* Eunoia JC (EJC)

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Tertiary Education - A-Levels, Diplomas, Degrees
    3.1k Posts 238 Posters 257.6k Views 2 Watching
    • O Offline
      obm

NotEducatedMan\" post_id=\"1941750\" time=\"1571290281\" user_id=\"98110:

This chap suddenly no sound no shadow after last A-level results.
      But I think he/she just came back with 2 new but similar username.. haha!
      Wrong subject identified.
      The phraseology and forensics reveal that subject has been using an electronic handheld device.
      Profile: An Art, Media & Design student who did AEP in JC, who scored RP60+, employment prospects unknown.

^ Admission to Art, Design & Media programme is based on Composite Score which comprises Entrance Requirement Score and University Admission Score. IGP for AMD is CCD/C (10th percentile), far from the median.

• doodbugD Offline
        doodbug

Some of us are reading off our mobile phone screens lah.

I cannot deny though, there are days I wished my child opted for an IP school which leads to a more ‘established’ Year 5/6 route. But it’s a decision made, and if she progresses to EJC, we will support her.
        I do think EJC has a strong group of teachers.

• E Offline
          erikaa123

floppy\" post_id=\"1941773\" time=\"1571295408\" user_id=\"97579:

doodbug\" post_id=\"1941737\" time=\"1571285100\" user_id=\"13281:

huh? so many retained kids? worrying leh.

That’s why including your “sauce” AND READING CAREFULLY is important. Otherwise, it’s so easy to mislead some people 😂

The https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/education/eunoia-jcs-focus-on-passion-purpose where the quote is taken from is written on 14 Jan 2017. O Level result for 2017 is released on 12 Jan 2017. Posting day is 2 Feb 2017.

Put them together, what it means is EJC has plans (or has the capacity) to take up to 210 JAE students. Whether enough people apply, they do not know at that point. It certainly does not mean that EJC will eventually have total 440+210 students. Seriously people 🤷

\"On Feb 3, they will be joined by 210 students coming in through the O levels.\"

Above said that MOE has decided on the num of JE kids going to be posted to Ejc.
          So logistically, MOE planned way ahead the manpower deployed to Ejc prior to school term begins.
          MOE kn the total 2017 O level kids so planned the cohort size of each JCs.
          Thats how cop of JCs comes about.
          MOE kn Ejc holding sch campus size eg classrms so 210 JAE is max it gets.
          Even if many JAE kids dont choose but with available places, MOE will post them to Ejc.
          Thats how Ejc cop is 9 in 2017 and not lower.
          MOE wont want empty classrms or Ejv teachers idling.

Yes, actual num wont be exact 210 but wont be too far off eg 100 JAE only.

MOE cant be last min redeploy Ejc teachers to another JC cause Ejc has fewer JAE Kids posted inside OR suddenly ne to send more teachers over to Ejc as it manages to get 210 JAE.
          This isnt how MOE works.

• E Offline
            erikaa123

doodbug\" post_id=\"1941775\" time=\"1571295598\" user_id=\"13281:

My inference fail 🙂
            I've a good friend who is a teacher at EJC. He says no JC retains so many kids one. LOL.
            Some kids who didn't do well for Promos will be asked to drop one H2 to H1. Retaining is really last resort.
            Thats std answer from educators.

• floppyF Offline
              floppy

erikaa123\" post_id=\"1941792\" time=\"1571299311\" user_id=\"181130:

Even if many JAE kids dont choose but with available places, MOE will post them to Ejc.
              If you don't choose EJC as an option, you won't get posted there, even if there's a place available. It's not like P1 registration.

• floppyF Offline
                floppy

lee_yl\" post_id=\"1941779\" time=\"1571296131\" user_id=\"17023:

NotEducatedMan\" post_id=\"1941750\" time=\"1571290281\" user_id=\"98110:

[quote=mindays post_id=1819117 time=1511756971 user_id=140018]EJC having a COP of 9 for both Science and Arts is worser than ACJC's 7 for Science and 8 for Arts, I doubt that the pioneer batch of EJC will do any better than that. Still, I must put my stand that RVHS is better than EJC and this is just my 2 cents opinion. It's difficult to compare as I reiterate again.

https://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=48&t=90046&start=10

This chap suddenly no sound no shadow after last A-level results.
                But I think he/she just came back with 2 new but similar username.. haha!

😆
                mindays?
                Think he/she came back with more than 5 new usernames... haha![/quote]Keep changing usernames... but writing style and propensity for hyperbolic statement are hard to change.

• E Offline
                  erikaa123

floppy\" post_id=\"1941807\" time=\"1571302354\" user_id=\"97579:

erikaa123\" post_id=\"1941792\" time=\"1571299311\" user_id=\"181130:

If you don't choose EJC as an option, you won't get posted there, even if there's a place available. It's not like P1 registration.

True , thats what happened to merger JCs where many untaken places.
                  But for a known JC like Ejc , do u think 9-11 pointers want to try for it as 1 of their choiced JC. Except for those opting Poly route.
                  So Ejc 210 will be more or less taken up by JAE kids.

• floppyF Offline
                    floppy

erikaa123\" post_id=\"1941813\" time=\"1571302884\" user_id=\"181130:

floppy\" post_id=\"1941807\" time=\"1571302354\" user_id=\"97579:

[quote=erikaa123 post_id=1941792 time=1571299311 user_id=181130]...

True , thats what happened to merger JCs where many untaken places.
                    But for a known JC like Ejc , do u think 9-11 pointers want to try for it as 1 of their choiced JC. Except for those opting Poly route.
                    So Ejc 210 will be more or less taken up by JAE kids.[/quote]In 2017, EJC is NOT a known JC. It's a brand new JC, located in a holding site, with limited and outdated facilities. Oh, and the pioneer batch will never get to see / smell / touch the new campus. Yes, there may have been some fanfare related to its launch, but IIRC, most of it were jokes being made about its name. Therefore... no. It is unlikely that 9 to 11 pointers would choose it as 1 of their top choices in 2017 considering that the following established JC are available: ACJC, TJC, SAJC, AJC, CJC etc.

Yet, surprisingly, EJC COP for 2017 is 9 / 9, which means they are at least attracting some of the NJC, NYJC, ACJC crowd - despite limited and outdated facilities, no track record, etc. That doesn't look 'natural' for a first year JC. While MOE probably would not want empty classrooms or idling teachers, I would not be surprised that for the first year, there could be some 'control' being exercised while the kinks are being ironed out - which would also be very typical of the civil service approach - try a bit, \"have some guinea pigs\", work out the differences, full steam ahead.

MyPillow\" post_id=\"1941756\" time=\"1571291443\" user_id=\"70594:

Sometimes, retain may be better for students if their foundations are not strong - J2 will be difficult & intense as its A level year. Teachers should be a fair mix with experiences - moreover Ejc is IP sch, i m confident MOE send well mixed pool of educators there.

not sure whether

1) is it due to 3 feeder sch, 3 diff standards pouring in ejc ?

2) IP subject content vs O level - which grp has been prep with better exam /A level foundations - how is the disparity in standards? - all these can be factors to impact on teachings by teachers ..

It is indeed a \"worry\" factor if the retain % is high :?
                      in Upper (Sec 3 and 4) IP, the crucial years of foundation built

shouldn't these three IP schools HOD (SCGS, SNGS, CHS) have come together, synchronized in harmony what they want to teach (cover) inside their Upper Sec IP curriculum, so that when students come over into Year 5 EJC, everyone is on common ground ?

is only those JAE (OP) students, that need to catch up with whatever had been taught before previously, in IP (Y3 and Y4), because that was what the JAE students had missed out, while they were busy preparing for GCE \"O\" level

doodbug\" post_id=\"1941775\" time=\"1571295598\" user_id=\"13281:

My inference fail 🙂
                        I've a good friend who is a teacher at EJC. He says no JC retains so many kids one. LOL.
                        Some kids who didn't do well for Promos will be asked to drop one H2 to H1. Retaining is really last resort.
                        your good friend still teaching at EJC ?

whether true or not (about 129 students out of 529 2017 J1 students repeat) -
                        i believe current 2019 (J1 and J2) students will verify the info, since they need to know too

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 246 / 310