshi\" post_id=\"1908667\" time=\"1556851845\" user_id=\"162894:
Update:
Another SA1 CL picture compo question this year:chenlaoshi\" post_id=\"1908458\" time=\"1556720018\" user_id=\"162894:
3 SA1 CL picture compo topics so far:
- Boy saw a bag on MRT station platform, thought there might be a bomb in it
- Boy (while on his way to have his meal) helped old man who fell down
- Mother brought son to playground after having meal at fast food restaurant, while Mother was engrossed with her hand phone, stranger approached boy with toy car, boy disappeared from playground
------
【Chen Lao Shi's June 2019 School Holiday Chinese Language Workshops】 --> https://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=85&t=93062&p=1906646#p1906646
- Boy received call while doing work, lied to Mum he's going out to study with his friends (actually went to join them for soccer), Mum saw them playing while on her way to do grocery shopping
- (scene: park) Boy playing soccer with friends, on the way back home saw his friend & greeted each other, girl cycling at fast speed knocked into both of them, boy & friend got injured (hand injury + bleeding respectively) and onlookers start to gather -
chenlaoshi\" post_id=\"1910063\" time=\"1557715605\" user_id=\"162894:
Update:
Another SA1 CL picture compo question this year:chenlaoshi\" post_id=\"1908667\" time=\"1556851845\" user_id=\"162894:
[quote=chenlaoshi post_id=1908458 time=1556720018 user_id=162894]3 SA1 CL picture compo topics so far:
- Boy saw a bag on MRT station platform, thought there might be a bomb in it
- Boy (while on his way to have his meal) helped old man who fell down
- Mother brought son to playground after having meal at fast food restaurant, while Mother was engrossed with her hand phone, stranger approached boy with toy car, boy disappeared from playground
- Boy received call while doing work, lied to Mum he's going out to study with his friends (actually went to join them for soccer), Mum saw them playing while on her way to do grocery shopping
------
【Chen Lao Shi's June 2019 School Holiday Chinese Language Workshops】 --> https://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=85&t=93062&p=1906646#p1906646
- (scene: park) Boy playing soccer with friends, on the way back home saw his friend & greeted each other, girl cycling at fast speed knocked into both of them, boy & friend got injured (hand injury + bleeding respectively) and onlookers start to gather[/quote]Sorry, don't mean to spam >_<\" but another student has shared his school's SA1 CL Picture Compo. Here goes:
- Boy brought sister to playground to play, boy meets friend who invited him for game of soccer, boy joined them while leaving sister to play alone, snake approaches sister
That's 6 different pics/plots (a couple of these topics were repeated across different schools) for your kids to practice planning and/or writing for this holiday. Shall continue sharing if my other students' pic compo are different.
phtthp\" post_id=\"1909822\" time=\"1557556736\" user_id=\"35251:
Oh thank you so much, we were buried in SA1 exams and only saw this now. 2 more papers to go , Thurs is last day of SA1. Even our tuition teacher, a chem engineer senior feel the stress from our science and math exams ..
Hi bluepencil,tryourbest\" post_id=\"1908293\" time=\"1556580558\" user_id=\"176900:
Hi bluepencil,
I find this book not too bad, u may wish to take a look .
https://postimg.cc/N5qH7Gqz
agree with tryourbest that, above p6 and p5 English composition books are good, because inside contain several useful story plot, for different compo topics (scenario) : can help your girl to prepare for Psle English composition (paper 1), worthwhile to buy
phtthp\" post_id=\"1909824\" time=\"1557557253\" user_id=\"35251:
Hi bluepencil & tryourbest,
Thank you tryyourbest! I have asked my child to write a bit of compo everyday. Hopefully it will get the engine running.bluepencil\" post_id=\"1908467\" time=\"1556726197\" user_id=\"165241:
[quote=tryourbest post_id=1908319 time=1556592138 user_id=176900]Jiayou to yr child and all p6s sitting for Sa1 soon! :xedfingers:
Is your sa1 over, by end of next Friday (17 may) ?
If you happen to look for a Chinese oral workshop during coming June school holidays to prepare for Psle, chenlaoshi is organizing a second oral workshop on June (6 and 7, Thurs and friday).
I find the list of Chinese Oral topics he going to cover, useful. His first oral workshop is full house.
https://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=85&t=93062&sid=c33a1d7719ad1331b1b716c766feb2a6&start=20[/quote]Thanks for the info!
My child pick up chinese quite well ever since I turn on radio to 95.8 fm at meal times, many topics are daily matters and quite oral related -
Estéema\" post_id=\"1909882\" time=\"1557583356\" user_id=\"66413:
I quite agree.
Don’t mind me saying, you lost control liao. Yr DD so young lock you out?MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"1909872\" time=\"1557578704\" user_id=\"43981:
I m the other way round..dd always locked herself in the room. I m basically unwanted by her. I ask her to eat, drink, wake her up from nap and nag her to sleep..I m not sure if she is indeed studying coz she has her earphone with laptop on says she wants to listen to songs..and if indeed studying not sure if she has her own effective ways..she just want to do it on her own and always reject my offer to help..I used to mark her paper but last week she asked my permission to mark it herself and do her own correction..and my dd2 continue with playing and her marks are going south :nunchuk:
When my kids study for exams, their hp all in my room. Normal days I’ll just alert them when too long using hp, but will not restrict them holding to hp as I want them to develop self-control. No earpiece as DH says it’s a bad habit & limits concentration since energy for listening to music can be better channeled to full focus on exams prep. DH thinks once hv such habits, tendency to shut others out & ppl can’t get their full attention on subj matters in discussion & pose danger when on roads as all other sounds got shut out by their favorite band. To DH, it’s an anti-social habit he does not want our kids to acquire.
We do not encourage our kids to shut parents out of their rooms. Wait till they own their place. I rmbr my M’sian intern staying with us when mum was ard, wld leave his room door half opened whenever his gfrd comes visit. He explain he’ll like to respect us as his guests just staying for short visit & usually come visit when he is not on houseman duty.
This time is a very difficult time for all. Firstly our child is starting or going through puberty. which means they want to start to do their own things or even rebel against you just because their hormones tell them to do so, or peers are behaving similar.
On the other hand, they are still actually very close to you, so its like \"half baked\".
I worry over my child not studying especially sometimes my child just get so sick of studying and tell me plainly I don't want to study. One day by chance, I happen to praise her by chance for highlighting something that was important, and immediately she felt so motivated for nothing.
I realised that during this period, we can praise our child when she is doing good, even if it is just one thing like highlighting ... and this will lead to more good things. Of course child can still get lazy, but at least the atmosphere is more positive, and soon you will find your child coming to hug you because the mood is positive.
It is really a tricky time for all.. My child also doesn't really like to revise 100 percent with me, because I can't keep a poker face and hide my feelings when my child makes very bad mistakes, something like cannot write a super simple chinese word! I was then very lucky to find very cooperative young tutors to help me revise with her. That way my child continues working and I can monitor the situation too.
Tough time for us all! -
agree, bluepencil…they tend to have own thinking now…dd thought she is revising well…I told her few times read those actual books and she thinks online resources are better…I kinda got a feeling she agrees with me that she is underprepared for today’s paper… need to learn from mistakes hope really learn and have enough time…
bluepencil\" post_id=\"1910290\" time=\"1557843228\" user_id=\"165241:
Thanks for the info!
Hi bluepencil & tryourbest,phtthp\" post_id=\"1909824\" time=\"1557557253\" user_id=\"35251:
[quote=bluepencil post_id=1908467 time=1556726197 user_id=165241]
Thank you tryyourbest! I have asked my child to write a bit of compo everyday. Hopefully it will get the engine running.
Is your sa1 over, by end of next Friday (17 may) ?
If you happen to look for a Chinese oral workshop during coming June school holidays to prepare for Psle, chenlaoshi is organizing a second oral workshop on June (6 and 7, Thurs and friday).
I find the list of Chinese Oral topics he going to cover, useful. His first oral workshop is full house.
https://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=85&t=93062&sid=c33a1d7719ad1331b1b716c766feb2a6&start=20
My child pick up chinese quite well ever since I turn on radio to 95.8 fm at meal times, many topics are daily matters and quite oral related[/quote]What a good and free way to learn chinese!
my dc is only into Fm987...listening to Chinese stations? she's gonna roll eyes big time
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.