2019 PSLE Discussions and Strategies (Children born in 2007)

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary 6 & PSLE
    8.7k Posts 511 Posters 1.7m Views 1 Watching
    • chenlaoshiC Offline
      chenlaoshi

Dino\" post_id=\"1936790\" time=\"1569293994\" user_id=\"6726:

chenlaoshi\" post_id=\"1936789\" time=\"1569293802\" user_id=\"162894:

The cruel reality is every mark is important. There's always the possibility that you were 1 mark away from a different grade (although of course, ultimately it's the total aggregate score than matters most) or from being eligible for another stream. 😓 That said, it's definitely time to move on to the written papers beginning this Thursday. :rahrah:

Yup, this won't be the only tricky question. Another to sieve out the A*s from the As is via marking scheme. It will be tweaked according to difficulty of the components/papers.

For example, in separate years when I was involved in the marking, there was a difference in how the below was graded/penalized -->

Q) 为什么小明... ...?
      A) 因为他... ...。

0.5 marks was deducted in certain years because start of answer did not state who the 他 is, whereas for some years, students who wrote such answers were \"let off\".

but schools have been teaching that its ok to write ying wei ta cos its understood its referring to xiao ming. That means schools have been wrong?

The answer is separate from the question. Thus, we ought to mention his name right at the start before using 他. (因为小明... ...他... ... 他... ...)。

I think you will notice that different schools and different teachers have different 'demands' or advise. From my students and the kids who attended my workshops, I have heard different feedbacks - some must copy entire question before adding 因为,some can begin with 因为 directly, some were taught to use 这是因为 (and then some were told not too) - similarly like compo, some teachers forbid the use of flashback, and for compre the 从哪里可以看出 question, some were taught not to use 从\"... ...\"可以看出 while others were told that they must stick to that style.

For PSLE marking, the HOD will attend meeting with SEAB before sharing in department briefing the marking scheme (this is usually towards end of Term 2/start of Term 3). During the PSLE marking days, if certain trends were noticed, they will be raised, decisions will then be made and info on how to grade/penalize will be disseminated across the marking centres.

• DinoD Offline
        Dino

chenlaoshi\" post_id=\"1936794\" time=\"1569294692\" user_id=\"162894:

Dino\" post_id=\"1936790\" time=\"1569293994\" user_id=\"6726:

[quote=chenlaoshi post_id=1936789 time=1569293802 user_id=162894]
        The cruel reality is every mark is important. There's always the possibility that you were 1 mark away from a different grade (although of course, ultimately it's the total aggregate score than matters most) or from being eligible for another stream. 😓 That said, it's definitely time to move on to the written papers beginning this Thursday. :rahrah:

Yup, this won't be the only tricky question. Another to sieve out the A*s from the As is via marking scheme. It will be tweaked according to difficulty of the components/papers.

For example, in separate years when I was involved in the marking, there was a difference in how the below was graded/penalized -->

Q) 为什么小明... ...?
        A) 因为他... ...。

0.5 marks was deducted in certain years because start of answer did not state who the 他 is, whereas for some years, students who wrote such answers were \"let off\".

but schools have been teaching that its ok to write ying wei ta cos its understood its referring to xiao ming. That means schools have been wrong?

The answer is separate from the question. Thus, we ought to mention his name right at the start before using 他. (因为小明... ...他... ... 他... ...)。

I think you will notice that different schools and different teachers have different 'demands' or advise. From my students and the kids who attended my workshops, I have heard different feedbacks - some must copy entire question before adding 因为,some can begin with 因为 directly, some were taught to use 这是因为 (and then some were told not too) - similarly like compo, some teachers forbid the use of flashback, and for compre the 从哪里可以看出 question, some were taught not to use 从\"... ...\"可以看出 while others were told that they must stick to that style.

For PSLE marking, the HOD will attend meeting with SEAB before sharing in department briefing the marking scheme (this is usually towards end of Term 2/start of Term 3). During the PSLE marking days, if certain trends were noticed, they will be raised, decisions will then be made and info on how to grade/penalize will be disseminated across the marking centres.[/quote]Omg..... like that jialat leh.....

• chenlaoshiC Offline
          chenlaoshi

Dino\" post_id=\"1936802\" time=\"1569295709\" user_id=\"6726:

chenlaoshi\" post_id=\"1936794\" time=\"1569294692\" user_id=\"162894:

[quote=Dino post_id=1936790 time=1569293994 user_id=6726]

For PSLE marking, the HOD will attend meeting with SEAB before sharing in department briefing the marking scheme (this is usually towards end of Term 2/start of Term 3). During the PSLE marking days, if certain trends were noticed, they will be raised, decisions will then be made and info on how to grade/penalize will be disseminated across the marking centres.

Omg..... like that jialat leh.....[/quote]Just need to subscribe to the mentality of \"not leaving things to chance\". No harm in writing a few words more if it helps to avoid the possibility of being deducted marks.

For example, if the answer involve 2 characters of the same gender (such as 女儿 and 妈妈), then avoid using 她 throughout the answer, just state their name/identity - in fact, even if it's different gender, as long as it involves 2 or more characters, should also do that, because they are cases where 他 became 她 and vice versa.

Another example, 从哪里可以看出小明不愿意帮妈妈的忙?
          从“... ...”可以看出。 vs 从“... ...”可以看出小明不愿意帮妈妈的忙。

patlsy79

Wow u mean the kids remembers all the answer numbers for the qns they put down??? li hai leh…

Dino i asked mine they couldnt remember all. Only Qn1 can remember haha…those kids can remember all the answers…li hai!!

• DinoD Offline
              Dino

patlsy79\" post_id=\"1936806\" time=\"1569296252\" user_id=\"65743:

Dino i asked mine they couldnt remember all. Only Qn1 can remember haha...those kids can remember all the answers..li hai!!
              haha same same here.......

• DinoD Offline
                Dino

chenlaoshi\" post_id=\"1936804\" time=\"1569296115\" user_id=\"162894:

Just need to subscribe to the mentality of \"not leaving things to chance\". No harm in writing a few words more if it helps to avoid the possibility of being deducted marks.

For example, if the answer involve 2 characters of the same gender (such as 女儿 and 妈妈), then avoid using 她 throughout the answer, just state their name/identity - in fact, even if it's different gender, as long as it involves 2 or more characters, should also do that, because they are cases where 他 became 她 and vice versa.

Another example, 从哪里可以看出小明不愿意帮妈妈的忙?
                从“... ...”可以看出。 vs 从“... ...”可以看出小明不愿意帮妈妈的忙。
                xie xie laoshi

cwstracy118

Hi there, anyone can share if an intensive revision for PSLE exam soon?

cwstracy118

cwstracy118

Hi there, anyone can share if any intensive revision for this coming PSLE exam soon?

cwstracy118\" post_id=\"1936843\" time=\"1569306276\" user_id=\"152367:

Are you in P5 now, refering to next year 2020 PSLE, is it ?

because in most tuition centre, this week is the last lesson, for all 2019 P6 students, since PSLE starting the day after tomorrow, ie Thursday. No more intensive tuition, only left tomorrow Wednesday one last day, for own self rapid revision. Intensive tuition was conducted during September 2019 one-week school holiday break, already over

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 497 / 866

sharonkhooS
                        sharonkhoo